4.2

Created with Sketch.
316 reviews
82%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range
$23.60 on Lookfantastic
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

My HG AHA. I’ve been using this since I began skincare a few years ago and have been doing it regularly ever since. The bottle lasts me like.... 6-12 months of use, it lasts forever.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I got a deluxe sized sample of this and it's almost gone. A little goes a long way and I've been using this product a few times a week for over a month. This product does sting a little if you have a pimple, but it's a satisfying sting. I have even used it around my eye area w/ no irritation. I do not really use AHAs since I'm into retinol, but if I ever wanted to use an AHA regularly I would go ahead and buy this.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 months ago

The Paula's Choice 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant is the second Glycolic Acid product I have tried, the first being The Ordinary's 7% Glycolic Acid 'toner' (which is a misnomer – it is an exfoliant). I personally prefer the PC over the TO, though both are stellar products in their own right. The Ordinary's Glycolic Acid product has its perks. It is more affordable than the PC product, for starters. It comes in a much larger bottle (240ml vs PC's 100ml), and it has a longer ingredients list that is full of skin-restoring amino acids, proteins, sugars, natural moisturising factors (NMFs), and anti-irritant plant extracts. The PC product does have some of those, but not as many as the TO product. On the other hand, the TO product has a high amount of fragrant rose water, which may or may not be okay to use on a frequent basis. I am also not a fan of the watery, runny texture, but PC's BHA Liquid, which I use frequently, has the same consistency, so it would not be fair for me to disparage the TO AHA on the basis of its consistency. I still prefer the PC AHA, even with its added expense, because it is marginally stronger (at 8% vs TO's 7%) and its gel-serum texture feels absolutely luxurious, making it a dream to apply. The gel has a nice amount of slip (achieved with no silicones in the formula) and great spreadability. I also enjoy its fuss-free pump dispenser (a pump dispenser is always a bonus). At the end of the day, the PC and TO AHAs will do the same thing. They will both exfoliate and brighten your skin. Neither product is 'superior' to the other – they are both some of the best OTC AHA exfoliants that your money can buy. Choose whichever one suits your budget and your textural preferences.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 months ago

Can't say enough good things about this product. My skin becomes congested and literally breaks out from nearly EVERYTHING. The acne and dullness became so bad it impacted my social life and confidence . No products worked and I tried so many and spent sooo much money. Then I discovered Paula's Choice aha gel and everything changed. Just after one night my skin tone calmed down and much of the redness evened out. After a week my acne began to dry up and my congested pores cleared up. Been using this product for over a month now and my skin glows which I still can't get over. This product is my all time holy grail. It doesn't irritate my skin at all, it leaves my skin moisturized from the HA and my skin looking plum and even toned. Absolute skin saver.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Background: Sensitive skin. Have been using this exfoliant for a few weeks now. My routine: cleanser, toner, PC 8% AHA exfoliant, moisturizer with retinol. I use the exfoliant once daily as I feel twice daily will be too much for my skin. I apply only a light layer. Pros: No breakouts, and no irritation. I can't see my skin 'flaking off' (as is what happens sometimes with exfoliants), but my skin is smoother, and has a subtle radiance. The difference is subtle but its there. AHA's are supposed to work long term anyway, so its one of those things where you really reap the rewards later with consistent use. Competitively priced, and a bottle will last me ages. Cons: It does feel sticky after you apply it. Thats a minor con though in contrast with the other benefits. Remember to use sunscreen and be vigilant about sun protection, because AHA's can increase sun sensitivity. I felt tingles - a bit of a stinging sensition - the first few times I applied it, but it has gone now. The key is to listen to your skin and apply a light layer, go slowly if need be.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This works great on my oily rosacea skin.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is powerful stuff and should be used cautiously. When I first tried it I purged a lot of acne. But I kept going because I knew it's special. Now, it burns my face for a few seconds but ultimately leads to renewing exfoliation. Skin appears more younger, smoother. I like combining it with the 2% BHA for a nice at home mini facial. I do not use this every night, and I do not combine with retinol. Tried to combine with retinol and got irritated. Perhaps PC is wrong about combining AHA and retinol - my skin is resilient and didn't like it. Ultimately I love how this is a strong AHA that you can actually leave on, not wash off after 20 min.

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have sensitive rosacea prone skin and no AHA ever worked for me previously. I was very skeptical to try this one. Many were saying that it's very strong and it will most likely cause irritation, especially to a sensitive skin. I stopped using Retin-A after trying it for a bit more than 9 months, with no results, but severe irritation, and jumped into Paula's Choice 8% AHA. I don't use it every day, only 3-4 days a week at night time and I love it! I have zero irritation (using it more than 3-4 days will definitely cause some). My fine lines look diminished, my skin tone is evener. I don't have any peeling, and my skin feels well exfoliated. I've been using it for 2.5 months and I'm loving it! I believe the bottle will last me for about 9 months. Great product! Highly recommend.

About reviewer (638 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I've tried using this one and off for about 6 months now. The vierdict? It gives me extra whiteheads and burns the hell out of my skin. The packaging also broke immediately and then leaked everywhere.

About reviewer (114 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Paula's Choice consistently formulates excellent exfoliators and this is no exception. This product comes in a gel format that absorbs rather quickly. It played well with other serums and creams, except for The Ordinary's Vitamin C Suspension 23% + HA Spheres 2%, but that product hates everything so it is no reflection on the quality of this acid. It packs a punch so I would work my way up to this if I am new to acids. It left my face and arms smooth and supple and it helped fade some hyperpigmentation on my nose. It lasted forever as well.

About reviewer (230 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Dark, Cool

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.