3.9

Created with Sketch.
89 reviews
66%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range
$370.00 on Violet Grey
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

TLDR: Improved the texture of my skin, helps minimize and keep my pores clean, especially the problematic ones on my nose. Can be slightly drying so moisturize generously if your skin is dry like mine. So as a former isotretinoin (Accutane/Absorica) user, I am very dry but still prone to breakouts from beauty products. Naturally, it’s difficult for me to find a skin routine that hydrates richly but isn’t so heavy that it breaks me out. One issue I battle on a regular basis, for example, are clogged pores on my nose that push out to the point of feeling and looking prickly. I can combat this with scrubs and astringent, but this can be too abrasive too often, and astringent tends to leave my skin dull and dry looking, even with moisturizer. Life is hard! I digress. For the last 3 weeks I’ve been using this morning and night in conjunction with the Moisturizing Creme. The formula is very much a silicone-textured serum that smells faintly of tea tree oil. The packaging is pretty. To dispense the product you dip it out with a spatula applicator and swipe it onto your fingertips or skin. I could see using the bottle to the very end becoming difficult so I understand why people dislike the packaging. The concentrate vanishes quickly into my skin when massaged on with clean fingertips, leaving the siliconey satiny texture behind. You’d think this would be problematic but it isn’t. I can happily say that this has improved my skin texture immensely. My skin keeps the silky texture all day and keeps the pores on my nose clean and smooth. I know that it’s this (and not the moisturizing Creme) doing the lord’s work on my pores because I have used it with Nivea and other heavy moisturizers and enjoyed the same benefits. The only downside is that my skin does feel a little tight, even with the moisturizing Creme layered on. If you have dry skin like me, you may need to moisturize a little more than usual. Otherwise, I would recommend this to anyone to try, especially those with sensitive skin.

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Expensive bullshit! Every drugstore product will do the same job! Or let's be real a better job! How can people be so blind and not see it?! It is a huge rip off! I am not sure how people can buy this and think that it will do something good to their skin. Just ridiculous! Owned by Estee Lauder, and invented by Max Huber.. etc. What to do next! Research! Try to figure out the story and see if you still like it and think that it will do something good for your skin... Do not consider looking at the ingredients... Because it is an incredibly cheap product!

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

There has been a lot written on this product. Beautypedia says the ingredients are not worth the price, are irritating, etc. But the truth is that chemistry is one thing, biology another. Meaning that certain ingredients are known irritants; however, it doesn't mean that everyone will experience this. If everyone reacted the same, beauty companies would have the same products! Broccoli is a great vegetable, yet some people react very poorly to it. Not all bodies are the same. So... for the most part, you have to ignore reviews and try it for yourself. For this product, I wanted to react negatively haha due to the price. But, it helps my rosacea. If I react to something else (I have sensitive skin), this concentrate helps reduce the redness and reaction. Will this work for everyone? No, because we are all different. But it's worth getting a sample and trying it if you have a lot of redness or acne scars. I wouldn't buy it unless you absolutely know it works for you. For me, it's an investment and means I can't buy anything else. hahah but it's worth it. For me.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Now I'm in big trouble, I don't want to ever be without this product! I tried the La Mer Concentrate and it is incredible! I had cosmetic surgery one year ago and wanted to try this on my surgical scars. In only one month, it helped to improve the appearance of the scars. It has also helped improve the texture of my face and the appearance of age spots. I am using the concentrate in the morning and evening. For the first time in years, I feel like I can actually go without foundation. I have tried the cream in the past and was not very impressed. I didn't really see any results from the cream. I really wish I was one of those people who didn't like the concentrate.....I love it, so I'm now looking for a night job to pay for it!

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The concentrate is quite pricey, but it does help my new acne scars heal faster and make my skin smoother and softer. (You will have to put a layer of moisturizer on top of it to "lock in" the moist though. Otherwise, it will dry out in 5-10min after the application.) I have very dry cheeks and very oily t-zone and lots of whiteheads (the close ones). Each time when I pop my whiteheads, it leaves a new scar on my face. Since I have been battling my acne for years, there's lots of new scars and old scars on my face. The effect on my old scars are not as obvious, but the Concentrate does help my new scars heal faster and help even out my skin tone.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairRed

EyesViolet


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I like this serum, I use it as a night treatment under la mer ultrarich cream and the duo makes my face so hydrated and removes redness while I sleep! I'm sure it has long-term benefits too. And a little goes a long way. But the packaging is awful - it's so bad that I probably won't repurchase. It's a whole process to get the stuff on your face with the spatula as opposed to a simple pump. The spatula concept is not a deal breaker for me but when you are adding 4 other things to your routine like the la mer line suggests you should, every little bit of simplicity helps. What really makes me annoyed is the lack of function of this particular spatula. Once you finish about half the bottle, then it really does become a struggle to get the rest out. Tip the jar, not too much, scrape the sides with the spatula, the glass is dark so you can't easily see where the remaining product is. It's kind of obnoxious what a hassle it is for the price. And how much you end up wasting unless you're willing to spend serious time on it for each application.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I got a tiny sample of this to try last year. The results? I was actually surprised.... Firstly this was a GWP when I purchased, or rather re-purchased a tube of 'The Hand Treatment' which I adore. Secondly, I wasn't able to use this daily due to the silicone content, however used only a few times a week I did notice a slight reduction in blemishes (perhaps over 50%) left over from the odd 1 or 2 pimples on my chin. This came as quite a surprise to me, considering all the poor reviews I'd read online. I used only the smallest amount of the concentrate - perhaps less than half a drop, followed by a tiny dab of the gel-crème as instructed by the SA at the La Mer counter, to seal in the benefits. I must stress though that the results were not any greater than a vast number of brightening or regenerating serums I've used previously. The soft skin sensation only lasted as long as the product was on and purely down to the 'slip-feel' produced by the silicones. The moment I washed my face I was back at square one. Although I used for almost a month on one small area, I didn't really notice any difference to that part of my face in terms of skin texture or appearance. Perhaps this is a product whose effect accumulates over many months? To me it just seems a bit overpriced for what it is, considering I can achieve the results with any number of skincare products out there. For me it's a 'like' but not a repurchase. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, as I love trying out new stuff all the time - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora. Thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: Jack Black - Intense Therapy 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Aveda' - Purifying Gel Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this because so many said it helps w/acne scars. My scars are about 10 years old. I've been using for 2 months now & have seen zero results. So I guess it only works w/recent scars. Gave 2 stars because it is moisturizing & glides on smoothly. I wish I would have spent the $350 on a laser treatment.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This silicone based treatment is supposed to accelerate skin’s own natural healing process and recommended after surgical procedures or when skin needs «that extra boost». While the texture feels somewhat rich and silicony, as many have previously pointed out, it is actually surprisingly light and fluid and absorbs rather quickly into the skin. Or more precisely, it will stay on the surface of the skin in a silicone-matrix where it will deliver the fermented algae («The Miracle Broth») throughout the day. How it can do this?! Well, the formula is an emulsion type that makes this possible. There is nothing miraculous about this. What is more doubtful is whether the «The Miracle Broth» really is as magical as La Mer (Estee Lauder Co.) wants us to believe?! If it is, then you will definitely will have the benefit of its continuous delivery throughout the day. The product consists mostly of silicone fluids (Cyclopentasiloxane and Dimethicone) and silicone elastomers (Polysilicone-11 and Dimethicone Crosspolymer) along with a crosslinked silicone emulsifier (Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer), higher amounts of Seaweed/Algae and Glycerin sprinkled with some actives of marine origin (Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Alteromonas Ferment Extract, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Laminaria Ochroleuca Extract) and some very good barrier enhancers (Cholesterol, Linoleic Acid, Tetraacetylphytosphingosine) and some really unnecessary essential oils of Lavender, Rosemary and Basil. These latter ones are used as fragrance ingredients but also as anti-microbial agents. These, however, might pose the potential risk of possible allergic skin reactions. What can also be problematic with this product (and the likes) is the high amount of silicone elastomers. These are crosslinked silicones and have been linked to cyctic acne. This is not necessarily the case for everyone, but trial of this product should be advisable. What I liked about this product is that it makes application of the Cream de la Mer much easier and less time-consuming. It makes the thicker and somewhat more rigid structure of the Cream more fluid and better absorbing in the skin after application. It also leaves a considerably nicer finish on the skin due to the high amounts of silicone it contains. Does it deliver? In my opinion, it does have the potential to hydrate and provide lasting hydration (when used in conjunction with a moisturizer) due to the formula (and not the algae!). The algae (Miracle Broth) will be able to provide better hydration than pure water. Is it worth the astronomical price? Definitely not! You can buy way better products today for the fraction of the price and without the additional risk of allergic reactions. Ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Algae (Seaweed) Extract, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Polysilicone-11, Isononyl Isononanoate, Dimethicone/Peg-10/15 Crosspolymer, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Medicago Sativa (Alfalfa) Seed Powder, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seedcake, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Seed Meal, Eucalyptus Globulus (Eucalyptus) Leaf Oil, Sodium Gluconate, Copper Gluconate, Calcium Gluconate, Magnesium Gluconate, Zinc Gluconate, Tocopheryl Succinate, Niacin, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Powder, Water\Aqua\Eau, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Helichrysum Arenarium (Everlasting) Extract, Laminaria Ochroleuca Extract, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Peel Extract, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Alteromonas Ferment Extract, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Yeast Extract\Faex\Extrait De Levure, Cholesterol, Linoleic Acid, Tetraacetylphytosphingosine, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Ocimum Basilicum (Basil) Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Lavandula Hybrida (Lavandin) Oil, Dipropylene Glycol, Sodium Citrate, Limonene, Linalool, Phenoxyethanol <ILN40789>

About reviewer (285 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love using this under La Mer Soft Cream. Not only does it feel nice and lightweight, it also means I can use less of the cream overtop. I haven’t had it cause breakouts like some previous comments (I have normal to dehydrated skin, not oily). The only downside is it’s hard to get the final ¼ of the product out because of the glass container. You have to keep it on its side and scrape it out.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.