4.2

Created with Sketch.
120 reviews
78%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This is for the fake bake DARKER version. I’ve gone through countless bottles. This is the ULTIMATE, best BEST tan (heavy duty tan; not a gradual) to put on in the morning and wear during the day. It is a thin liquid in a non-aerosol pump/spritz type bottle and comes with a cheesy mitt and 1 pair of gloves. It dries to the touch instantly with ZERO stickiness. It doesn’t transfer (just don’t wear white/super light clothes). It smells AMAZING... like coconut and there is NO dha smell!!!! The guide color is a totally flattering and believable reddish brown that looks awesome; not over the top blotchy Incredible Hulk (st Tropez extra dark I’m looking at you). Since the wear is so non-sticky/staining, and the guide color so realistic, I leave this on for 24-hours, til my next am shower. It contains a 2nd tanning active, erythrulose, for darker & longer tan. People complain about the non-longevity of this tan but the 24 hours I have it on GREATLY improves wear time. I feel like after 24 whole hours it really “bakes” into skin (pun intended) and although you’ll see guide color rinsing the next morning in the shower, you’ll be pretty much as dark when you come out of the shower (unlike rinsing off the above-mentioned villain, st Tropez extra dark, in which the “extra dark”, IMO, refers to the heinously intense extra dark puke green guide color which washes down the drain and leaves you mildly tan). It will NEVERRR turn you orange. I am a person that needs to be tan at all times when I’m tanning. I won’t let anyone see me pale. So I’m always topping up. If my tan is looking too pale, uneven or just TOO manky for a mild dha extending lotion (Jergens wet or dry in dark) or other (Coola products or Bondi Sands dry oil) at the time of my morning shower, I’ll exfoliate (not totally scrub to death to totally remove the old tan, just get an even canvas), and put a layer or 2 of this product on and go about my day. I just use a little POWDER foundation (never liquid makeup til after the first rinse which applies to all self tanners) to brighten under my eyes (mac powder+ foundation in nc42) and feel confident wearing this instead of foundation. Maybe a light dusting of sparkly bronzer. Of course you can do eyes and lips but don’t put on anything you feel compelled to wash off at night; you want to stay dry for the whole 24 hours. Use rubber gloves AND the mitt, and spray on body then blend (I feel the product goes farther than when you spray on mitt first). I don’t even always use a mitt and it rubs in great using gloves and a circular motion. Another plus to my 24-hour method is that when you go to bed, like 12 hours later, if you see a part that isn’t developing as dark as desired (for me it is ALWAYS the back of my neck grrr), you can apply another coat which will still be marinating many hours overnight! 2 cons: it’s very drying, so i have to slather on many moisturizers after you rinse it off - but this extends any tan - (it can feel kind of uncomfortable for the 24 hours it is on if you have dry skin), and it’s a messy spray bottle that leaks everywhere and stray drops can pop up in your bathroom unexpectedly. I’ve heard if you trim the tube that won’t happen but I never tried it. Have paper towels handy. I’ve found hand soap on the paper towel works just fine to get drops off white tiles if they’re not sitting there too long.

About reviewer (389 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

No-way! This was working just fine for me until Day 9 when I started to develop an itchy rash on my lower back/sides of my stomach area and had to stop using it. To this date it's the only tanning solution I've used that's given me the perfect glowing tan, without streaking or coming off in a matter of days...plus it smells amazing, I'm definitely picking up coconut in there and something else tropical, although not quite sure what it could be... But despite my negative experience I would still suggest trying it for yourself, as I have several friends that use Fake Bake Flawless Tan (since many years) and never had any issues with it. In retrospect I should really have borrowed some from one of them to try first before going out and purchasing a bottle of my own, but what can I say...you live and you learn! For reference I have quite sensitive skin - more so on some areas than others and a reaction like this was kind of half-expected. Don't let my experience put you off as I'm in the minority. Will definitely try out a few of their other formulations as reaction-aside I was very impressed with the results!  Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora)  1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Foot File/Callus/Heel Treatment - 'Microplane' - Colossal Pedicure Rasp Foot File 9. Ingrown Hair Treatment - 'Priva Shave' - Post Hair Removal Treatment 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Hi! Im asian and pale, and been using self tanner for about 6 months. About this product: -package: like it, mitt and gloves included. U need to wash the mitt after every use and it stays good. -smell: tropical coconut I think. I don’t like it but it’s still ok. -application: I spray it directly on my skin and then work it w the mitt. It dries fast, so fast that u have to b quick in blending it onto ur skin to avoid streaks. It leaves ur skin dry and a little guide color on my bed sheets. But they all come off after a wash. Be careful keep urself away from water and sweat after u apply it because this streaks like crazy. -color: my skin appears so dark and amazing after I apply the tanner. I find the color super natural and it seems to have a red tone. Maybe that’s why ur skin doesn’t look orange. Ok here is the disappointing part... I leave the tanner on my skin overnight and take a shower without soap in the morning. The color almost comes off and leaves me w a super light but natual looking tan. So if u wanna have a dark shade u need to apply it everyday for abt 5 days then maintain the tan w one application every 2 days. Trust me! This tanner fades so quick. In fact, if I dont apply it for 2 days, it will start to fade on the 3rd day. ***I bought a package of 2 bottles due to the good reviews but now im quite sad w the result. But u know what. Winter is coming and I think I’ll apply it and go out to show off the great color before It comes off in the shower. Anyway w the price, we can’t expect more than that. Light tan w cheap price. Ok

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This is the summer of the fake tan for me. Fake Bake Flawless is one of the several self-tanners I have open right now. Pros: Natural color, even application, dries so fast without getting tacky (my favorite pro), comes with mitt, has color guard so you can see where you've applied color. Cons: Made my legs itch, when color guard is rinsed off remaining color is not as dark so must apply a few days in a row to acheive color depth I want (this is my biggest complaint!), and the color guard rubs off on my sheets. Because of the cons I am trying some other tanners before i determine if i will rebuy this when i run out. In the meantime i only use this on my arms/torso/neck. I use L'Oreal Sublime Bronze Serum on my legs/feet/hands/face. To combat the color guard rubbing on my sheets issue I fold an old top sheet in half and sleep in that so my nice sheets stay nice.

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Am fairly pale and when I used this I was pretty excited based on all the photos of people who have used it with similar skin tones. Several hours later, big disappointment. Basically showered off to reveal slightly, just slightly darker skin tone. 2 days later, did it again in order to deepen the "tan" and because it appeared to be fading off. (It should be noted I did not exfoliate in the shower in this 2 day time period so don't blame it on that). Still not that tan and though not orange, not entirely natural looking either. Also, appear to use a lot of formula when applying in order to get consistently even. Overall, not that great but not that bad, just not what I'm looking for. (Also, for the record, I am slightly yellow though I have a cool based skin tone so it's definitely the tan product that is causing this.)

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This tan gives a realistic colour, I feel like it's the colour I actually turn when I'm tanned. My main fault with it is that really would prefer it to go just a bit darker. It is basically idiot proof to apply I am still a bit of a novice to fake tan, and I got no streaks. I seem to see more colour going down the drain with repeated showering than other fake tans I've tried. You can get this tan for a decent price online and although I've only used it once I think the bottle will last ages as it's a liquid rather than lotion so I feel like it will go further

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I want to love this! It's a great color.It just does not last long at all.It's good for a special occasion maybe? It's too expensive for how long it lasts.The color is so good though so maybe that's the payoff?...I posted some into a bottle with lotion in it.I don't like using these products straight out of the bottle.I streak too much...I don't have the patience ...lol...I'm afraid I will sweat it off I'd I workout...I will still use what I have and it's not bad..It does get tacky after applying.I use Jegens at times and it is more orange than fake bake.I don't think fake bake is orange at all...I think I'm going to go put some on...lol

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is the best self tanner I've bought. Ever. It is not orange, not streaky and is basically idiot proof. You can also use it on your face. I'm very fair and this gives me an amazing color! Only downside is it does fade quickly but that's it. Smells great dries super quick. Best to do it right before bed. Amazing!

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

The color does not stay long at all.... I will apply and go to bed and I do not rinse off in the morning because when I do it just all comes off. The tan it gives without me rinsing off is very natural and nice but if I want to go swimming I don't want to jump in the pool and come out as a very pale ghost.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Relaxed, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

My absolute favorite self tanner ever! My only complaint is that it fades so quickly. But it looks so perfect on me I am willing to forgive that. (NW20)

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us