3.5

Created with Sketch.
676 reviews
60%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range
$299.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I've used the SKII Facial Treatment Essence on four separate occasions for a couple of days each with other products that I've been using on a regular basis. Every single time I've used this, it has caused me to break out in clusters of pimples around my face, which is surprising because my skin isn't particularly sensitive and I don't usually break out into pimples, period. Given that this costs a few hundred dollars a pop, I'm super disappointed that this didn't work for me. In addition to causing my break out, this essence also smells pretty ratchet. Unfortunately, I'm going to have to write this off my list of skincare products permanently :( The MISSHA First Treatment Essence, on the other hand, has worked well for me for years. I think I will be going back to using that religiously. If you're considering getting this, I recommend getting a sample and testing it it out for a couple of days before purchasing the full bottle!

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I did a lot of review before going full tilt and paying for this. I started with a dupe, Missha treatment essence, and used the whole bottle with some improvement in my skin texture and tone, but it was minimal. However, in researching this brand, it appeared that there was a formulation change and that the "new" formula was not anything at all like the original Missha product. I purchased the real product, SK-II essence, during a Sephora sale, and have used that for the past 6 months. I have to say, that this is definitely worth the price! I have repurchased a larger size during the most recent Sephora sale, however, I would urge you to check the SK-II website as well, as they offer some discounts and special offers with purchase. I recently bought a gift set with a 7.5 oz bottle, a travel size and 2 masks from Sephora, during the VIB sale that was cheaper than the 7.5 oz bottle alone. I have used this essence for 8 months. I have been most impressed with the texture of my skin and the reduction in redness. This has resulted in a smoother feel, better tone and I can now go without foundation if I choose to do so. I have had so many remarks about my skin, and that people cannot believe I am not wearing foundation. I do not have the unevenness, and my face is baby soft and smooth. This is not an overnight treatment. I also have used tretinoin 0.5% and Timeless Vitamin C & E Ferulic for 7 years. Using the Essence as an addition for the past 8 months has improved the overall appearance of lines and wrinkles, evened the skin tone, and made everything come together, with a noticeable improvement in my face. I believe that it is worth it to me. A bottle lasts a very long time, almost a year. I use it 2X a day, morning and night as a first application before anything else. I pour it in my palm, and pat it on my face, neck a chest. I use whatever is let on my hands. This product has an odd smell, but do not find it off putting. Some of the reviews indicate this was a problem for some. Do not give up until you have used it for a minimum of 6 months. You will see a difference.

About reviewer (117 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

After using SK2 facial care treatments for 2 days, I developed bumps all over my face & upper neck. I immediately stopped using the treatment. The product is not for me

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

This bottle contains witchcraft and magic, I swear. I don’t waste a drop by pouring a few drops into my palm and patting the liquid into the skin. It softens and quite literally shrinks the pores in your t-zone overnight, though be it temporary. The smell is earthy and clearly fermented, but it isn’t strong and doesn’t linger. I got two of the same skincare kits just to get two little bottles of this. They paid for themselves with amount of product I received, and I am still working on the first bottle months later. If it weren’t for the price I’d be using this every single day!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I'm very much on the fence with this product. I've used it on and off for a few years now. The first time I used it, I wasn't impressed. It just didn't seem to do that much. I should note, I was using it on its own during this time. The second time I used this product, I used it in conjunction with the clear lotion. I felt like this was the missing link because suddenly my skin looked more refined and glowy. My pores also looked smaller. I was so thrilled, I went and bought the RNA power moisturizer and the facial treatment cleansing oil. I've been using these three products for the past 2 or 3 months. At first, I loved the way my skin looked, but I'm sad to say, I think the results are wearing off. My skin has been getting extremely oily lately, but I feel like my skin looks dehydrated and crepey at the same time. My skin tone looks horrible and I'm wondering it the excessive oil production is due to my skin being dehydrated. I have quite sensitive skin. I used to deal with acne and took a rather aggressive approach to skin care (acids, retin a, at home peels etc). The last time I had a facial, the lady told me my skin was dehydrated and that I needed to stop being so harsh and adopt a simple routine. Being so overzealous with my skin has caused it to be reactive. It doesn't tolerate many products anymore so it's hard to find a effective skincare routine. I'm dissapointed because I really thought this would be my holy grail skin care line. My skin looked really nice initially, I even got told I looked "glowy" which is something I've never heard in my life. I've attempted to cut out the clear lotion and just use the FTE. I've also tried to cut out the cleansing oil and RNA power. Cutting out the clear lotion made my skin a bit less oily (BHA makes my skin oily, perhaps becayse it's dehydrated), but didnt make my skin look any better. I'm going to stop using all SK-II products for a while and go back to Dermalogica. I have used Dermalogica in the past and, while I dont think it performed miracles, it made my skin look healthy. I'll see if this change makes any difference, if it does, I'll know SK-II doesn't suit my skin. If it doesn't, it might mean my skin is just too dehydrated and reactive for any products at the moment. I'll be sure to update. UPDATE: I can say, without a doubt, my skin looks way healthier now that I've started using Dermalogica. I initially just started using the Ultra Calming cleanser, Ultra Calming toner and the skin smoothing lotion because that's what I had left over previously. I've now introduced the pre cleanse oil and hydrating Booster and my skin has never looked better. It gets less oily now, my pores look smaller (probably because they're pumping out less oil) and my skin looks healthier. Safe to say, I won't be going back to SK-II any time soon. Dermalogica is cheaper (although still expensive!) and more effective for me. They also don't test on animals which is a huge bonus.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

It was decent

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

This product caused a weird reaction on my skin - causing it to plug up and produce whiteheads that scarred. I don't think it's a bad product for those whose skin it agrees with. However, it just didn't suit me.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I'm on the fence still, I purchased it after reading lots of reviews and decided to finally try it. I did notice the glow everyone was talking about i the first few days, I was pleasantly surprised I didn't break out from it. I have very sensitive skin so I'm always careful when it comes to trying something new. I kept at it with a morning and evening routine applying it before my cream and it's been doing ok. After using it for a few months, I don't feel like it's working as well as it first did. From time to time I also get breakouts, I stopped using it and switching to another toner and my skin feels better. I'm unsure if it's finally taking it's toll on my skin. For the time being, I'm not using it and will probably take a break from it.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I was excited to try this..I'd read through the mixed reviews and when offered this product to try for free in exhange for my honest review, I jumped on the chance. During the first week, it made my typically pimple free skin(except for perhaps the one rouge chin zit every now and then) had several zits popping up, on my cheek, chin..forehead. I was NOT happy. Luckily I'd scheduled a dermasound facial which helped clear up those pimples and obtained encouragement to continue to use this product since 30days is optimal time to see if a product is truly working or not. I just would splash in my palms, then dab into my face after using toner every morning and night. My skin would feel tighter after but not dry, it was smooth. My pores in some areas did seem to shrink up quite a bit...on my chin, and cheeks. The pores on my nose didn't seem to improve much after almost 30 days of use. I also had a few areas that I was hoping to have evened out by using this(darker mark on chin from picking those rouge zits I'd get and some brown, freckle like spots on cheek bones aka pregnancy mask) that have not changed in appearance at all. Maybe this product just isn't what my skin needs? I am going to continue to use this until it's gone and if down the road I notice any noteworthy changes I will edit this review to add them..but as of now it's a very expensive product that did not produce results that, in my opinion, would warrant such a high price tag.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair

HairSilver

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Effect Shrinks pores Gets rid of itchy skin Controls oil Con Drying Price I feel like after using it for so long it acts like alcohol for the skin. I also noticed it made my skin more sensitive after using it. update: my skin becomes red when i use it

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us