4.5

Created with Sketch.
32 reviews
88%
would repurchase
3.2/5
package quality

price range
$23.99 on Dermstore
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I've got 3 tubs of this stocked up - what does that tell you? CeraVe makes top shelf skin care and while I have always loved the regular moisturizers this one has salicylic acid and it creates angel skin. Though I use it on my body, on occasion I apply it to my face at night and wake up with not only plump, hydrated skin but clean pores due to the SA. It's on the expensive side but when CVS gives you 40% off one item grab it.

About reviewer (478 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I got a free 5 gram tube sample of this from my local dermatologist. I used it on my feet and it seemed fine for a body lotion/cream. I did not use the product long enough to give a comprehensive evaluation. I can not imagine using this on the face as it seems far too heavy and thick. But for free? For feet and lower legs? It was fine. No scent, no irritation. Mostly Glycerin. It also does contain mineral oil - which there is no way I apply to my face. Oook. Body only.

About reviewer (2431 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I love this for my acne. I uploaded a photo above showing how much better my acne is from this cream after only two weeks. I don’t use it on my body although I should try it on my kp. My skin is the clearest it has been in a long long time from this. It doesn’t dry out my face either, but I do have oily acne prone skin. If my skin feels dry after I apple the cerave oil gel and it gives a nice glow. I stopped using serums and acne creams and all that stuff that never seemed to help and now just wash my face and use this. And better skin than I’ve had in years. It’s not perfect but I’m sitting here with no new acne coming up and only scars left so I’m happy. If you have acne I would definitely try this

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I probably won't buy this again... This cream is nothing like the matching lotion. It moisturizes, and that's kind of it. I don't know how high the BHA/AHA levels in this is, maybe it's the other ingredients? but my KP sticks around. It clears up my bacne a bit, but clogs it a bit at the same time. I use the Renewing SA lotion all the time for my keratosis pillaris, ichthyosis vulgaris, and bacne. I've written a separate review for that. The only time I use this is when my patches of red itchy skin (dermatitis? no idea) flare up. It somehow stops the itch, does not sting, and I don't have to reapply until after my next shower. But this is so expensive, and maybe Cerave's regular cream will serve the same purpose.

About reviewer (70 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I won’t use this on my face. It’s so drying and leaves my skin feeling tight and rubbery. Heavy film sits on the face. I do like it for the body. I think it’s great for psoriasis. It has sal. acid, which gets rid of flakes and patches, slightly. It’s not a miracle worker. I also think this is good for anyone who itches at night or gets acne on the body. I buy this for my body currently and will continue.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Although I do have a few (relatively minor) complaints about this product, it has become my HG body moisturizer. It is literally the best lotion/cream I've ever used...not just because of the amazing combination of ingredients it contains, but because it actually works for me. My skin tends to be dry, not in a "visibly flaky" kind of way, but in a "holy crap, my skin feels very tight and itchy because I just rinsed it with plain water", kinda way. I also have keratosis pilaris, which for YEARS I mistook for body acne. After trying countless body lotions, body creams, body butters, and even body oils, my skin just wasn't happy, even when I switched to pH-appropriate body washes and stopped using physical exfoliants (such as my beloved Salux cloth). Enter: CeraVe. I've been using the regular CeraVe Moisturizing Cream for years, but only on my face; I just didn't care for it on my body...that is, until I found Dr. Dray on YouTube, and she recommended applying the cream to WET skin fresh out of the shower. It was as close to "life changing" as a skincare tip could be for me. But, as I began browsing the CeraVe website looking for new products to try (because I basically hoard CeraVe products), I came across the Renewing SA Cream. A quick search of MUA and other reviews suggested that the SA Cream might be even *more* effective for KP than the regular cream. So, I plunked down the $22.99 + tax that Rite Aid was charging for a 12oz tub. I mean, for such a utilitarian, un-glamorous drugstore product, $23 is kind of a lot for only 12oz, but CeraVe usually has a $2 off coupon, which kinda softens the blow. Anyway, moving on. I was anxious to try it out, so I showered when I got home, and applied the SA cream to wet skin (as per usual). FYI, when I first step out of the shower, I try to shake off the big blobs of water on my skin and air dry for about 30 seconds, but I don't even really "pat dry" or anything before moisturizing. The cream spreads very easily on wet skin, so you don't need as much product as you would use when applying to dry skin. I gave the product about 5-10 minutes to dry before dressing, and went about my day. Once the cream dried down a bit, I didn't feel greasy at all. My skin felt silky-smooth, but most importantly, I didn't have that tight, itchy feeling I normally get after a shower. My skin was just...comfortable. That was the best part, TBH, just feeling comfortable for once instead of constantly "feeling" my skin! Anyway, I continued to use the SA cream after every shower, and after a couple of weeks, I noticed that my skin was starting to look smoother and more even. As noted above, I no longer use physical exfoliants (except on areas that I wax), so the fact that my skin started looking better was kind of a surprise to me. But, this brings me to my first complaint... CeraVe does not, and will not, disclose how much salicylic acid (SA) is in this product. IIRC, Dr. Dray reached out to them once and asked, but they would not disclose the concentration of SA in the Renewing SA Cream. I *suspect* this may be due to the fact that CeraVe has an even pricier salicylic acid cream in their lineup. The CeraVe Psoriasis Moisturizing Cream lists 2% SA on the label, but I have a hunch that it's exactly the same as the Renewing SA Cream, with a slightly different marketing twist. If my hunch is correct, obviously CeraVe wouldn't reveal that the 2 creams are identical, because everyone would simply choose the cheaper of the 2 options, ya know? Anyway, conspiracy theories aside, it still just peeves me that a dermatological skincare brand would fail to disclose the concentration of an important, active ingredient, such as SA. My other big gripe is that this formula is ONLY available in a tub. I'm aware that the stabilizing ingredients in the product will inhibit *most* microbial growth...but I'm still not comfortable taking a product in a tub to the gym locker room. Just, NO. Any product that comes in a tub, I will only use immediately after washing my hands really thoroughly. Gyms, and gym locker rooms, are such germy places that I just don't like to risk contaminating my products. Plus, who really want a huge tub of cream taking up half their gym bag? Not me. CeraVe, if you're reading this, PLEASE offer this formula in a flip-top squeeze tube...a squeeze tube with a big opening works just fine for super thick creams, and it would be more hygienic and travel-friendly! Finally, a little PSA: Ulta frequently has CeraVe products buy one/get one 50% off, and they charge the exact same price for the Renewing SA Cream as other drugstores (Rite Aid, CVS, etc). Stack the BOGO 50% off special with the $3.50 off $15 Ulta coupon they normally have (Google it...I don't even print it out anymore, they just scan my phone), and if you have Ulta rewards points to cash in, throw them at your CeraVe stuff, too. I just got 2 tubs of this stuff for $17 total (vs. $46 + tax at normal price), after stacking the sale, store coupon, and my rewards points! Other CeraVe products tend to be higher priced at Ulta than other stores, but this particular cream is the same, IDK why...

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I hesitated for months before trying out this cream, because CeraVe's Renewing SA Cleanser and Skin Renewing Cream Serum were a huge no-no for me. The cleanser made my skin feel rough, and the gel oil broke me out in little tiny whiteheads around my mouth. I've been using the SA cream on my face and body for about a week and so far so good! It stings my face a little upon application, as I currently have a very painful hormonal breakout on both cheeks. The cream sinks in beautifully, though, and doesn't leave me feeling ridiculously oily like other thick skincare products do. My facial skin still feels rough, but I'm not going to give up on it just yet! The fact that the cream is hydrating is what's keeping me going. Hopefully I'll be able to enjoy smoother skin soon. As for my body, I've noticed that my feet feel smoother and silkier than ever before. This is remarkable, as no other drugstore cream or lotion has done much for my rough, dry feet in the past (with the exception of AmLactin, but that lotion just doesn't sink in as nicely as this cream does). So if ever I stop using this SA cream on my face, I'll continue using it on my body for sure!

About reviewer (145 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

A thick cream that works great on dry skin. I use it most on my face as it helps to keep my skin clear of dry patches and acne (I think) occurs from my very dry skin not getting exfoliated enough. I also use a lot of heavy moisturizers (CeraVe’s cream and healing ointment) and they cause breakouts over time if I’m not diligent with using something to remove the build-up of dead skin. I have found over the years that salicylic acid is my secret weapon in keeping my skin clear... I never had any issues with acne, just the occasional pimple from makeup, diet, or for no good reason, and I used to use a salicylic acid face wash a few times a week that would make any pimple I had go away in a day or two. But as I get older my skin has gotten dryer and the face wash had to go, and the creamy non-lathering cleansers I now use, although a lot less drying, don’t help at all with pimples. The consistency is very thick, there is no way it could be put in a pump container like the CeraVe cream. I will smear a generous amount on my face and neck every other night and use the little bit of extra on my arms where I get bumps. Where it’s the middle of winter and the climate is dry, it’s not enough to make my skin feel comfortable, so I top it with a light skim of the CeraVe healing ointment, but during warmer months I get enough hydration from the renewing sa cream. I also favor CeraVe products because of the addition of beneficial ingredents, such as niaciminide, hyaluronic acid, ceramies and other skin plumping ingredients, and they are inexpensive enough where I feel I can apply them generously without the fear or wasting product.

About reviewer (314 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Have repurchased many times along with regular Cerave cream. (Not the lotion; I dislike Cerave lotions). I generally apply SA after the shower in the evening. I pay special attention to elbows and heels, though for really rough spots I have been using Lanislo 100% lanolin. This absorbs quickly and is not greasy. It does contain petroleum or mineral oil, I forget which, but that is not a deal breaker for me.

About reviewer (517 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

My HG. Seriously. Since my teens, I've suffered from rough, chicken skin on my thighs and triceps areas. I tried every lotion out there, even some of the pricey glycolic acid ones. My Salux cloth helped a bit, but the skin always felt rough, itchy, and each hair follicle was topped with a tiny red dot. Ugly. Uncomfortable. Ew. After many years, I discovered my chicken skin problem was actually pilaris keratosis. Go figure. My dermatologist prescribed various things, but none of them did much. Surprisingly, when I went gluten-free, my skin improved some, but it never really went away. Then I tried CeraVe SA cream. I applied it after every shower, alternating between it and the thinner CeraVe SA lotion. Within 3 applications my chicken skin was GONE. The pilaris keratosis was replaced with baby smooth skin like I've never had before. I hope they NEVER stop making this stuff.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination

HairRed

EyesGreen





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.