4.4

Created with Sketch.
168 reviews
86%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This product saved my scalp. For years, I've suffered from seborrheic dermatitis. Without any treatment, my scalp looks dry and scaly. I've used all of the anti-dandruff shampoos, including all of the "Clinical" and "Extra-Strengths". I used prescription stuff. Nothing helped! I would apply moisturizer so my scalp would look normal. I found the 60 mL at my drugstore for about $10 CAN, which is expensive. I followed the directions and voila - my seborrhoea was gone! I've been using this for years. I used it every time I washed for about 2 weeks until things were under control. Now, I use it weekly to prevent it from coming back. It's made my hair thicker and smell good. The only issue is that it's drying, so using a deep-conditioner is essential! This has been my HG for years now. I hope to God they never discontinue this thing. If you have a stubborn case of seborrhoea, try this. It's worth it.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I'd read up plenty on Nizoral being good for hair loss and also its main purpose - dandruff and so I gave it a try some years back and also a couple of years after too. Both times it did nothing for my dandruff, psoriasis or hair falling. My hair ended up feeling completely dried out, whilst my scalp reacted angrily, becoming inflamed and irritated by this shampoo. For reference I purchased a fresh bottle both times and had the same reaction. Had to discontinue within a week as none of my symptoms improved (granted hair shedding would have taken a longer period of use to subside) but unfortunately the irritation just would not allow me to keep using it. Luckily I found another shampoo with Ketoconazole that did help, yet without the SLS and other unwanted ingredients that seem to trouble me. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled many 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

My dermatologist prescribed this shampoo for my psoriasis. I do not understand actually, because it is an anti fungal treatment and psoriasis has nothing to do with fungus. The shampoo is very drying to my hair and scalp and make me loose more hair than normally. It does nothing for my scalp condition, so I stopped using it after 3 weeks.

About reviewer (204 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I suffer from very nasty dandruff problem that was a source of embarrassment for me since I was a kid. Nothing and I mean NOTHING helped me reduce it. This shampoo is the only thing that has ever managed to reduce my dandruff. I tried so many things over the years with fail. Now I can go days without washing my hair and without disgusting flakes taking over my scalp. It's the best and the bottle lasts me for a whole year. I use it at least once a week to keep the dandruff away, if i skiped it for a week I start noticing the dandruff coming back. But once I am consistent on using it every week again and the dandruff disappeared totally.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The best stuff I have used for dandruff - period. Makes me get rid of itchy scalp within one use and believe me, I have had very bad dandruff before. It's a bit drying but I recommend using a conditioner for dry/damaged hair along with Nizoral.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I believe this shampoo is quite expensive here where I live so I had it bought from the US. Back to my review, this shampoo does work and slowly my dandruff problems are starting to get rid off. Lesser chances of itching scalp at first BUT the dandruff is more visible now. Plus it doesn't bubble, maybe bec I am used to shampoo with bubbles forming later on. I guess I can live with that. This is the only anti dandruff shampoo that's working for my itchy scalp. Definitely going to purchase again.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I don't have dandruff or flakiness but I did have an itchy scalp from Aussie moist shampoo and conditioner ( which I still want to use because they work well for my hair and I have two enormous bottles). A single shampoo with Nizoral worked - no more itchiness. Instructions say to use this once every three or four days for no more than eight weeks or as needed. I used it one more time to be sure, and then put it away for the next time this happens. I used a very small amount. Very happy to have this in the arsenal. I also read reviews below that seemed to indicate less hair shedding with this. Since I shed a lot, that would be a great plus. Nizoral was more gentle and less drying than some clarifying shampoos I have used (Suave, Neutragena, organix coconut) and even though I decided not to use conditioner afterwards, my hair wasn't straw like. It felt clean and healthy, not weighed down, but not squeaky stripped either. Slightly more volume, so I assume Nizoral roughed up the hair shaft a bit. For reference, I have Asian normal hair, tending a bit towards oily, that is dyed from a nice n easy box, no other issues. Nizoral brought my hair and scalp back to normal, like a reset button. It has not oxidized or stripped my color. Note: I got some on my forehead and it dried my combination skin, tending towards dry, out a bit (I noticed that some reviews below successfully use it as a facial or body cleanser) but it did not dry out my hair. I am prone to milia and hives and this did not irritate. Also, it does not have an objectionable or strong scent. A generic drug store shampoo (Aussie moist) and a clarifier (Neutragena) are far more obnoxiously scented. If I could give this product more than five stars for its swift efficacy and pleasant application, I would.

About reviewer (517 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I don't have dandruff but for 15 years I've dealt with a mysteriously itchy scalp despite my attempts at moisturizing , washing, and all the tips and tricks to alleviate it. Finally I gave this a go and i now can go up to two weeks without my scalp itching. The itch is finally gone. This product is an interesting bold shade of blue and goes from $12-$16 depending on where you purchase it. Though it does strip your hair, its nothing that a simple conditioner can't soften. I only focus on my scalp and just let the suds run through the strands. My only two issues with this product is that it burns bitterly in your eyes, and i have yet to have a session where some didn't somehow get in my eyes. You must be as thorough as possible removing any lingering product from your hair before you open your eyes. It doesn't just burn momentarily. It lingers in a way that makes me worry about long term damage. The other issue is the size for the amount i pay. I would really like this in a family size since it's now the only shampoo that i use and there just isn't a lot in this small bottle.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This past summer, I was dealing with a pretty severe case of folliculitis, that my doctor believed to just be acne. It was all over my forehead, cheeks, scalp, chest, and shoulders, and was beginning to travel down my arms. The hair on my scalp was falling out at an alarming rate. I did some research into what could be going on with my skin, and found that many people used Nizoral, particularly in combination with low-grade antibiotics, to help treat their folliculitis. My doctor prescribed Minocycline to help with my "acne", and I bought Nizoral as a last resort, to use as a shampoo. My scalp was almost 100% better within a week. I noticed that the skin on my hairline was starting to improve as well, so I tried it as a body and face wash. As a face wash, it is quite drying, and unfortunately with folliculitis, excessive moisturizing can exacerbate the problem. HOWEVER, this (in combination with the Minocycline and a few weeks later Paula's Choice 2% BHA liquid), my skin is significantly better. I haven't had a recurrence of bumps on my forehead, and the texture on my cheeks is significantly improved. My chest and shoulders are perfectly clear. This stuff worked wonders for me. I now use it 1-2 times a week to maintain the results.

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This didn't seem to work for my SD. I don't know why. I tried using as instructed but it's as if I hadn't used anything different. So disappointed, specially considering the crazy expensive price. Currently using neutrogena t gel but things seem identical as with this. We'll see.

About reviewer (94 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel