2.8

Created with Sketch.
9 reviews
56%
would repurchase
3.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

2nd repurchased so far! This dry oil is an insanely better value and quality imo than coola. This smells so good, like coconuts, but I do smell tan after some hours. It has a super light olive guard color, barely noticeable, but does make a nice impact upon application & doesn’t stain (the sheen more tells you where you’ve applied it than the color). And obvi the olive makes for no orange tan. One thin coat doesn’t make you oily at all! But soft and moisturizing. I love oil on my body or I feel like the Sahara desert. I put this on head to toe. I do have a normal/oily leaning face but I like the dewy look. You are simply a glistening goddess and get darker by the HOUR. The tan starts developing FAST and besides DHA it contains erythrulose way up on ingredients list so it will continue to develop for a very long time (so follow directions and don’t shower it off-btw that’s another thing I LOVE you don’t have to shower it off!), it is pretty dark eventually, and lasts an extraordinary length of time due to the added active. In fact I’ve never seen erythrulose up so high on a list before. It has no drying alcohol and nice moisturizing stuff. If the spray bottle gets too greasy while in use, wrap a paper towel around it. I use a mitt to blend in sweeping strokes but I ALSO (for every tan) use cheap rubber gloves under the mitt PLUS wash my hands before using mitt residue to tap the tops of them and blend with moisturizer (my hands get super dark and it sticks no matter how many times I practically burn my skin off trying to scrub them 😫). To apply evenly to back, I stick my butt way out and spray it over my back/shoulder area really heavily til it starts dripping down, then I blend from lower back up. You must be able to reach your whole back for this method. Also if you spray your tummy really heavy you can swoop it round back that way and the top of the back is easy. I’m getting sick of foams, liquids, waters& lotions, even ones without color guards. The dryness factor. Even with thrice daily moisturizing. My body skin is *so* dry that a tanning OIL is what my mid-end summer skin has been craving... I just needed to find THE one. I’ll still do my ultra dark foam, for a punch of in your face color (& it lasts an eternity on my dry body) but not as much anymore now that I found this aptly named gem. And - aside from guiltlessly spritzing this oil on my mug for cosmetic glow alone nonetheless prolonged tan - I’ve developed a facial tan system with face specific products; no tan sticks to my face even when not doing a heavy makeup/cleanse routine. I was putting like ultra dark mousses all over my face almost daily which I’m sure isn’t the greatest for skin - and now I realize with modern tan technology ya don’t have to forego skincare for tan! I just theorize tan sticks like glue to dry skin and my face ain’t dry at all. I am now a true tall tan glistening goddess lol. NW20-near NC40 baby. I will buy this again and again. I’ve tried the aforementioned $rip off$ dry oil competitor (was like a gradual compared to this, smelled, sprayed sloppily & has denatured alcohol and no erythrulose) and james read tan unique coconut oil stuff which was interesting and I love the oiliness (but again like a gradual)... this is by far the best of them and quite possibly my new TOP favorite of my ALL 1567 other super strength tanners I own!

About reviewer (388 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this so very much! it is a great tanner when used the next night following a foam application. my tan doing it that way was even, glowing, and beautiful.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This oil has a deep brown pigment (that blends away during application) & will show you where you’ve been. I don't know whether the colour guide was added later (some reviews state it was difficult to see where it had been applied) but certainly the product I purchased in December 2016 had it. Claims that it develops within the hour are exaggerated (I put it on my arms when I first tried it out, and 2 hours later wasn't seeing any change). I don’t think any fake tan really reaches full potential until the next morning. The pro’ s are it’s easy to apply, there’s no offensive smell, being an oil it should go a bit further than an air-filled mousse so should be better value for money, and it absorbs fairly quickly then leaves your skin feeling like there’s nothing on it (I hate that claggy, clinging feel of so many products). BUT…. sadly I can't say I was overly impressed with it otherwise. After a night time application, the following morning the initial effect was spotty, blotchy and had seemed to seep into and colour every pore so I had a million dark dots everywhere. There was colour for sure, but despite the pigment guide I still had missed sections (even though I was careful to blend it really well). On showering (& with additional exfoliation to try to blend out tide marks and missed areas) it was a little better. Much of the colour faded (which was probably a good thing. If it's too intense on first application you can't apply a second coat). The final colour after exfoliating in the shower was much more believable (though faint). But it was a lot of work for such a mediocre result and I don't think i could be bothered again. So to sum up I'm not sure this product is worth all the hype. It gave a mild but authentic looking colour (though still obvious in a subtle kind of way). It didn't have any hints of orange or yellow (if anything fake tans should be red-based and it had a hint of this). A second coat would give more colour and maybe that missing elusive ingredient of all fake tans - depth. Overall not bad. (But still glad I only paid half price for it).

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I am on the fence with this tanner. On one hand, I find it to be the most moisturising tan I have ever worn (which I think adds to its longetivity) and I appreciate the tone of colour it imparts, but on the other, the application is fiddly and the colour isn't strong (somewhere between light to only just medium gold). The spray bottle is annoying to use. It doesn't distribute evenly and it is hard to hold in one hand (mitt in other) and angle into all your curves and nooks. I ended up unscrewing the top and decanting it into my mitt, which was no less messy but a lot faster. The colour isn't deep enough for my liking during summer but if the bottle was improved by Bondi Sands, I would buy this for the winter months when I want a more subtle tan. The liquid applies clear on the skin so this isn't a tan for beginners. Knowing if you have missed a spot requires a lot of experience...and maybe luck. Cost per application is also poor - I used about 1/4 of a bottle per tan session, whereas you can get a dozen applications out of a mousse. At this stage, I won't repurchase because there are easier to use light tanners on the market for winter (ie. Bondi Sands lotion or mousse or Rimmel Matte) but I will persist with this bottle I have and use it up.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Despite all the negative reviews on this product - I quite like it. When I'm in a rush or just want a quick tan I apply this. After it has fully developed (about 8 hours) I have a nice natural glowing tan. Lasts for about a week on my skin. It is sticky when first applied but does dry. The only thing I don't like is that when you are applying it, you cannot see where you have put it on your skin. Would repurchase.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I had high expectations for liquid gold, but sad to say it didn't live up to the hype at all! I'm fairly pale and I like to use fake tan, but I am always trying new brands to see if I can find one that doesn't have the awful smell. Sad to say this is probably the worst tan I have tried so far. Application was really hard. The pump runs out when you hold the bottle upside down, not easily avoided when you are fake tanning. The spray is not even coverage at all, had to be spread by a mitt but no biggie. I was excited by the lovely coconut smell- but followed the next morning by that familiar DHA smell as it developed on the skin :( The biggest problem I had with this product was the streaking. It has a very pale guide colour, but I could happily see that I had not missed any areas before I went to bed. In the morning I woke up looking like a giraffe. Patchiest tan I have EVER used. There were entire white patches on my legs and arms, places that I knew I had passed over with the liquid. All in all, I think this is an experiment with a new form that has gone awfully wrong. I wish I had nice things to say about this tan, but as soon as I got home from the beach today I took a long bath and scrubbed it off! First bondi sands product I have used and not impressed at all. :(

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I had high hopes as Bondi Sands Dark Foam is my holy grail. One coat did almost nothing to me, I went a shade or two darker which might only be good for winter time (but no point as anyways I'm all covered in winter). As I understood, you need two coats to make you darker, but reading multiple reports on going orange, I was afraid to even try two coats. If Bondi Sands does something with the colour, the product will be a bomb as it dries quickly, doesn't stain, smells way less (smell was gone even before the shower) and is way smoother to apply. Unfortunately, colour is the major fail and its the colour that makes me buy or not buy a self tanner, the rest is optional. Won't buy again.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have tried a lot of different tans, from lotions to sprays and mousses, colour-guard and clear application, and this one is now one of my favourites! Although I know this product is not for everyone, I seriously love this stuff, it only takes two coats to be a lovely dark bronze. Although it is a tiny bit orange, I do not mind but I can see how this would be a problem for some. The bottle also say that it is a dry oil and will dry almost instantly, however I noticed that it was quite stick for a while after application, but if application is done just before bed this is not a big problem for me. I have had friends tell me that this tan is horrible but I also have had other say it is seriously amazing. Definitely worth a go if you have experience with fake tan preferably without a colour-guard!! xx

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I was super excited to try this tan - it promises a golden glow that is touch dry in seconds, won't rub off on clothing or sheets, no need to shower off. It sounded perfect and I purchased it immediately. My experience with this tan is that the whole touch dry promise wasn't as good as is made out, I still felt slightly sticky hours after applying, it just felt uncomfortable. It didn't appear to rub off on my clothes however which was good. The scent was nice (coconut) but a little bit strong/annoying after a few hours. So now to the reason why I won't use it again, it left me ORANGE. Like seriously orange. Like embarrassingly orange. I have been a faithful st moriz user for years and have always achieved a gorgeous golden bronzed glow that was TAN and not orange. Color wise, this tan was awful for me. I will stick to using st moriz from now on.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue