3.8

Created with Sketch.
248 reviews
76%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Before I begin to review this product I want to give a little information on my hair type, integrity, history, and how many successful attempts I’ve had using color oops. My hair type is slightly damaged - thick (strands) and curly but thin (not a lot of hair) mid back length. I’ve colored my hair box black for 3 years now. Prior to the black I had red hair achieved using L’Oréal Hi Color in magenta and red. I’ve used this product twice now. First time I used it to remove the red from L’Oréal Hi color which i had been using consistently for touch ups and roots for about 1 year. When I tried Color Oops the first time i was shocked and surprised to see myself as a blonde when i exited the shower! I had no idea how high it actually lifted. I was expecting to see my something close to my virgin hair underneath (yes i know L’Oréal hi color lifts hair a couple levels and then deposits the red.) So fast forward after being blonde and 13 other colors i decided to go back to the dreaded drugstore black box dye (Revlon Colorsilk in Black). I decided to grow my hair out about 6 months ago and promised to never color again. I still had about 5 inches of black hair left that hadn’t grown all the way out when i decided i didn’t want to cut it. Instead i remembered my positive experience with Color Oops and decided to give it another go! I am pleased to say that My hair is a born again virgin. I haven’t seen my virgin hair color in its entirety in almost 13 years! My husband is very happy with my virgin hair as he’s always wanted to see it! For this notorious cheap black box dye that’s sat in my hair so long to come out in only 20 minutes after being in my poor hair cortex for over a year; id day this product is pretty damn good for its price and availability at the drug store! It’s rescued me twice now and i couldn’t pass up writing a review on this. I know there are others out there who have fallen victim to Revlons Colorsilk black box dye (because it’s so cheap and accessible) who want their prior hair color back. Black is nice but it gets old and it’s so stubborn! I’m so happy to have my beautiful light brown hair back!!! The integrity of my hair is still the same as before. It didn’t kill my hair or burn my scalp or anything and I’m super sensitive! FYI the smell can get overwhelming and intense to the point where you’re choking like i was! Open up your bathroom windows and oscillate your fan to rid your home of the fumes. Discard your gloves and plastic bag used over your head into your trash outside as the smell will penetrate your walls if left in a bathroom especially if it’s small and closed up. Save yourself the smell and headache. Also i used a leave in conditioner after as my hair did get a tad dry from rinsing and shampooing for 20 minutes. If you’re looking for a serious hair color remover that’s packs a punch without the luxury price tag move no further. This stuff is a mane saver and I am so happy!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It worked just fine for me. It lightened my hair a few tones, and my roots went almost completely back to my natural hair color. My skin didn't react to the product, but YOU might be allergic. Who knows? Try the skin patch test from the instructions to be sure:) Please note that it most likely won't turn all your hair back to normal, but probably just get rid of some of the dye. Don't expect your hair to look good, or evenly colored after using the product, because it probably won't (mine doesn't). Be prepared to have a hairdresser or someone experienced color correct your hair shortly after you've used the product. I'm not sure why, but it doesn't at all work on semi permanent hair dye, only on permanent dye. Also keep in mind that the 'rinsing' part, is the most important step in the entire progress. This is when you need to have patience, and take as much time as you can, to remove as much dye as possible. If you don't rinse thorougly, it doesn't work very well. The product did stink like rotten eggs, but the smell didn't linger after i washed my hair. I read that a lot of people experienced the odor to stay in their hair for multiple weeks, but there are ways to remove it. Using a fragranced shampoo and conditioner is a good start. Please please please do your research on Color oops before using it. It's not for everyone.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I'm naturally a red auburn but have been dying my hair brown/black for the last 4 yrs. I used color oops and it pulled all the unwanted dark color out of my hair! ♡ I honestly was very surprised. I'm very happy with this produce and the results

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I read the directions. Not once, not twice but so many times I lost count just to make sure I did it right. And read them right before applying this to my hair too. Looked online at so many reviews, watched many, many You Tube tutorials for advice and reviews, etc. And this was a fail in so many ways. I'm so pissed that I wasted time and money on this useless crap, expecting results, going in with a positive attitude and doing all the research I could on this smelly shit in a bottle. A little about my hair: I stupidly (yes, I take responsibility for this part) dyed my hair pitch black over my beautiful auburn hair. I had just gotten the rest of my ragged and super porous ends that had the last of my blonde hair cut off and decided to go black in an effort to recreate my Goth days of high school, thinking it would still somehow, stupidly, look good on me because I watch Thataylaa on YT and thinks she looks great with black hair, so I would too. Wrong. It didn't. The moment I looked at my hair after washing out the black dye I regretted it. But I waited about over 2 weeks to see if it would grow on me but it didn't. I hated the black on me more and more everyday. So I went to Walgreen's and bought the last box of Extra Strength Color Oops. I picked Extra Strength cause I was the darkest you could get as far as hair goes so of course, stupid me, thinking extra strength would do a good enough job to remove the hideous black from my hair. Applied this useless crap to my hair, really making sure to saturate my entire head from roots to ends and placed a disposable shower cap on my head and used a blow dryer for 10 mins on low then put a hot towel right out of the dryer on my head, hoping heat would help even though in the instructions for this crap it says don't use heat but I did it anyways because of all the reviews I read and videos I watched that had stated heat helped. Bullshit! I even added an extra 5 mins to really give this some time to work but the extra 5 mins were pretty useless for the results I got. I did exactly as stated, rinse your hair for 20 mins ("yes, 20 mins" exactly word for word that was stated in the instructions) and shampooed not once but three times. My end result color was a very dark espresso color. Like a very dark roasted espresso coffee bean that you buy from Starbucks to brew at home, teetering on the borderline of still being black. I was pissed! Still am. I followed up with a protein treatment and a deep conditioning treatment but nothing got the stench of Hades out of my hair. I waited a few days to decide what my next decision should be about my hair. I was not applying this useless crap to my hair again, that was for sure. But as the days wore on about 1/2" of my ends and 1/2" of my roots started to fade naturally on their own. I hadn't done anything to my hair since I first applied this stuff to my hair, not even shampooed, so my hair was lightening on it's own for some unknown reason. After 5 days I decided to test a strand of hair to see if auburn hair dye would work on my hair. It only worked on the ends and roots, the areas that had mysteriously lightened on their own. So I decided to bleach my hair which I have mixed feelings about. Honestly I should have just gone to see a pro at this point. I'm not new to bleaching my own hair and I was able to lift nearly all of the espresso color out (applied bleach all over then went in to apply it to my roots sparingly once the entire hair was saturated and used Olaplex 1 in my bleach so as to try and minimize damage. See? Did everything nearly right!) but my roots are looking awful because they lightened up so much as the days wore on after applying Color Oops to my hair. So now my roots are a super bright orange color and the rest of my hair is a beautiful, natural auburn color aside from a tiny bit of my ends that look somewhat like my roots but are manageable and don't look too bad. So now I have to figure out how to fix this mess of hot roots I have or don a beanie until I can figure out what to do or get in to see a stylist who will know how to color correct this problem. I should have just used bleach and not even tried this crap out, my fault for reading the good reviews and thinking this was going to be an easy fix when it wasn't. Overall I will say this lightened my hair 1-1.5 levels which isn't much at all and not worth the time, money and effort spent on using this, not to mention all the time I spent researching this crappy product. This stuff is not worth the effort, time and money imho. Please note: This will NOT remove unnatural hair dye such as pink, purple, blue, etc. It states it in the instructions included with this crap. Also, I could not cut the top off my bottle after I mixed the 2 solutions together. I even tried a kitchen knife but it was too thick for anything to cut through it so I had to use my own dye bottle that now has the permanent stench of Hades in it. Heed my advice: Don't bother with this crap. Other recommended alternatives that seem to get good reviews/advice: See a pro if making drastic changes to your hair! If you can't afford that route then I recommend using bleach in the form of a bleach bath (clear shampoo mixed with developer and bleach powder. It's far easier to apply bleach this way to your hair. You Tube has a ton of videos on how to do this but do your research well. If your hair is very fragile I recommend NOT using bleach at all!), Joico Color Intensity Eraser (available on Amazon and Sleekhair.com. This got a lot of positive reviews and is far cheaper than Color Oops. You will need to buy developer for this though), Pravana Artificial Hair Color Extractor (on Amazon). Buy anything else besides Color Oops, that is the best recommendation I can give. TL;DR. Overall I just want to state this is a YMMV product but looking at the majority of the reviews, there's a reason why this useless crap has only 1 lippie. Naturally my hai

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

READ THE DIRECTIONS first. About half the poor reviews are from people who did not heed the instructions nor take the strand test. It is simple to tell, for example, those who describe using a direct dye (this product specifically shrinks the dye molecule within the hair shaft-- doesn't affect the dye sitting on top). You need to know what kind of chemicals you put on your hair for the entire history of its length, as the reset can only go to the last known good configuration of when a peroxide-based bleach or haircolor was used. Your roots are virgin; the coloured bits below them are the prime candidate for this product; and anything beyond that may have been lost in the mists of time, hence YMMV. I have used this product twice, and heavily researched the comments and the science of hair colour before I began. I did this over a holiday period where I would not be expected to be anywhere. I had at the ready temporary dye, protein filler, regular box dye several shades lighter than my intended, and a hair mask for extra nutrition. My salon felt I should put them on emergency standby, but it's only because a stylist always uses peroxide to remove old dye and so expects blotches and costly corrective measures. I didn't end up needing the temporary dye nor the filler as my result wasn't blotchy (possibly because of the constancy of my product use over the years). I let my hair rest for two weeks before redyeing it several shades lighter just to get back to normal shade, and to not stress it out more. My mistake the first time was not using a harsh enough shampoo to wash out the shrunken molecules before they re-oxidized. This is not an occasion for pampering! You will punish your hair for almost an hour, then spend the rest of your days treating it right. The rinsing-out stage is so crucial, to pull your punches will render the expense and damage (yes, there is some: it's a strong chemical) all for naught. The second time, I used a sulfate shampoo and washed my hair 5 times. Doing so reduced my rinse time and lightened my hair better, although there still was some re-darkening over the next two days. (This is why you really ought to wait to re-dye.) In summary: - yes it's smelly, like eggs. It stays in your hair, which after the second time smells like it's been burnt by a curling iron - the product is somewhat runny, so after mixing, check its viscosity before squeezing all over your head/sink - it does not contain peroxide bleach but it will take the colour out of your mats/shirt - try it in a warm room (because science) - washing/rinsing is what will knock out the dye molecules: try to go for 30 minutes of constant washing and rinsing. Bring in a timer. - be patient afterwards and wait out the 48 hours to see where you land on your new colour before making any further changes - have emergency backup of a hydrating treatment mask or a temp dye in case of brittleness or colour surprises - this is superior to other peroxide bleach-based lightening products as bleach has its own challenges (you know how bottle blondes end up with green hair sometimes?) and this will not ruin your hair the same way - you can potentially go from your old dye job to a new one without needing to use a filler, worry about pigments, or fuss about with undertones

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My hair was pretty much black and I colour a layer underneath with different fun colours. Reds, blues, purples. I’ve been doing so for quite some time. I had my hair Veronica black, and got sick of it so I removed the colour a year or two back, using another Color remover. This left me with orange hair, so I recoloured with a med. brown. Which left my hair almost black again. This was after using a keratin filler. Oh, the joys of pourois hair) At that point I bought dark brown semi perm. And stuck with it. Yesterday, I made a rash choice of trying to lift the black again, as I’d like to grow out my natural colou again. I went to the pharmacy and bought Color Oops, despite my still having another product at home. I also bought 2 different shades of ash brown, in case I had to tone grassiness and build colour again. I applied the Color Oops, which, I must add, didn’t smell near as horrible as other removal products I have used.. left it in for 20. I took the plastic cap off and it didn’t look like anything has lifted at all, except for some blue. But not much. I rinsed, shampooed, treated, repeat, for a good 15-20 min. I took the towel and it still didn’t look like anything lifted, have to admit, I was kinda ticked. I dried my hair and that’s when I noticed. The black was indeed gone, leaving me with a lovely dark chocolate brown, kind of the colour I was gunning for a year or so back, and probably what the casting shade should have been had my hair not been so porous. I did a few more treatments, as this can be drying. coloured the layers underneath vampire red and I am good to go! I was so mad that it seemed li,e it hadn’t worked, but it actually did. Now I can also return the “ save my butt” shades of ash back to the pharmacy. I live in Canada, and this product ran me 17.99 at our Local Shoppers Drug Mart. As I said, odor wasn’t too bad, definitely tolerable and I was in my small ensuite bathroom. It’s runny, but it also saturates every strand. My hair is a little below shoulder length, fine, and not overtly thick so one package was just enough, if you have thicker hair, I suggest 2. Comb it through or apply with a brush, just know the directions say to do so quickly, as the product can lose effectiveness as it sits once it’s mixed. Overall, I am quite happy. I liked the results far better because it focused on build up only, not removing all of the colour. maybe I lucked out. Either way, if I ever needed to use it again, I definitely would. But hopefully, I don’t. ????

About reviewer (72 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBrown

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I had a few layers of black but colour oops promised to take out some of the colour even so. I did not have high expectations, was hoping for maybe even a dark brown at worst. I followed the instructions exactly and it did almost nothing to my hair. Maybe took out a tiny tinge of black but only noticeable if you looked in direct sunlight. I suspect it’s because I used box dye but colour oops promised to take the colour out regardless. What’s worse is although it did not damage my hair, it changed the texture. Which was most evident every time I washed my hair, my hair felt super gross and rubbery, just like the first time I applied it and washed it out. I’ve since bleached it to get rid of the colour which is the only thing that took the rubbery texture away. It’s odd how it’s really a hit and a miss. But I basically wasted my $20+. Thanks colour oops. The only oops was buying you lol. Never again.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I did this twice. It says you can do this three times in a row so I did this. Thursday and Friday.I have a very Ang r y scalp. My head burns aand itches And literally hurts. I have long hair and everywhere my hair touched it itches and burns. Nothing I do helps. Pretesting show none of there's sump t mos.. Miserable in WA,

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

First I dyed my hair red - hated it. Decided to dye dark brown over it - nothing happened! Then I tried going a light brown, thinking the bleach in the dye would remove the red... nope. It turned BLACK. Color oops removed all the dye and my hair came out a gorgeous caramel colour (naturally dark brown). I was planning to re-dye but I think I might stay with this! All this product does is remove the pigment from dye. If there is peroxide under the colour, it will reveal whatever shade your hair was lightened to - not your natural colour. This product does exactly what it's supposed to do - remove pigment. I would say it's best for people who are planning to re-dye, or for those who are trying to recover from a one time color mishap. If you have a history of dying, don't be surprised if your hair comes out unevenly. The smell isn't nearly as bad as what others have described. Sure, its not pleasant, but is it worth it if it means removing black dye from my hair? Absolutely. Also, in my case the smell didn't linger. I used a leave in conditioner afterward and now my hair just smells like that. (I would recommend this anyway as the product was slightly drying). The most dreaded part is how long you have to rinse your hair afterward.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I have red hair and a year ago I decided that I wanted to dye my hair a medium brown I tried just using medium brown hair dye and it did not work my hair was still red so I decided that I would bleach my hair out to white was a little fried after I had a lot of breakage so I dyed it the medium brown and have been using coconut milk and african oil and olive oil to bring it back to life and it was even getting to be a lighter brown from the conditioning so I decided I was going to go blonde I bought color opps thinking it would take the brown out of my hair and it would go back to the white of course the rots would still be red to my horror after going through this horrid process of 35 minutes of shampooing and rinsing my hair is now black and I have no idea what to do I dont ave black hair I have never dyed my hair black it even turned my roots black which were red. This product is awful and I would not recommend this product to anyone it even say it is not damaging to your hair but my no longer feels like hair it feels like straw and I have no idea how to fix it Im afraid to do anything else to it god only knows what would happen if I bleached it now I know why Sally's Beauty Supply does not sell it.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue