4.4

Created with Sketch.
47 reviews
94%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

My hair: I'm biracial (African American and Caucasian). I have 2c waves mixed with 3a/3b curls. My hair is healthy, baby soft with fine strands, low density (thin due to PCOS), low porosity, and not color treated (virgin). So, I recently moved to a city with very hard water in a state notorious for extremely hard water. I had been doing my usual hair care routine, but noticed that something wasn't right. My hair seemed both oily and dry at the same time. My weekly Alberto Vo5 Kiwi Clarifying Shampoo wasn't cleansing my hair of all the mineral deposit build-up. So, I purchased 5 different clarifying shampoos with higher level chelating ingredients that were recommended for hard water. I am testing each one a week apart to see which I like best. I used this one yesterday (Sunday 3/24/2019). First, this shampoo will strip everything. Like, it will strip a thought out of your brain that you had five years ago! lol Not really, but this shampoo does have not just one chelating ingredient, but several. For instance, most shampoos have either Disodium EDTA or Tetrasodium EDTA. Either one or the other, but not both. Paul Mitchell Clarifying Shampoo Three has: Disodium EDTA-Copper, Tetrasodium EDTA, Trisodium EDTA AND Disodium EDTA. All in one bottle, PLUS sulfates. This will definitely remove mineral deposits, chlorine, and product build up, but will also strip all oils and sebum. So be prepared to follow up with a good deep conditioner. In fact, follow it up with a deep conditioner and put some heat on it (like a steamer or a hood attachment for a dryer). This type of shampoo is great for deep conditioning because your hair cuticle is open and exposed for moisture retention, especially if you're low porosity like me. I liked this, but I think for me this would be best monthly or every few months, but I don't need this level of clarifying on a weekly basis. Please understand that my hair is healthy and NOT color treated... I can't imagine anyone using this on color-treated hair especially bleached. If your hair is damaged or color-treated, then you might want to consult a professional first. EDIT (WEDNESDAY 3/27/2019): I just wanted to add that my scalp still feels clean and happy a few days after shampooing with Shampoo Three. Usually by the third day I would need to shampoo with something milder (like a decyl glucoside shampoo like Shea Moisture JBCO shampoo), but not this time. If you have a consistently greasy, oily scalp and you want to "train" your scalp to go longer between shampoos, then you might want to try Shampoo Three to give your scalp and hair a good, thorough "reset". I've been very happy with my results. I highly recommend this shampoo for hard water areas and/or for people that use a lot of hair products and get frequent build-up.

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This shampoo is a must have in the salon. Shampoo 3 is the strongest clarifying shampoo offered by JMPS. I highly recommend this for swimmers who prefer a chlorinated pool or any one that has high chlorine levels in the water. This clarifying shampoo is so intense it can strip chemicals, such as chlorine, from the hair. I use this shampoo for semi-permanent and demi-permanent color removal combined with a little baking soda. I do not recommend this shampoo for every day use and absolutely not for anyone who has had their hair color treated with a semi-permanent or demi-permanent color unless color removal is the goal. I have found that Shampoo 3 can cause dullness in permanent colors which will lead to a demi-permanent overlay or permanent color refresh sooner than expected. Over clarifying the hair can cause extreme dryness or the hair and scalp which is not conducive to a healthy scalp or hair strand; this is why I do not recommend Shampoo 3 for regular shampooing use. Honestly, I wish this was professional only product due to the sheer power it holds. I do, however, love Shampoo 3 for it's intended purpose as a heavy duty clarifier. O consider this a staple in the salon because it can potentially provide complete removal of semis and demis without the use of an artificial color extractor which could end up being fairly damaging to the hair and while this is an extreme powerful clarifier it is not as intense as a chemical color extractor and, as far as I know, Shampoo 3 does not break any disulfide bonds which can possibly happen in a chemical color extractor causing unwanted damage, fragility, and weakness throughout each strand. As with all their products, JPMS does not test Shampoo 3 on animals ever!

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairOther

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

[For reference my hair is fine and dry with an oily scalp and a few highlights] I live in a hard water area, use various heat protectants and oils in my hair, and regularly go swimming, so as I'm sure you can imagine this has been a lifesaver for me! I use this once a week after my usual anti-dandruff shampoo and before a conditioning treatment to remove any mineral, chemical and product build-up that's accumulated in the meantime. My hair before this was often dull, with a "sticky" yet straw-like feel to it, but after using this the shine and bounce is back again. Yes, it can be very drying which is why I follow it up with a deep conditioner, and it isn't the cheapest clarifying shampoo on the market, but in my opinion it is the best and well worth the money. I'll keep repurchasing this as long as they continue make it.

About reviewer (114 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have very thin, flat hair that can hardly hold products but god knows I try. I use a lot of dry shampoo to avoid washing my hair every day and I also use a lot of products to give my hair volume. I feel like using this shampoo once a week makes my hair feel lighter and scalp cleaner. It definitely gives my hair a little bit of bounce on the first day. It smells pleasant too. Overall, would splurge on this again, there's a reason why it's more expensive than Suave. (Suave Clarifying Shampoo did not work for me)

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is an absolute must for swimmers or anyone who gets a build up from product residue. I had a heck of a time finding this in Canada but my luck changed when I took my kids to get their hair cut and the stylist said their hair was coated in chlorine. She used this shampoo on them and luckily they had it for sale so I purchased it right away. This has made such a difference in their hair. I recently put it to the test and while it didn't lather well initially, guess it had a lot of work to do, once I scrubbed my scalp with it good, I added a bit of water to thin it out and kept scrubbing until I could work the lather through the rest of my hair. This made my hair squeaky clean. It was the exact thing I needed before using my newest and now my HG shampoo and conditioner (Maui Moisture). Some people do not like the scent of this shampoo but I don't mind it. Beware, this is not a sulfate free shampoo but I'm not sure how it can be given it is stripping all the residue from your strands. I'm on the look out for a sulfate-free option and if I find it you can be sure I will write a review on it. In the meantime, this is a great product that gets the job done as you'd hope for.

About reviewer (929 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have been on here for 10+ years and have never written a review. As a trained cosmetologist I have worked in the beauty industry for 15 years and come across so many products and am such a product junkie/hoarder that I feel like I wouldn't have time to review everything I try. Anyways this prompted me to write a review because out of the 100's of shampoos I've tried, this is absolutely AWESOME! Toronto has hard water and I never quite realized the toll it was taking on my fine, mid-length highlighted hair. I now have swingy, shiny healthy looking hair! And that's after only 1 use! It should be called Fresh Start or Clean Slate because it brings your hair back to life! I was thinking about a haircut to get rid of the damaged ends but not after this!!!! A must try!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This shampoo is like a restart for my hair. It gets all the products residue out of my hair with one wash. The main prob I have with it is my hair smells like a wet dog when I use this. Not nice during my shower( after I use my leave in it's better) I think shampoo two smells better (like limoncello), but it doesn't get my hair as clean;( I use this shampoo three on my daughter's hair on the days when she swims in the pool and people have stopped me to comment on her beautiful shiny hair. I have a fine hair/disgusting well water problem so I always switch up my stuff. But I would buy this again because it works.

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have still not found a better clarifying shampoo for price than this. I combine with #2 for cleaning before applying henna and for post-swimming, and always follow with deep conditioner. I wish there was an all-natural alternative but as far as I can tell, this is the best one your money can buy if you aren't swimming in money!

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My hair is gray, coarse, with a very wavy texture. It gets frizzy when the weather is humid, too. I use a smoothing shampoo and conditioner, plus 2 separate styling products to get my hair smooth and sleek after blow drying and running the flat iron through it. My hair was starting to get that "starchy", stiff feeling, so I knew it was time to incorporate a clarifying shampoo into my routine. I did a little research, and found Paul Mitchell Shampoo Three. I have used it 3 separate times. I use my usual shampoo/conditioner (Redken All Soft) 2 consecutive times, then this shampoo and usual conditioner on day 3. It washes away all the product build up without stripping or over cleaning, plus it's a great value at Ulta for $9.99. It has a light, clean fragrance. This will become a staple in my hair care routine.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I started using this shampoo on the recommendation of a hairdresser. I had just returned to Australia from a month in the south of Spain, and the water in that area was very hard and had caused my hair to look dull, lose its shine and feel as though there was a lot of build up in there. This shampoo managed to rid my hair of the build-up caused by the water, and left it looking lighter and shinier. As it is a bit drying, I follow it up with a hair mask from Jeval Infusions but I use the mask as a conditioner - also recommended by my hairdresser. This hair routine has left my hair looking great! It feels light and not weighed down, it feels shiny and healthy. I did not find this shampoo overly drying, though this may be because I was following it with the thick mask. I would highly recommend this product. It is silicone free. It lathers easily, which I think is a bonus and really does a good job of cleaning my hair. The scent is mixture of lemon and floral.

About reviewer (724 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown