4.2

Created with Sketch.
71 reviews
87%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Let me preface this by saying I am not shampoo ingredient savvy, and I bought this because my hair was so limp and greasy from product buildup (after <2 days I was an oil spill). This was .89 cents at Kroger, so I literally had nothing to lose. It lathered well, smelled freshly inoffensive, and my hair finally feels clean again! It's been 3 days and it's soft and not weighed down. Dare I say my limp/fine hair has a little bit of body in it as well? I probably won't be using this every time I wash my hair while, but this seems to be a great option to get my hair some bounce during a deep clean!

About reviewer (218 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Absolutely love this shampoo and conditioner! I have long fine hair that gets extremely oily at the roots and dry at the bottom. This hair has made my ends feel conditioned and keeps the roots from looking so oily. My hair even feels thicker! The smell is subtle and nice. I got compliments on it. The best part is no longer needing to wash my hair every day and no longer needing to use multiple hair products to keep the ends soft or to keep my hair from being frizzy. It is only $0.99 a bottle. Wow!!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This Shampoo along with the matching conditioner are amazing! This is a VO5 classic that’s been around a long time and been using for 20+Years! I have short, thick curly hair and this gives my curls so much body and volume as it promises! Amazing product, can’t beat the price. I mean any time I go to Dollar Tree or Wal Mart, I can easily pick up a few bottles.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

There's a good reason this shampoo has been around for ages! I absolutely love the smell (it has had the same smell since I was a kid) and it cleans my hair well. This is the only cheap shampoo that I've ever used that doesn't dry out my hair or leave it dirty. This shampoo cleanses well and actually does add body to my hair. Can't beat that for a shampoo that's typically $1 or less. Did I mention how much I love the smell?

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I guess if you want volume like once a week this is fine but otherwise this just causing buildup after repeated use. My pet peeve is any shampoo that causes buildup, to me, that's just dirty hair. I have fine straight hair so it's even worse the way this starts to make my hair greasy. It seemed like with every wash my hair was never getting fully cleaned. But it's $1 so can't say it's a waste of money

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

i have lots of volumizing shampoos both cheap and pricey. i googled the 10 best volumizing shampoos and this was one of them....i found t at drugstore.com for $1.99 but no reviews. i liked that the ingredients were few. i read the reviews here on mua and kept finding that its got a lite scent. thats important cuz of migranes. i really like it. it smells clean and fresh, volumizing my fine thick hair, cuts grease from my oily hair. if you have dry hair i would pass. any other hair type you can't go wrong for the price. plus doesn't strip hair dye and lathers nice.

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

What I love: good lather, understated fragrance, good consistency, easy to find in most dollar stores. I returned this to my rotation because I'm absolutely done with Suave--unless they do a serious overhaul--but wanted a cheap deep cleaning. I think this might be the best store shampoo ever. Their normal one is nice too. Yes, it can make your hair a little dry but I have their leave-in hair oil and Simply Stunning. Those help. BUT my sensitive skin doesn't react which is a blessing. I have wavy, fine but abundant hair that I enjoy coloring. It seems to love VO5, particularly this shampoo. I'm picky about my hair products so I'm shocked to be so happy with such a cheap cleanser. Definitely repurchasing! What I don't like: the cap isn't very tight and many times the bottles aren't filled.

About reviewer (60 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This shampoo (with sulfates) has a relatively short ingredient list, good for those of us with sensitive scalps. My hair is medium length and texture, wavy. No chemical processing. I like my hair to have fullness and I want to encourage my wave. I wash my hair once a week. I follow with a V05 conditioner and Free & Clear Hair Styling Gel. This shampoo adds a significant amount of body and fullness to my hair. Volumizing shampoos are low on conditioners, so there's very little build-up.

About reviewer (722 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairGrey, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Ok so I tried all brands of everything. Sulfate free shampoos are not for me. My scalp needs to be clean every single day and I fear no sulfates can cause hair loss. Oil on scalp cannot stay for too long without the risk of clogging pores which can result in hair loss. I have used this before, but its drying. That much I will admit. But I'd rather that and add conditioner on my ends than to lose hair. And for all you boomers out there it smells like the old Agree. Love it.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I bought this from a local dollar store. I used it when I was younger, but never cared about what shampoo I used, being young and not caring. I recently bought it, because of the price if I'm going to be completely honest. I'm a college student with low funds. Anyway, the first time I used it, it made my hair feel very stringy, dry and VERY heavy. I thought it was just because I was used to using another shampoo on a regular basis. The next time I tried it, it did the same thing. I'm going to try it with conditioner next time. If this weird feeling continues, I will not use/buy the product again. The smell isn't great either, which is a big deal for my shampoo decisions.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us