3.9

Created with Sketch.
51 reviews
68%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is a perfect cleanser for the winter. It feels like you're putting lotion on your face, and you have the option of either rinsing off, tissuing off, or you can clean this off with micellar water as directed by the bottle. I've found the best way is to gently rub this all over your face, and rinse off with water, then follow with micellar water. My face feels clean and not stripped of moisture. The cleansing milk does have a light floral fragrance that I don't exactly love, but it's not too strong that I wouldn't use this. Overall, I would definitely continue to use this until winter is over (unfortunately, it's just started).

About reviewer (343 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

It's a nice cleansing milk that can be rinsed clean with water but it leaves a film and it also has very strong fragrance. After i used it for the first time my face got very itchy after i put on my usual moisturizer. I had to go and washed it right off with my usual cleanser to then my face is okay. I will not use it again.

About reviewer (382 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have a severe combination (oily/dry) skin, sensitive to acne. I've been using Avene products since my teens (cleanance line), but now I combine the Cleanance line with the Hydra line. This works perfect for me and my skin has never looked better. No breakouts, no dryness or oilyness. I use this Milk as a second step (morning and evening), after removing my makeup with Crealine. It takes of the last bit of dirt and hydrates my skin. I spray the Thermal water over it and then take it of with a damp washcloth. After that I finish with the Cleanance toner, serum and moisturizer. Perfection, but be sure to take your makeup of with a micellaire water, as this Milk isn't that strong to take out all of it. It's that gentle!

About reviewer (172 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this cleanser it's very calming it's not drying but it's not hydrating either I really like to use it as my second cleanse or first cleanse if I'm not wearing makeup. Ide say this is pretty much good for all skin types because it's not drying or hydrating if you just want a basic cleanser this would be good for you

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is a good, non drying cleanser for normal-dry skin that cleanses gently without stripping the skin. However I am also acne prone and sadly this broke me out a fair bit, I think it was the fragrance or stearates, such a shame as it was nicely moisturising but it is also far too fragranced for sensitive skin.

About reviewer (291 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I was expecting to hate this product. A friend gave it to me to try out and since my skin is not dry or very dry, I was, truthfully, a little scared for my combi/oily skin. However, during the winter months I'm always more open to anything hydrating to keep the old epiderm happy, so I agreed to give it a go. I must say I don't use this like it says on the bottle - I don't like the sensation of lotion on cotton pads (don't ask). I will either use this in the shower and rinse off, or use it and then wipe it off with a warm wet face towel. This pretty much guarantees that there will be no residue (as there often is with this kind of cleansing cream). It's been 2 weeks and so far so good. I reach for it more than my current Vichy cleanser. I follow up with the Laroche-Posay hydraphase Legere moisturizer and (when I'm good) an SPF. This is no fuss/frills. I will purchase this again for next winter. Ps. I haven't tried taking make-up off with it! I would recommend double-cleansing though because this wouldn't do the trick on its own. Great morning cleanser though.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have mature skin and live in the NYC area with very cold winters. I use this as my morning cleanser almost all year long. (I tend to use something with a bit more zing in the hotter months). It removes any overnight build up, my Retin-A, and other treatments gently and leaves my skin feeling fresh. I massage about one -two pumps into my face and neck and wipe it off with a warm bamboo washcloth. I follow it with a toner or spray and my skin is ready for my daytime treatments and make up. The cost is reasonable compared to some of the other milky cleansers I've tried and has no scent which I prefer.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This a really lovely cleanser for my very dry skin. My skin feels so clean and fresh after but not stripped. It takes off all my make up in one go and leaves my pores clean too. I've tried lots of products and this one really helped my dry dry winter skin.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This came as a surprise to me. I have used Dermalogica's Essentiaö Cleansing Solution for years. It's a similar creamy product, but still unique and I haven't found anything that comes close to it. But this does! The main differenses are that this is based on mineral oil, while Dermalogica is a mineral oil/petrolatum-free line, and that this is fragranced. Also the Dwrmalogica one is meant to be rinsed off, not wiped off like this. Through the years I have learned to disrespect rules like these and I find this rinses off just fine. If my skin feels, looks and acts clean it IS clean as far as I can tell. My only gripe is I thought this would save me some moneyy as it's half the price of Dermalogica, buy I have to use twice the amount of this one, so they are quite interchangeable tl

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry

HairBrown

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

When I first bought Avène's Gentle Milk Cleanser, it was maybe 2, 3 years ago? with my mother at Shoppers Drug Market. She suffers from dry, rosy and hyper-sensitive skin much like myself--she pointed this out to me and I haven't looked back since. I massage it in circular motions on my face and neck, than I take a damp cotton pad and gently wash away the film. If you read the back of the bottle, it tells you to follow with their line of toner but it isn't a requirement. I had for the first year and stopped after I changed toners. I still reap all the benefits this product does for my skin. It thoroughly cleanses without stripping my skin of moisture. There are some perfumes (I haven't come across any troubles with that, though.) It removes makeup but I recommend a makeup remover if you want a true, thorough cleanse. Otherwise you might be damaging the skin if you are pulling too hard, trying to remove every last bit of makeup but that's just my opinion. And lastly, it keeps my breakouts at bay. I dunno how or the science behind it but Avène's Gentle Milk Cleanser leaves my skin balanced and supple. It is also packaged in a durable 200mL plastic bottle and pump. Reasonably priced but not cheap by any means, either. I use it everyday, morning and night. It last for about 2, 3 months before I have to repurchase. It's a blessing in a bottle. My only hesitance is the price. If I'm buying anything at all on rotation, I prefer it to be on the cheaper side of things. And if I'm being perfectly honest, Avène's Thermal Spring Water is a glorified perfume. Like I said, though, I haven't been negatively affected by it. For other sensitive skin folks, I couldn't guarantee them that prospect. The skin is a funny, weird thing like that.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us