3.1

Created with Sketch.
73 reviews
44%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 months ago

I've recently made the switch to non-foaming cleansers, as every foaming cleanser has left me tight and dehydrated. This was the first one I tried, and it was just OK. Granted, it's winter now and my skin definitely changes with the seasons...this may work for me during the summer (I will try it again if my winter skincare becomes too heavy), but for winter I find it way too drying. It is nice and gentle, and it definitely left my skin feeling clean. This didn't cause any allergic reactions or breakouts for me, but at least during the winter it left my skin feeling tight. Wouldn't recommend this for those with truly dry skin or for normal skin types during the winter as it may be too drying for you as well.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesOther



4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

**Edit: Although I still think this cleanser works well, it has continued to sting a little bit even after my skin barrier healed. Cerave seems best when my skin is healthy; Neutrogena best when skin barrier compromised. Knocked down to 4 stars.** This is a perfectly nice gentle (nonfoaming, fragrance-free, soap-free) cleanser. No frills, nothing fancy. It has a pleasant creamy texture. I switched to this after a bout of skin irritation left my skin barrier a total mess. Everything burned! Even my usual HG cleanser, the Cerave Hydrating Cleanser, stung like mad. I realized I needed something even simpler than the Cerave. The Neutrogena still gave me a mild warm tingling sensation initially, but that sensation has faded as my skin barrier has improved. I'm going to use this until my skin is totally healed. You get a ton of product in the bottle. If you wear makeup, this is a great choice for the second step in a double cleanse routine. I'll mostly likely switch back to the Cerave eventually, as I like that it includes fancier ingredients like ceramides and hyaluronic acid. But if you're into a minimalistic routine the Neutrogena is great. Pros: -Fragrance free -A bit gentler than Cerave Hydrating if your skin is freaking out -Affordable -Minimalistic -Great for second step in double cleanse Cons: -No ingredient bells and whistles **Edit: -Mild tingling/stinging sensation sometimes**

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

I was a long time user of the Extra Gentle cleanser. Holy grail. It was creamy and luxurious and great for sensitive or irritated skin. It was discontinued and now we have this. Gross. Slimy, glyceriney goop. I have to use a ton more than with the other cleanser too. It does clean ok and rinse off ok. No pleasure in using this at all. Will never buy again.

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is my new HG winter cleanser! Many people have left this amazing cleanser low reviews because it doesn't wash off makeup. I double cleanse, which is super effective at removing makeup, so this is not an issue for me. My skin is super dry in the winter and I was searching for a mild cleanser that wouldn't strip my skin of moisture. My regular/summer cleanser is the COSRX low PH gel cleanser, but it was too drying for me in the Canadian winter. However, after using this, my skin feels less tight and is visibly less flaky/dry when I wake up in the morning! Also, it's super cheap, I bought this for $8.99CAD on sale and it's a huge bottle. Will definitely reuse this every winter.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I HATE this stuff. I also picked it up because I was hoping for a slightly cheaper option than the CeraVe, but this has been horrible for me. I have dry, sensitive skin. The CeraVe cleanser has been my HG product since I started using it, so I hoped this one would at least be okay. It's not. It's more like the Garnier one, but this one is worse for me than that one. With the CeraVe cleanser, I can usually put something like one of my serums on my face, let it soak in for a while, then moisturize, because it doesn't make my face feel dry or tight or anything like that. I wouldn't call it super hydrating, but it definitely doesn't make my skin feel stripped or anything. This one burns like crazy from the start, and before it's even rinsed off completely, I can feel my skin tightening and feeling like it's going to split from dryness. I used it again last night, because my skin was feeling a little less dry than usual, so I hoped it would be okay. After I rinsed (I only use this with my hands, no washcloth or anything like that which might contribute to irritation), my cheeks looked like I'd scrubbed my face with something abrasive. They were tender to the touch, and even looked a little puffy in places. When I woke up this morning, one of the first things I noticed was that the skin on my cheeks still hurt. Rolling over on my side, so my face was against my pillow, felt like I'd rolled onto sandpaper. They're still quite red, but thankfully my moisturizer is pretty great, so I don't have many noticeable dry patches. If I could return this, I would.

About reviewer (107 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have mildly sensitive skin. I picked this out because it is a bit cheaper than Cerave and seems to be the same consistency, so I thought it’d be okay. It’s definitely not the same. This cleanser burns my face and makes it feel tight and itchy if I don’t follow up with an oil and/or moisturizer immediately. Hard pass!

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Y'all tried Neutrogena. It says it was developed for the most dry and sensitive skin, but it is oddly irritating the most sensitive part of my face. For the rest of my face it's simply ok. After I rinse I still feel the need to apply a serum under my moisturizer (something I only like to do at night). Nowhere near as moisturizing as the CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser. When I run out of this I am going back to CeraVe.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Dark, Cool

HairBrown, Kinky, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I see a surprising amount of negative reviews on this. I really like it. Its a nice, bland and gentle cleanser. No it doesnt remove heavy makeup, you need an oil cleanser prior to this but I use this in the AM and after my Banila cleanser and it works great for me.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The beautiful Lindsey Pelas swears by this, and I saw it at my dermatologist's office. The one I purchased said creamy formula, but I believe Neutrogena just released a newer version of this product. This isn't bad as a basic cleanser, but for the amount of makeup I wear, I really need a more effective product for my nighttime cleansing.

About reviewer (302 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This product does not remove sunscreen at all. It is not an effective cleanser and the bottle I bought is being used as a hand wash for when I come home from the gym. Not worth your consideration at all. Cerave is far, far superior.

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBrown

EyesGreen