4.5

Created with Sketch.
254 reviews
89%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

I like this product.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack



5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I hope someone in desperate need of help with damaged hair sees this before giving up on fixing their hair and chopping it off. I really didn’t think this would work, because NOTHING ever works for me when it came to hair products... but this did!! I can’t say enough about it!! I never take time to do reviews but had to bc that’s how amazing this is. Follow the directions carefully and you will be so happy!! I didn’t smell anything terrible at all so definitely don’t let that deter you!!! I wish I could use this once a week, it’s that good! I’m sooo thankful I saw these reviews and used this product line! 🥰🥰🥰

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

If you have that chemically treated, rubbery elastic band hair that seems to stay wet forever after washing, this is for you. I had severely damaged hair from a full bleach process. I used Aphogee 2-step Protein Treatment, combined with Olaplex/Redken PH bonder/Oplex (Olaplex dupe) once a week for 6 weeks, and it transformed my hair. Not back to virgin hair, but still much better, stronger and shinier. One reviewer commented that she was using this instead of Olaplex. However, Aphogee and bond repair products are not interchangeable: Aphogee adds protein, Olaplex/Redken PH bonder repairs broken disulfide bonds. If your hair is chemically processed, you most likely need both. Some reviewers are disappointed that Aphogee does not make their hair soft and silky. Which is true, it doesn't. It strengthens the hair, so you need something else to add softness afterwards, like bond repair, a hot oil mask or deep repair masks. I never use Aphogee without taking the time for a mask/bond repair treatment afterwards. Yes, the smell is not pleasant (think wet dog) and yes, you have to blowdry hair till the products hardens, leaving you with stiff hair before you rinse it out. But I find that the smell is quite bearable for the results and I have not had any problem with breakage due to the stiffness before rinsing. Just use common sense and don't bend and break the stiff strands and you'll be fine. For severely damaged hair, I recommend applying the product per the instructions, then letting it soak in covering your hair with saran wrap or a shower cap for 15 minutes before blowdrying. I can also recommend switching your shampoo to a gentle cleansing conditioner every other time you wash your hair (or more). I use the GOSH cleansing conditioner which I have also reviewed. Some find the GOSH conditioner similar to New Wash from Hair Story, though I haven't tried this myself.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGray


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

It stinks! And it didn't work at all. Maybe I did something wrong but I used it exactly the way it was described. Used it for about 2months. Couldn't see any improvements...

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Seems a shame to have 1 bottle for "value" in the rankings, as this is REALLY GOOD VALUE. I use Nice N Easy Summer Blonde (which is the least knackering bleaching colour I've found, but still has a lot of lift) on the roots, and then Olia Rose Gold to turn my hair soft pink. I use I Heart Revolution Tones in the peach and pink in between colourings. Anyway, my hair is pretty damaged, despite me keeping the Summer BLonde to the roots, and diluting the Olia. I started using the Kerestase Protein treatment mask (the turquoise tub) and it was helping a bit but nothing amazing. I then came on MUA and found the Aphogee treatment. Luckily I have a specialist black hair and beauty shop near me, so I thought they might have it, and they did! I so recommend this treatment, you do need to follow the instructions, DO NOT MOVE THE HAIR AROUND WHEN YOU HAVE THE TREATMENT ON IT, it is designed to go rock hard and your hair will just break off. Simply apply gentle heat, using your dryer and the least amount of movement to the hair (which is difficult, it will need some time and heat to dry, and it is tempting to flick it about and scrunch it to let the heat get to it - don't!) Just keep gentle heat on it. Rinse off the protein element and apply the conditioner. I then rinsed off the conditioner and applied one of the Clairol colour conditioners that you get with every colour box, as I wanted to be sure the moisturising element worked. It removed a bit of the colour from the ends (where my hair is insanely porous), but the condition is a about a million times better. I will definitely use this treatment before I colour again, probably once a month from now on. Genuinely brilliant product. my hair is MUCH stronger.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Kinky, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

HOW?! HOW in 29 years did I not know that hair needs protein?!? Like, I’m serious, I didn’t even know this was a thing until I started reading the amazing reviews on this product. I had been wondering why my hair was just so CRAPPY the past year or so; yes I’m a blonde so I’ve bleached and toned and fried my hair for years. But I thought it needed moisture. So I bought a moisture shampoo (Nexxus) and while it helped at first, the more I used it, the more horrible my hair became! Sticky, gummy, straw like and frizzy. After reading up on the protein/moisture balance, I immediately ordered this from Amazon and BAM two days later it’s here (thanks Prime) and I used it immediately! HOLY CRAP guys, this is a game changer. My hair feels like silk and I can’t stop touching it. Yes, you can still tell it is damaged, but it’s much stronger and softer, and I’m hoping after multiple treatments, the damage will dissipate. I used it exactly as described on the bottle, and yes the drying process is a pain in the a$$. Mine just got stiff, not rock hard like some reviews say. I also used Its a 10 hair mask after the conditioning treatment it comes with. Per.fec.tion. The smell doesn’t bother me either, just smells like hairspray! BUY THIS NOW

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

The only product that works! I have very damaged hair so much so that it's mushy when wet and extremely knotty, dry and unmanageable. I have tried several protein different treatments they work until i wash my hair then its back to square one and moisturising damage treatments don't even touch on the problem. I bought aphogee two step treatment and balancing moisturiser as its suppose to be strong stuff for seriously damaged hair, I followed instructions to the letter but used it in a spray bottle and left the balancing moisturiser in for 5 hours under plastic cap and towel to keep it warm, my results were amazing and after 2 washes its just as smooth and soft will defo buy again the only down side is you have to dry the crap out of your hair with a hairdryer for about an hour if you have very long hair but other than that this product is holy grail bought it off eBay in uk for about £10

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Olive

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This actually works! And best of all it cost me next to nothing! I used this earlier this year after leaving bleach on for too long and my hair turned into a horrid straw-like texture and began snapping constantly, causing me to panic. Looked online and read rave reviews for this so decided to purchase some. Collagen is its first ingredient, this is not one of those silicone heavy treatments that just (temporarily) makes your hair feel good, this actually does something. Within days my hair condition was restored. Life saver! Note though, this isn't for hair that's simply lacking in moisture, best to use a hair masque for that. This is for those who are lacking protein (suggest to look this up first to determine which camp your hair belongs to) and need to actually strengthen their hair by infusing it with protein. Also I found much better results when used with a hood dryer, the type you see in hair salons. This delivers the heat evenly, without disturbing the hair which is important in getting even results. If not a hair dryer works almost as well imo. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled many 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My hair is not severely damaged, but it has been regularly highlighted for 6 years now. It gets crunchy and i have some breakage. I really started noticing it a few weeks ago...little tiny broken pieces of hair every time i brushed, even though I was using a soft bristle brush. I used this treatment this morning. I applied the protein after putting it into a small spray bottle because I was afraid it would not distribute evenly if i just dumped it on. It's a very thin consistency that quickly gets stick as it begins to dry. As you dry it with a hair dryer, it becomes very stiff. That is normal. After rinsing the protein and applying the conditioner and then rinsing that out, i allowed my hair to air dry. It was much less frizzy and much smoother and fuller. It is like the protein really "filled in" the damaged spots in my hair shafts. It's not dramatic, but it is noticeable and a co-worker even asked me if I did something to my hair bc it looks good. I am trying to grow my hair out. It has not been able to grow much past my shoulders. I am severely limiting heat styling and drying and planning to use this treatment every 6 weeks to maintain strength to avoid breakage.

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This shit is ???? banana’s. My hair was breaking off at the ear range and could not brush thru it. This product was easy to use if you have common sense and it is a miracle worker. After the treatment my hair was manageable and looked better than before I bleached it 50 times in a year. You won’t regret spending the 5$ I intend to buy this stuff for life now. Currently growing natural healthy hair out and keeping it strong with this. Go out and buy it now. After use a good moisture mask and call it a day. 5 stars ⭐️

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us