4.6

Created with Sketch.
31 reviews
81%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range
$19.99 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Didn't work for my sensitive skin. Used about 3x a week late summer and fall. Took quite a few months to realize this was not purging my skin but rather causing small itchy red bumps on my forehead. Quit using it and within a week all itching and bumps are gone. It did provide somewhat of a glow the next day on the rest of my face, but honestly, I don't think it did anything for it. I do use Retin-A, so maybe it was just too much to add this into my routine.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairOther

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

The only drawback is that has to be ordered online now as the price is si right. Not sure why Alpha Skincare/Alpha Hydrox changed their "thing" with d/s or Ulta, as it USED to be easily purchased. Hey. ALPHA SKINCARE, CAN YOU EXPLAIN? If your skin can handle/work up, the formula exfoliates and softens the skin. For me, I use one or twice/week on nights off of Retin-A. Ymmv, of course. I used this to condition my skin before going back on Retin-A, and there was a month or so where I "purged"

About reviewer (71 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I use this at least 3x a week and I love, love, love it. Me: 47 next month. A few shallow wrinkles around my eyes, no acne, and some (a half dozen or so) brown spots from not knowing about Asian/Euro sunscreens and high PPD until a few years ago. I also have mild melasma near my ears on my lower cheeks, and melasma is a curse. It will fade your sun spots nicely, but melasma is a tougher. It does take everything down a level or two, but it's not a high enough % to really fade them in a dramatic way. I recommend this to everyone over 35 or so, but you must use a heavy duty high PPD sunscreen. And I'd recommend easing into it - once a week, then twice a week, and so on. I can use it daily but I baby my skin otherwise - no Retin A, oil cleansing with regular coconut oil, and a low pH cleanser. It is as thin as water and you need to be careful when you pump it out. I try to pump it onto my fingers but it doesn't quite work - it's better to do it into the palm of your hand and then spread it around with your fingertips. One pump should be enough for most people, but most nights I use two. I will use this until I'm dead. Honestly.

About reviewer (174 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is an excellent lightweight serum used to combat fine lines and wrinkles and to improve skin texture and clarity. Price: I bought this, at 2 ounces for $19, on Amazon. Compared to the last AHA serum I was using (at $90 for 1oz), it's a steal. Packaging: Air tight bottle with a pump. Perfectly adequate Product: I have been using AHA's on my skin for a few years: Neostrata Level 2, Neostrata Level 3, Peter Thomas Roth, Drunk Elephant and Paula's Choice (I have reviews on all except the PC, which did nothing for me). I was burning through the $90 / ounce stuff too quickly, even with only 1 pump a night. This is slightly more watery than the last serum I used, but the effects are similar--apply in the evening after washing and in the morning, my skin feels smoother, clearer and brighter. 14% is a fairly high formulation of AHA, and I definitely get a slight tingle the first minute or so following application, but nothing unbearable. Definitely do not start with this if you have never used AHA's on your skin before--the Neostrata Level 2 Smoothing lotion, at 10%, is a good beginner product, I think: easy on the wallet, easy to start slow with application and results fairly quickly. I think this product is an excellent choice for those who have been around AHA's for awhile and have a hard time justifying the much higher price point of some similar products.

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Omg!!!!! I super love this stuff! This is what keeps me from breaking out! I buy several bottles every time I go to Ulta! This is worth a try if you break out in your 40s!

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Amazing forget every other product, if you could onlyhave one product for your skin this is the one! Use night and day before moisturising and after 2 weeks my skin is gleaming! It feels plumper, more hydrated and dont need as much moisturiser, my skin tone is more even and all out breaks have cleared up. My skin looks and feels younger, this serum encourages your skin to renew its self faster and encourages collagen production. Love this hit dont forget to protect your new fresh skin with a high spf, I recommend rosay poche face mist spf 50 ????

About reviewer (75 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Oily, break-out prone skin beware! If I wasn't so sensitive to Sodium Hyaluronate, I would love this. I stopped using this on my face because I started breaking-out, I got large closed-comedones on my forehead, which was strange. I think this would be great for dry skin, because my skin felt extra hydrated in the morning after using this at night, but it did leave a greasy residue on my skin. I prefer the Aqua Glycolic toner (renamed Mederma, I think?) It has very few ingredients, doesn't clog my skin, and is ideal for oily skin IMO.

About reviewer (257 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've been using Alpha products since they hit the market over two decades ago (when they were Alpha Hydrox) and the very first AHAs on the market. It's been a staple in my routine ever since, and you can look at my pics to see what this, strong sunscreen, and a few other potions (primarily Paula's Choice serums) have done for a 45 yo smoker (the b&w pic does have airbrushing, I'll admit, if anyone looks) who has never had a chemical peel, been in a tanning bed, or had any plastic surgery. I'm proof it's THE Holy Grail product along with a properly pH'd BHA, which declogs pores & prevents blackheads. I use this first, then a BHA (unless my skin needs me to ease off, which happens in cold weather), a serum, Olay Total Effects 7 in the pump container (best deal for a whopping dose of skin-repairing niacinamide), and maybe Cerave Healing Ointment or vaseline under my eyes, around my mouth and along my nose. If that's too much for you, by all means make this one the start of your nightly routine followed by whatever potion you like. It exfoliates skin, thus turning cells over faster & reducing fine lines, pores, imperfections & discolorations. It takes skin six weeks to turn over, so don't expect immediate results from anything not prescribed by a doctor. It will sting at first application, and this may subside for you, or you may be like me and forever experience at least an initial tingle. WARNING: if you're new to using AHAs, I strongly recommend beginning with a 8-10% AHA solution because 14% is almost the strongest you can go without a prescription. It's easy to go overboard & end up causing more harm than good, then blaming the product. Gentle is always the key, as you can always build up but not build down.

About reviewer (106 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Holy Grail. I am on my fourth bottle. Helps combat my fine lines and acne. My skin looks rejuvenated. I wish everyone knew about alpha hydrox! This is very lightweight and watery, I apply in the evening and wake up looking fresh. I wish I knew about this product a long time ago. Make sure you use sunscreen, this will make your skin more sensitive to the sun. This product is incredibly cheap in comparison to almost every other serum. I purchase via amazon. Will use as long as it is available.

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm on my third or fourth bottle of this serum. It has quality ingredients, the price is amazingly low and it is effective. I use it most nights before I moisturize. It keeps my skin looking clear, fresh and tight. I LOVE this line and have been a faithful customer of this brand for years! Even when I stray, I always come back!

About reviewer (133 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.