3.4

Created with Sketch.
520 reviews
55%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 days ago

A white unscented foaming cream. Effective yet still gentle. Doesn't strip my or irritate my sensitive combo oily skin. Doesn't cause breakouts. It doesn't seem to be as concentrated as other high end foaming cleansers though, so it seems pricey. I notice I go through it faster than Clarins Gentle Foaming Cleansers, or my Shiseido ones. I liked it better than Clinique's clear Liquid Facial Soaps.

About reviewer (1235 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I like this cleanser more than I probably should considering it leaves my face feeling a little tight and dry. You seem it's creamy and dreamy when you're applying it it. But then, when you rinse it away, you can feel it taking a little more of your skin's natural oils with it than it should. This is almost certainly because of its potassium-based cleansing agents (thanks, Beautypedia!). On the bright side, it's great at removing makeup and sunscreen and comes in a handy, attractive tube. I used up a large sample and would be sorely tempted to buy a full-size tube if only it didn't leave me quite so squeaky clean. It's a bit pricey at $22 for 150 ml, but not too bad.

About reviewer (446 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I use this to double cleanse after removing my make up with the Clinique take the day off balm. The texture is rich and creamy, it is very gentle on my skin. I am having breakouts for this first time ever in my life (i'm sure it's stress and too little sleep). The woman at the Clinque counter suggested double cleansing with this product, after a few days my skin has really improved. I'll thought it was a bit expensive for a cleansing face wash, but it lasts ages and my skin feels fantastic.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have bought this product time and again and will continue to do so until they discontinue it -- which I hope that never happens, but let's face it Clinique does not have a great track record with that... This cleanser manages to get every bit of my makeup off regardless of how longwearing/waterproof/unstoppable it was. However it does this without breaking out my face and without stripping my face of all of its moisture. It is slightly drying, which given how effective the product is at removing makeup, I feel that is part of the package. However, most clinique products contain hyaluronic acid in some form and this is no exception; so instead of completely drawing out all moisture, it is actually able to replenish some. I absolutely love this product and I love that it is offered so frequently in the many GWPs across retailers.

About reviewer (76 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I've used the foaming cleanser for years. Wouldn't be without it. However, I'm mystified and disappointed with Clinique's redesign of the lid. There is still a significant amount of product left--weeks worth in fact--when it no longer squeezes easily through the flip-top opening. We used to be able to unscrew and remove the lid at that point and cleanly squeeze out the remaining product (or most of it) through the larger opening. However, the redesign eliminated the screw top. Now, in order to avoid wasting substantial product, we have to cut open the tube and scoop out the product. What a messy ordeal that is! But the alternative--wasting weeks worth of product--is totally unacceptable. Clinique: Bring back the screw top!!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair

HairGrey

EyesViolet


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Unlike other cleansers that usually give me breakouts, this one does not on my acne-prone skin. However it can be drying after prolonged use so I just follow up with a moisturiser. Just a small dot of this is needed on wet face to remove all makeup cleanly. Would repurchase again.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I was looking for a product that can wash away the makeup too and I bought this which was a huge mistake. It hurt my eyes (and maybe I shouldn’t use it on the eyes) and it definitely did not work well with me. I am still looking for a product that I can wash my makeup dor the whole face and rinse that does not burn the eyes.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I hate this cleanser. Yes it does the job reasonably well, and it didn't cause acne. But it made my skin dull and dry. I used to love EL perfectly clean (I like foaming cleansers, I can't help it) but they reformulated it and now it's not as good. I hoped this cheap and cheerful Clinique cleanser would surprise me. Alas it has no beneficial or enlivening ingredients, it's essentially just a humdrum potassium (soap) that is a very unenjoyable experience. I'm now using bare minerals blemish cleanser which doesn't foam, and it's probably not a re-buy either - the search continues - but it has cleared and revitalised my skin to give it back a bloom of health. Plus the Bare minerals one has an invigorating fragrance and plenty of antioxidants. This Clinique cleanser is basic as it gets. Might as well use a drugstore one and probably get better effects. I agree with reviewer beneath me that it also needs a toner after whereas my bare minerals leaves a truly 'clean' feeling afterwards.

About reviewer (121 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Just YUK! This stuff foams up and you only need a small amount but it has a really weird feeling as you wash it off. It feels like it leaves a film of wax on my face!! As I rinse it off, its like I cant move my hands over my skin without it dragging and pulling to actually try and get it off, its just horrible!! Definitely need to use a toner afterwards to remove whatever that residue is. I've seen some other reviews that describe the same waxy feeling, glad its not just me! And to top it off, it didn't even remove my mascara (not waterproof) very well!

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I use the teeniest, tiniest amount of this product on wet skin and then rinse it off very thoroughly during my morning shower. It reminds me quite a bit of Origins Checks and Balances cleanser. The back of the tube recommends a dime-sized amount of product, which is way too much and will probably be too drying. Try a small dot only. I don't see why anyone needs to follow this cleanser with a soap and clarifying lotion before applying moisturizer and makeup, so I don't use traditional Clinique 3-step skin care after this. I can't evaluate this cleanser for makeup removal since I use a cleansing oil for that purpose. Overall, this is an average cleanser for normal or oily skin types that lasts a long time because so little product is needed.

About reviewer (193 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairSilver, Other, Other

EyesHazel