4.1

Created with Sketch.
171 reviews
84%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range
$12.99 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I'm on my second bottle of the shade "medium." For reference on my skintone, my concealer shade is Vanilla in Nars RCC so I'm pretty light with cool/pink tones. I really like this product. It is a great value. It's not as good as St Tropez, but it's SO much cheaper that I can't justify using St Tropez. I'm a pretty novice tanner and this is easy to use. You do have to blend it in small sections - like front of calf, back of calf, front of thigh, back of thigh, etc. It dries quickly. Despite that, it has never gotten splotchy or streaky on me. It dries pretty quickly so I'm dressed in about ten minutes. The color is not orange at all. It lasts at full tan for 2-3 days (I shower a lot) and fades nicely and evenly. As for what I don't like...it's not super dark. I usually use it two days in a row. I even leave it on overnight. Doing just 4 hours left no tan on my skin. So I'll usually do it around 10pm, sleep all night, and wake up and rinse off. I'd like to try the dark shade though which could eliminate this problem. It also doesn't smell great to me but no tanning product does, and it rinses away. Finally, it feels a little sticky especially around my joints. Don't love that. If you are adept with self tanning, I think you'll be happy with this product. 90% of the time any streaks or splotches are user error anyway - including on myself! It's a really amazing value, although not the deepest tan and maybe not the most pleasant user experience.

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Best self tanner ever!Save your money and don’t buy any other. - absolutely NO ORANGE , just natural tan color - great smell (powdery) - easy to apply with mit, fast drying, you can see where you apply also If you want streak free result... you should scrub in shower from me next day. Yes from the next day!Maybe loose some color but it ll be streake free.You can apply again next night for more intense result I have light skins and I use only the DARK formula

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

It’s cheap but there is a reason for this. It’s my second bottle, don’t know what possessed me to buy a cheap self tanner but I did - dark mousse. I regularly self tan, don’t really have many misshaps or struggles anymore but I actually ended up washing this one off me immediately on 1st application. Right - tried again, a few days later and it went better but I just don’t like using it, it dries really fast and you have to rub it in quickly. Yesterday I again started applying it (nice cardio...) and basically after i did my legs i switched to a different (not that much more expensive) mousse with guide colour and it was just so much easier. It still had the guide colour but it was gliding allowing me to spread it evenly. Yes it does work and the tan looks ok but i don’t find it pleasant to use at all, it also smells. If you want a cheap self tanner then try it, it may work, people seem to love it, I don’t.

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love this I have it in "dark" & it's perfect for my medium olive skin. It gives me a true tan nothing orange. It did not irritate my skin like St Tropez did. Now some tips make sure you exfoliate & make sure your skin is COMPLETELY dry before you apply it. Make sure you use gloves or a mitt & always shake the bottle before dispensing.

About reviewer (296 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is my second self tanner. The first one I used was Million Dollar Tan and that product was a let down. This self tanner is so much better. First off, mousse is better than lotion when it comes to tanning. The lotion is sticky and will build up around creases like your inner elbows and wrists. So since this is a mousse, it's already a plus. I purchased the DARK formula. First, I exfoliated and did the usual pre-tanning routine in the shower at night. I did not apply moisturizer on my entire body at all afterwards. That will affect how dark your tan turns out. I first got a regular synthetic makeup brush and applied the mousse on my face with it. I also did my neck with the brush. Next I applied moisturizer on my palms, elbows, feet, and ankles. Apply enough to where it sits on your skin and doesn't soak in. I applied 2 pumps on my arms with a mitt. 4 pumps on my legs with a mitt. And 5 pumps on my torso with a mitt. It was incredibly easy to blend. It dried very quickly as well. It was not sticky at all. I went to bed afterwards. When I woke up I did not see any stains on my white sheets. The tan looked very natural on my skin. It wasn't orange at all. There was a slight odor, but not too bad. This is a great product especially for the price it's sold for. My only complaint is that my face looked darker than the rest of my body. It may be because I used a mitt on my body and a brush on my face. I had to apply a second coat on my body the next day to match it up. This is as good as it gets when it comes to self tanner. I can't imagine finding a better product. I heard girls say that one coat of this isn't enough. Not true. I'm pale and one coat is enough to look like a bronzed goddess. Two coats is daring, but it still looks amazing. Again, it looks very natural. I'm so satisfied with it. UPDATE: I've had this tan for 4 days now and it still looks beautiful. There are no harsh lines on my hands and feet, like you would see with other self tanners. My mother is naturally tan and my tan looks identical to hers! Remember, I'm very pale. Two coats of the dark formula is enough. I'll probably use the medium formula to gradually add color once it starts to fade. UPDATE: Unfortunately this product is not the same. I guess they changed the formula. The "dark" formula is no longer as dark as it used to be. It also fades away after just one full day. It makes tanning a whole lot more difficult. I do not like tanning every 2 days. I guess this is where I retire from tanning.

About reviewer (149 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Im on my third bottle, and i love this! I have the colour medium for the winter and dark for summer, and I love to have a summer glow all year around. It is very cheap, but the product is great. Just make sure to remove all dead skin and make sure that the moisturizer is completely dry before applying to get the perfect and even result. I am totally addicted to this self tanning mousse.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinDry, Tan, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I am at the third bottle because it's not pricey and still works amazingly. It gives you a lovely, warm, classy, not orange color that will last for 5-6 days, when properly moisturized. Careful on feet, hands, elbows and face; it really absorbs quickly so just a hint of color would be enough. It dries fast and it doesn't stink. Besides, you can easily find it also online.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

The price is great and the package is fine. I bought this product after all the rave because it's supposedly the best budget fake tanner out there. It did very little for me. I'm very, very fair skinned. The medium left a slight orange tint which was gone after 2 days. Then I tried two layers of the dark one, again did very little. I got slightly darker but it looked like very naturally light, untanned skin. Again it was gone in 2 days, expect on my feet where I hadn't moisturized well. Fortunately this one wasn't orangey. Anyway it did so little for me I won't be buying this again.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I bought this tanner because of its cheap price and the fact that it got some pretty great reviews overall. It wasn't going to set me back to try it, so I ordered. I am not new to self tanners and have tried some pretty great ones as well as some not so great ones. I exfoliate the crap out of my skin and apply after I've freshly showered and been dry for atleast an hour. I do not moisturize beforehand, aside from my hands, ankles, knees and feet. This tanner goes on nicely, as the mousse is sort of fluffy and spreads effortlessly. I immediately notice the deep bronze color once applied, which is usually a good thing. But the problem I've found is that the color guard is very weak. Meaning when I shower in the morning or whenever I am ready to rinse the guard off, hardly any comes off of my body. At first I thought that may equate to a longer lasting, darker tan. Yes, it is dark. Dark for my medium to light-medium olive skin. And it looks good the first day. But by day two and three, the tan begins to fade off in the worst way. That is my biggest complaint. My theory is that because this lacks a good guard, so much of it is absorbed into your skin immediately upon initial application that it can't gradually develop over the course of 6 or 8 hours and in turn fades drastically by day 2 or 3 in a very noticeable way. For a self tanner to be good, rule number one is that it can not leave dry, crusty looking dark patches around an area on my skin where the tan is fading. It must fade gradually and seamlessly. This will pill up and come off in flakes if your skin is damp and your pores have opened after a shower. I mean, like your body will be covered in dark flaky skin bits after towel drying. So much so that you may need to rerinse to get it all off. I gave it 2 stars for the texture and color. You get what you pay for and even though it's very affordable, I wouldn't waste my money or time on it again.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

**update 4/2019** I can still say that I'm a self tanner addict and its been close to 14 years now. As listed below I've tried so many different brands and types over the years. This brand still by far is my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE brand there is. I'm naturally fairly tan (being part Hawaiian and Filipino) and have a slight "tanned" look even when its in the winter months. The tan that I get from this product makes you look like you just got back from a nice tropical vacation. I use this year round even if I'm still laying out in the sun, because once this tan fades my natural one shows just as nicely with or without the self tanner. I love how you can go to ulta and usually find this product on a buy 2 get 1 free or a buy 1 get one 50% off. I usually apply this with a mitt. I usually do to coats of this and then a coat of the lotion. They both look extremely dark when first applied, but once you wash off and get the pre-color off it looks amazing and sun kissed. Seriously if this product gets discontinued I definitely will cry because this is my OG/HOLY GRAIL self tanning product! ________________________________________________________________________ I can honestly say I am a self tanner addict. Been using self tanners for years. I've used St. Tropez, Fake bake, Sunlabs, etc. This product is by far one of y favorite. I love how dark it makes me. I will always buy this until I can no longer get my hands on it. Coming from someone who has lupus and is "light sensitive" and can no longer use tanning booths/beds. This gives you that sun kissed glow without looking orange or streaky. Price point is nice. Color is dark and looks amazing!

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Cool

HairOther, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.