3.7

Created with Sketch.
11 reviews
55%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range
$28.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

My hair is long, thick, and color treated including balayage. What I look for in a shampoo is something that will lather well and clean my hair without making it feel too dry, stripped, or tangled. I don't care about sulfates or anything as much as I care about results. All that said, I really like this shampoo! The smell is really great (sweet and citrusy), it lathers up so much even with a tiny amount of product, and despite the fact that it is sulfate-free, my hair feels really and truly clean. And the cherry on top is that not only does my hair feel clean and refreshed, but there's no dryness, tangles, or stripping going on. Because this is truly "a little goes a long way," which is something people seem to say about EVERY hair product, I probably would repurchase this. I've been using the same 3.3 fl oz/100ml bottle since October, and have enough left to probably get through the month of January. Overall, one of the best shampoos I've ever used.

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

This is nothing special. It is thick so you don’t have to use much, yet it isn’t particularly hydrating and I have never noticed any difference from using it. I won’t be repurchasing.

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I can't believe how much this drys out my fine highlighted hair. I like the Olaplex No 3 but so disappointed with 4 and 5. I am not sure if it's the shampoo or conditioner but when I use these products my hair looks like straw. I will wash again and use Colleen Rothschild conditioner and then I can wear my hair down and not look like a witch:)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

This is an excellent sulfate free shampoo that feels like a gel and really lathers abs cleans your hair without leaving it stripped or greasy. It smells nice, reminds me of high end hotel body wash 😂 I love it, it’s the best shampoo I’ve found yet

About reviewer (689 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Being a big fan of Olaplex No.3 at home treatment and disappointed from ALL my previous hair care purchases (low end, high end, you name it), I decided to give no. 3 and 4 a shot. While I already finished the conditioner, shampoo is still half full - even for long hair you don't need to use a lot, it leathers really well. Most shampoos leave my hair feeling very dry after rinse which I didn't experience here (at least not to the same extent). Unlike other reviewers I'm not a fan of it's strong smell, but that's up to everyone's taste. I don't think shampoo can do much in terms of bond building since you rinse it out quickly - I can't tell if it made any difference since I always used the conditioner afterwards. Conditioner runs out too fast for the price and I think it leaves a lot of residue and not enough hydration, so I would recommend using no. 3 once in a while instead (in combination with regular conditioning). It's definitely giving me better results then the products I used previously, but even after a thorough conditioning my hair needed some extra oil added and the hair texture and appearance was not great (although it felt pretty strong). Since I just had a great experience with Biolage Raw Nourish line I probably won't repurchase, but if I would, it would be the shampoo.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have amazing results with Olaplex 2 followed by deep conditioner, so I thought I'd try the s&c. The shampoo smells lovely, but the smell does not linger in the hair. I first tried it on a day when I had come home from the beach. My hair was loaded with leave in conditioner, coconut oil, salt water and nasty red tide from the ocean. I ended up shampooing twice because I did not feel like the shampoo was cleaning all the stuff from my hair. My hair felt heavy and coated after shampoo. However, it soaked up the Olaplex 5 conditioner. I ended up keeping the conditioner in for hours. When I finally rinsed, my hair was super silky and shiny like it is whenever I do the Olaplex 2 treatment. I tried the combo on another day but without leaving the conditioner in for so long (10 minutes). Hair once again came out great. Then, I tried the shampoo with my regular hair mask. That was a bust. My hair tends to feel silky after washing and then dries out in the following days. After using Olaplex shampoo with a different conditioner, my hair felt less silky than normal after washing, and dried out more than normal over the following days. And it felt coated. After using Olaplex s&c together, my hair initially dries too poufy for my liking, but it responds much better than normal to styling. My unruly pieces become silky smooth with one pass of the iron. I love the conditioner (which is thick and more like a masque IMO), but the shampoo is nothing special. Certainly not worth $28 for me. I should note that I do have well water, so that could possibly be a factor in why I do not love this shampoo. If I was tying to get the most bang for my dollar with Olaplex, my vote would be for #2, followed by #5. #2 is a must and gives the most dramatic result. #5 is nice to have because it is convenient - you don't really need to follow up with a mask, so great when you don't have a ton of time. But for $28 - I'll pass on this shampoo. 3 stars only because its effects seem to be masked when used with the coordinating conditioner, or to wash out Olaplex 2.

About reviewer (307 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am a huge Olaplex fan. I was one of the first to review it when it first launched years ago. Olaplex literally saved my hair and I still use it religiously to this day. I will never betray the brand by using other "bond repair" products. The shampoo however, was not a let down, yet more so it just didn't amaze me. I actually found it to be a little bit drying. Most shampoos tend to dry out my hair unless they are full of silicone, so this was no surprise. I want to point out that NO ONE should use this in lieu of #1, #2, or even #3. Shampoo is only on your hair for a few minutes, meaning that magical active ingredient that repairs your hair only has a few minutes to work its magic. You will need the more heavy duty products listed for a more intensive treatment. The shampoo can't fix everything alone. Now with all that being said... I think people with colored hair would really like it because it's gentle with no sulfates. But I am blonde, with no worries of fading dye. I also think most people would find this to be a moisturizing formula (my hair just hates most shampoos). I am seeing SO many wonderful reviews on it. I think maybe I will apply a hot oil treatment before using this again to see if that counteracts any dryness from it. Olaplex is a really wonderful brand, I trust them.

About reviewer (514 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This review is for both the S and C. My initial impression? Is this my hair? If it’s not then I’m not giving it back because it feels amazing! I didn’t recognize it the first few times I used these. It truly doesn’t feel like my hair. My hair: 2a/2b , recently BKT treated, fine but very course, extremely frizzy in humid weather, and is pretty dry at the ends. It loves cones, and does well with protein. I also dye my hair every 6 weeks with Koleston Perfect 4n and 10v developer w/Olaplex 1. Heat styling is very minimal and consists of an occasional curling iron through my hair to define my waves or simply to make my growing-out bangs behave. Even before BKT, getting my haircut every 6-8 weeks still left me with dry,frazzled ends which resulted me always needing to get more cut off than I would have liked. Enter Olaplex S/C. Wow. Just wow. If my results stay like this I’m thinking I may be able to go longer between haircuts and not need as much cut off. Now I didn’t even know this magic potion Olaplex 4 and 5 existed until I saw it on HB and knew I had to give it a try, especially because 1&2 have been staples of mine for some time. I’ve been using it for about a week and a half and here’s my main takeaways: - Shampoo seems to be one that will be very long lasting. Because as many other have mentioned, the smallest amount is needed. It also lathers really well for a sulphate free formula. - Conditioner is pretty thick, feels moisturizing when applied but doesn’t have a lot of slip at first. Simply combing it through seems to help a lot. You do tend to need a little more than the shampoo. I’ve let it sit on my hair for the recommended 3 minutes or so, longer (like 20). Of course longer seems to yield more intensified results. Someone mentioned on HB a couple days ago some useful ”hacks” from an Olaplex educator. I tried not rinsing it out all of the way and it helped a Iittle. Also tried applying the smallest amount to damp hair without rinsing. Could see that being beneficial for days when your hair feels a lil crunchy or someone who has extremely damaged hair. - Heat seems to enhance the effects and make hair even smoother. The results I have experienced include EXTREMELY soft hair, more shine,less frizz, better manageability and smoother ends. With almost no effort. I followed my usual routine of Solerma (It smells like old lady but is the best leave in ever!), a little Ouai leave in to mask that smell, then Ouai Air dry foam. When dry I do a small small amount of LP nourishing oil. The only con I can think of (besides the price sucking ,who wants to pay $28 for S/C right?) is that I still need small amounts of hairspray to keep my hair from being super fuzzy. But that’s not really a con because this isn’t technically an anti frizz product. Overall, this truly is such a significant advance in technology, because the last time I felt my hair this soft was probably when I was like 10 and had virgin hair. I’ve tried nearly everything to combat the course texture and inevitable damage to my hair and nothing worked until Olaplex. And this shampoo and Conditioner’s cumulative effects have been like nothing I have ever experienced.Like I said before, it doesn’t feel like my hair. Its weird but happy weird. It’s healthy, not dry and has seemed to mend my split ends. If anything changes, I’ll be sure to update my review. As of now, LOVING this! UPDATE 10/07: Out of the honeymoon phase and still loving this. I have been using for 3 months. YMMV, but managing your expectations on how it makes your hair feel in comparison to the fake,super slippy silicone shampoo and conditioners we are all used to is a good place to start when trying this out. It’s meant to help repair those broken bonds in our hair and while it may not be the most super duper moisturizing, it does it’s primary job amazingly well. Sometimes I do find I need extra moisture, and my Salerm 21/Ouai leave in are a great compliment.The biggest long term improvement in my hair has been NO MORE SPLIT ENDS. Even my hairdresser even said my hair was much healthier. I’m going to see if I can go 12 weeks without a haircut, usually at this point 8+ weeks I’m in desperate need, but not the case right now. Almost out of conditioner, (good on shampoo about 1/2 left) will have to rebuy soon. Sometimes I do find I need a bit more moisture, but overall this does what it was meant to do. It truly helps mend your hair.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I will try to keep this short and simple. I have used the shampoo and conditioner (#4 & #5) for two weeks on my fine, thin, highlighted hair and this shampoo is not worth it. As far as I can tell, it does not repair my hair permanently with whatever bond technology it has. My ends are pretty fried and this smooths them a bit but they are back to frizzy the next day. I do like the conditioner (#5) when used with another shampoo so I would buy that again but not this at $28.00 US a bottle.

About reviewer (141 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Alrighty, I've only used this once, but so far I love it. I have super long, highlighted, fine, abundant hair. It's prone to dryness, breakage, and flyaways, as each strand is so fine and I have a *slight* wave (1a/2a). I'm an avid user of Olaplex 1+2, which has helped mitigate a lot of the damage I've incurred through heat-styling and color services, so I'm not sure how I JUST found out Olaplex had recently released a shampoo and conditioner. Scent: Faint, realistic fresh (not sweet) pineapple/citrus scent. Barely there, but very pleasant. Texture: Thick, viscous. A little goes a LONG way. My hair is almost to my waist, and a quarter-sized amount was more than enough. SO MUCH LATHER! Result: Hair feels super "clean" but not stripped, moisturized, soft, and very "light"--volumized and not heavy. A lot of movement/silkiness. Overall, this has to be one of the best shampoo and conditioners I've ever used. I'm trying to temper my excitement as it's only been one time, but so far I am absolutely loving this.

About reviewer (67 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.