3.7

Created with Sketch.
81 reviews
65%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range
$8.00 on Lookfantastic
Shop Now

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

11 days ago

I was excited to try this as my lips have been super-chapped lately (moved to a different part of US and suddenly my lips are irritated, dry and everything seems to sting them. local water? ) and my regular lipsticks and glosses have aggravated the problem. I was excited to find a shade with a rich, deep, MLBB color, but I find the consistency to be heavy, waxy and uncomfortable to wear. There's enough of something in it to dry out my lips. I started using Laniege Lip Sleeping Mask nightly and even applying in the morning, and that has helped overall but this product is still uncomfortably to wear. It goes on very heavy and doesn't give me the flush of color that I wanted, more like a paint job. Very disappointed because I like this brand.

About reviewer (429 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Possibly the worst lip balm I’ve ever bought. The colour is a really pretty MLBB shade as others have mentioned, but the formula is just garbage. It has the consistency and scent of a crayon, accentuates the cracks in my lips, and does absolutely nothing in terms of moisturizing. In fact, it dries my lips out even more. A shame considering I love red tinted lip balms and I was really drawn to this colour, but the formula sucks. Would probably work for those who don’t have severely chapped and cracked lips like mine.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

This is the first Burt's Bees balm I have and I quite like it as someone critical of chapstick-type balms that seem to do more harm than good. It feels a bit thick but the moisture is there for sure. The colour... I like it as a concept, but the packaging/name seems to promise a more wine-y red tint but this is firmly reddish pink. It is probably the darkest pink of the collection. I have medium-dark skin and don't think the pigment is particularly good. It lacks colour payoff but it makes my lips look slightly more flushed and alive, which makes it pretty effective for what I want it to do. But definitely not one to go for if you want a strong colour and have dark/pigmented lips. The tinted lip balm world is tough. :( But this does a respectable job without accidentally drying out your lips in the process.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I got the last tube of Red Dahlia and felt very lucky. The weather is bitterly cold and harsh and my lips are really chapped. My Fresh tinted lip treatment has fallen apart - the product has fallen out of the base and has attached itself to the inside of the lid and refuses to be dislodged so I can either mush it up trying to pry it out of the lid or resign myself to using a lip brush to apply it (too much trouble) and so Red Dahlia is a perfect replacement. It leaves my lips feeling really soft and hydrated and for quite a long while. I can swipe this on without a mirror, which is a major bonus since I teach and can't always just dash off to reapply lipstick. This gives a beautiful, natural colour to my lips without a lot of fuss and really helps alleviate the dryness and chapping. Definite repurchase.

About reviewer (1490 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this it's my HG lip colour/balm I'd never be without. I've started stocking up in case they discontinue it like they did with Forest Flower - that was a perfect neutral natural mlbb on me too. Red dahlia is a beautiful dark red brown that I can shove on without a mirror anywhere & I don't have to worry about it leaving clumps, clinging to dry patches or fading away leaving a horrible lip line like lipsticks tend to do on me. If I want more of a stain I use colourpop lippie stix in lady & put this on over the top. Perfect combination! Works great on my pasty white skin & reddish hair. Very natural & for those expecting lipstick coverage - this is a tinted lip balm it's supposed to be very sheer & natural. Colour shows up on me really well maybe not the same for others but it shouldn't be marked down because of that & packaging is easy dealt with throw it in recycled bin.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

PROS: -Best actual MLBB, extraordinarily "natural" looking color I've ever used. The shade is genuinely a perfect accompaniment and enhancement to my skin color (fair/mediumish with warmish neutral undertones, Deep Winter). It is very like Clinique Black Honey but a bit more subtle and mauve. It applies smoothly on me, no streaking or sticking weirdly in spots. It's a color you could absolutely wear for no-makeup-makeup and look fabulous and utterly natural. -I need something somewhat moisturizing in the winter to use some days, and the glut of matte shades proliferating in my lipstick wardrobe is an issue this time of year. Even stuff that isn't technically "matte" tends to be somewhat, and therefore kinda drying. It does fulfill my "lip friendlier" moisturizing needs... barely though. -Packaging is perfect for what it is. I like my tinted lip balms to look like lip balm and not lipstick. -Price is great. I quite liked Clinique Black Honey (my last year's similar purchase for my wintertime-tinted-balm needs). But the price sucked for the tiny bit of product. This is very, very similar on my lips anyway and much, much cheaper. CONS: -The texture is the somewhat oilier type like Lip Smackers Dr Pepper, or Clinique Black Honey. Basically, it's a lot more moisturizing than a matte lipstick but not quite lip-balmy. I am listing the texture as both a pro and a conference, I know! It's basically okay as a lip balm, but not as good as their actual lip balm. -It does need frequent reapplying. Like a lot. -My lips are only moderately pigmented. May not do much at all on deeply naturally pigmented lip colors. Or darker than medium skin in general.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The formula is too shiny and smeary for my liking. It's also not as deep as a red as I hoped, it comes off almost a little pinkish on me.

About reviewer (269 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I really want to like this but it applies patchily and collects in lines on my lips. The color is pretty but the finish looks garish. The packaging is standard. It’s cheap and worth trying if you want a light warm red wash on your lips.

About reviewer (161 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The red dahlia shade is one of my favorite (and first!) beauty products ever. Leaves a smooth, buttery finish and the perfect casual wash of color that can oftentimes be enough to brighten up the whole face. Since I usually wear very minimal makeup and really do not like the way lipsticks look on me, this is a great go-to. However, I am super pale and the red dahlia shade is as light as I go, the other shades barely show up on my lips at all, so I know these balms probably don't show up as well on more melanin-blessed complexions

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love Burt's Bees beeswax balms in the stick/tin...I am pretty addicted to both, can't live without...This sounded great, having some color, but so little color payoff for me. My lips have very little color, they're light pink so I need way more color than this can offer, not going to work!

About reviewer (144 reviews)

Age

SkinOily, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.