4.0

Created with Sketch.
46 reviews
72%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Well this certainly worked for me - fast and dark!! I was a faux tan addict this summer and tried all the fancy tans: loving tan, bondi sands, San Tropez, Amazon ones etc; also most drugstore brands. It got real cold real fast here in the Pittsburgh November and I wanted to get some glow to lift my spirits - it was a rite aid last minute decision - so I bought all they had. This, Jergens gradual for body & the face one w spf & wet skin one, neutrogena mist, L’Oreal milky one. All in darkest shades. I’m 40/normal skin/nw20-30/I exfoliate face & body daily. I went right in with this foam first (after the basic fake tan prep) since others are for maintenance. Put on at night and slept in it. It is easily applied with gloves. It stays sticky all night. However you can get dressed after and it doesn’t stain it just feels kinda tacky and gross for hours but I’m sleeping so who cares. The tan isn’t effected. Smell is of course there when it starts developing - but mild in comparison to others. In the morning I was DARK. Yes it is very warm - I’m now definitely in the nc spectrum. Since I went from light to dark there were some areas of feet and hands that were uneven but those areas are tricky. I repeated process 2nd night to get darker and even out those areas. Tan now even and perfect. Wowww! I am now tan again!!! Nc40 id say. I ordered some nice foundations in darker warm orangey colors (it cc illumination in tan; doublewear 4w1 honey bronze; Fenty 330). I can mix with some nw30s I have like Laura Mercier TM in fawn and MAC ones cuz rn I still show some redness. I am AMAZED at how effective this cheap stuff is and I do not plan to get the pricy ones now - why bother since this worked amazing at this price?!? I cannot comment on the longevity since when I tan I don’t let it fade. I keep it up. With the daily moisturizers, spray, and a deep foam (this product) maybe a couple times per week. Still exfoliating but not daily. Light every few days then more vigorously once per week as that keeps your tan looking good I learned this summer. This is a pretty fail safe tan if you know what you’re doing. If not I’d try something with less oomph in winter if you’re a beginner and going from light to dark - start more slowly. Also this does give me quite warm tones. Not oompah loompah on me like some discussed - maybe though on an extremely fair individual. If you’re like me I fully recommend. It’s cheap why not. Edit: I want to share a recent discovery that applies to all tanners. Everyone always says apply from bottom to top. I did that all summer. But this time I tried a face down approach ending at my feet. I found it much easier & more comfortable and I don’t know why... just something to consider. It may be different for different body types. I just find it easier to reach around to back & stuff this way.

About reviewer (389 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Great stuff! I bought this in a pinch at a very rural drugstore with no other options. So glad I did. It is SO much cheaper than other similar products and is no-fuss. I apply it after a shower and shaving with gloves. I'm a really pale yellow-tone and the deep shade works surprisingly well for me. I still love the Clarins Cocoa cream for special occasions, but it takes a lot of effort and costs a fortune.

About reviewer (241 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Fair

HairBrown

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I am on the fence about this product and it is mainly the price that will cause me to purchase it again. It is a decent self tanner but it is not very dark on me. I am very pale with yellow undertones and this mousse has a reddish tone to it. after one application, I am left with a very light gold color that is nowhere near deep bronze. The best self tanner for me is the St. Tropez mousse but it is just so expensive and I was hoping this would replace it but it doesn't get me close to the brown St. Tropez does and the green tint to the St. Tropez gives me a better natural looking tan for my tone. This applies great, does not streak, does not smell bad and isn't heavily scented so in most categories it is good, there is just not enough color (and I am not looking to be post Bora Bora tan). I will see if layering works to get me darker but for now, I will be going back to St. Tropez.

About reviewer (145 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

After my favorite brand quit making sunless tanner i have seen stuck with St Tropez and unhappy. Firstly every single kind i get has gone off and i get a bottle of bright green slime, so i have been using the new clear purity water cause it's not green but it's not strong enough to give a tan and when iv built it up it starts going patchy and looking bad. So i saw this for $9.99 and tried it, such a shock that a $10 self tanner can get it right it's not green the guide colour disappears into your skin, and it leaves a nice dark tan. 10 out of 10. This is my new favorite i bought 4 bottles to stock up because it's that great. Why is it they can make such a perfect product but expensive brands can't? I am super pale and i use deep bronze it gives a nice dark tan not orange or fake looking it looks real and i haven't noticed any bad smell it's easy to apply just use gloves so your hand don't get stained.

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This stuff is the best! I am fair skinned and use the deep dark color because I feel like it gives the best color. I use a mitt to apply because if you don’t, the bronzer is tough to get off of your palms. Jergens (lotion & foam) makes hands down the best cheap self tanners!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have this in the light color. I'm very fair and it gives me a natural looking tan without looking orange. The foam application makes it very easy to apply and it dries pretty quickly. This has never looked streaky or spotty. The scent is very mild too compared to other self tanners I have tried. My only complaint with this is it doesn't last very long. I have to apply it every day to maintain the color. Overall a good product and I would re purchase but I am on the hunt for one that lasts longer.

About reviewer (194 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Super impressed! I have olive skin and this gives me a pretty golden tan after one application. It doesn’t streak. I used latex gloves to apply. Put it on before bed and wake up a bronze momma! Bonus...very mild scent, not the best but def not the worst!

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Other

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Wonderful product!! Being that I am pregnant, normal self tanners are too much for me because the smell is horrific, and any woman whose been pregnant knows how strong your sense of smell is!! But this product is amazing! Has a wonderful light pretty smell, doesn't have that dha smell like normal self tanners. Ill sit with it for an hour, rinse off and the wonderful tan is still there. I have yet to sleep with it on, it doesnt dry in 60 seconds, more like 60 minutes...but its really knows how to stain the skin and give a wonderful glow!!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've tried lots of sunless tanners.. I like this one ! Don't t be afraid of deep bronze shade if you are pale and want to see color! I use gloves and sometimes mitt..

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Being as pale as I am, sunless tanner is quiet the necessity for me. They can get messy and expensive, and horrible accidents have happened. But this product has given me hope and taken the drama out of keeping up with my summer tan look. It was an easy $10 at the drugstore and the 6oz bottle has lasted me three months, three full body applications and multiple times on my legs. The application is easy and mess free, I use a latex glove as a tanning mitt and it goes on rather smoothly and evenly without a lot of dripping and streaking. You have to work fast, because it doesn't dry in 60 seconds like it claims, but does get a sticky and less workable texture on the skin by then. It fully dries in about a hour or so. The color is natural and believable, and fades rather evenly, if not too quickly. I usually don't reapply after three days and it is gone by then. The DHA smell is strong at the application, but fades after you shower. I leave it on over night and it develops nicely. St. Tropez is hella expensive and has more longevity, but this can hold a candle to it. If you are fair skinned and need a natural looking tan, this is a good deal.

About reviewer (237 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us