3.5

Created with Sketch.
263 reviews
63%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I first started takin Biotin in one of those 'Hair & Nail' formulas which combine several beneficial ingredients for improving hair loss/ condition and nails. After 2 months and not seeing much difference I purchased Biotin on its own in 5000 mcg, taking one capsule daily. Almost 3 months on that and my nails were definitely stronger and in better condition than I've ever seen before, however my hair was still falling and the condition although improved, wasn't a huge difference. I was also noticing the odd pimple pop up, fairly more than usual, but put it down to diet as I had been consuming a lot of sugary drinks at the time. From there I started on 10,000 mcg and within a couple of weeks I began to suffer from painful cystic acne on my jaw area especially. At first I could not make the connection (bear in mind this was back in 2010, when there weren't as many online reviews for Biotin) and I eliminated everything from firstly my diet and secondly my skincare routine, all with no joy, until one day it occurred to me it may be the Biotin. Within days of stopping it my skin began to clear up. I have never gone back to Biotin since. Some people seem to get fantastic results, whilst others like myself end up with skin issues, even those not previously prone to acne (such as my mother), and regardless of the dosage. Truly the only way of knowing which camp you fall into is by testing it, and discontinuing it immediately should your skin takes a turn for the worst. In my case I was lucky that none of the acne left any serious scarring or depressed scars, only minor acne scars/pigmentation which I was able to clear after using a good facial serum. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Lush' - Enzymion 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

i started taking biotin two years ago because the thick, curly hair i had had all my life was no longer quite as thick (and no longer grew as long) once i hit 30. also, i had read that biotin could help repair my nails from the havoc wrought by bimonthly gel manicures. i started out using the 5000 mcg capsules, used the 10,000 mcg for a while, and have since reverted back to 5000. since excess biotin is automatically flushed out of the body, od'ing on it won't necessarily yield the results you want, and i am finding that 5000 mcg doses are working best for me. biotin exists in all different forms to suit different comfort levels and dietary needs; it is also available from dozens of different brands at different price ranges. right now i'm using a grocery store generic and while i don't like the formula (dissolves in my mouth before i can swallow - yuck), the results are fine. i aim to drink a minimum of 1.5 liters of water a day and i generally take my dosage after lunch. i have always been acne prone and biotin has not fixed my skin, but it hasn't been made worse. now, as for my hair and nails: hair seems to be growing faster with the 5000 mcg dosage, and my nails withstand uv lights and scraping like champs. they're not rock-hard but they're significantly better than before i began using biotin. the only negative side effect is chin hair. a lot of it. no trip to the bathroom is complete without a careful examination of my chin.

About reviewer (185 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm currently on oral chemotherapy and the side effects include my nails doing something that they've never done before: split right in the middle. So I started taking 500 mg of biotin and within a week my nails were strong and flexible. I honestly expected to start seeing some results in 6 to 8 weeks at the least. So yes, biotin works. However please heed the warnings from people who got cystic acne when using biotin. If you're prone to cystic acne, give biotin a hard pass. Your skin will thank you.

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily

HairBrown

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Used Biotin 5000 MCG for about 6 months and gave me CYSTIC ACNE I have never experienced before! Started taking this summer 2017 and I drink about 1.5 to 2 litres a day of water, sometimes more sometimes less and I eat relatively healthy. After about three weeks I started experiencing horrible painful cystic/nodular acne on my cheeks. I do have oily skin so I am acne prone on my t-zone, but I have always had smooth clear cheeks despite acne on my forehead. Then after taking biotin I started getting huge painful nodular cysts which were under the skin so were impossible to treat with topical creams (eg benzoyl peroxide/salicylic acid) or squeeze. If I even TRIED squeezing them I would end up with huge dark scars which would last for months. When one spot went another would pop up almost immediately. I am still working on clearing up the scars today. I stopped taking biotin about a month ago and have had no new spots. I initially thought this acne was due to hormones and stress, but now I can definitely say it's due to the biotin. If you're going to take biotin BE WARNED you may experience cystic acne that will not go away unless you stop taking it! As for hair and nails, my hair did not grow any faster than usual and my nails were still brittle (but probably because I have had a acrylics a few times).

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Medium Brown, Neutral

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

So this definitely does make hair growth increase, and it did improve my overall skin quality, but my facial skin...oh dear. I had some of the worst cystic acne ever from both biotin supplements and topical biotin in hair products. I also experienced closed comedones on my neck and shoulders, that took months and both exfoliation and extraction to clear up. Unfortunately for me, I used the hair product first, and never connected the acne or bumps to it. I switched products when I ran out and never thought of it again until I tried a biotin supplement and experienced the same issues. I definitely recommend watching your skin and starting slow with this. I now take prenatal gummies as my multi vitamin since they are one of the few I can find without biotin!

About reviewer (179 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I take biotin every day. I've had hair loss but thanks to using the highest dose of biotin that is considered safe, my hair has grown longer, stronger and my hair is slowly starting to grow thicker. I love the results.

About reviewer (93 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Cool

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I regrew my hair and you can too. -I've been bleaching my hair on and off since forever. My hair wouldn't grow any longer it would just snap off. I've dreamed about having thick, long hair. And when I say dreamed, I mean it quite literally. So i decided to do something about it. My friend suggested Biotin when we were talking about my hair loss. I’ve tried like 4 different brands until i found that the best one for me. Now i’m 26 and I've been taking Biotin every day for years. My hair and nails grow SO much quicker. Hair has increased in the rate and are so long now. Also my energy levels are high. I remember that at the beginning i did heavy cardio and interval training which helped me lose weight fast but i did not realize how biotin played a part in my weight loss until AFTER i stopped working out. I continue to take biotin every day and now that I am no longer on my diet i eat whatever i want and i don't gain weight. It appears the biotin may be keeping my metabolism to the level it was at during my training. So i highly recommend it to you. For me the best is www.certifiedbiotin.com my friends also use this one.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This stuff gave me horrible deep cystic acne. I took it for about 4 months before I realized this was what was causing it. After I stopped taking the acne cleared up within a week. I may have never figured it out but I read a review for an acne face wash on amazon and the girl mentioned Biotin ended up being the cause of her acne. So glad I read that! My skin is acne prone to begin with, but not cystic, painful and all over like that. It was a very sad summer :(

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I started using 5mg biotin, swanson brand, at full strength for 2 days then read reviews and became terrified of breaking out. So for the following 3 days i dumped out half the capsule contents, and taking roughly half a pill. So far ive noticed my skin is glowy and youthful looking, and i know its the increased sebum production biotin causes. I was curious to see what would wipe off with a toner and OMG the grime on my face was a brownish colour the next morning, having gone to bed with a clean face. So.... I think using toners amd cleansers will prevent breakouts.... Keep u posted this is only day 5 :)

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Biotin has definitely helped my hair to grow faster, and possibly thicker, though probably not softer or shinier. When I was getting my brown hair bleached regularly, the root regrowth was super crazy, way beyond any normal rate. I've been taking it for about a year now, and it definitely works, but you have to be careful and patient with it. It can cause breakouts and takes a while to work, but it's worth it if you stick with it. I started at 1000mcg, the lowest possible dose, and started taking both a daily zinc and vitamin b complex supplement (I later increased the dosage for both, but I can't tell of any results yet), a silica supplement, and started drinking a bottle of water a day. If I had any breakouts it was no more noticeable than usual (my acne seems to be mostly hormonal, if that helps). When I ran out, I upped the dose to 3000mcg, then 5000mcg and 10,000mcg, all whilst keeping relatively clear skin (I've since found a cleansing routine that works for me). I'm currently on a dose of 12,000mcg, but I'll be going back to the 10,000mcg once that's done as I think that gave me the best results. I don't know what would happen if I went up to 20,000mcg. Don't start with a high dose, and don't give up after two weeks; it took about three months for me to see real results, but my hair is now far better than it was before.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us