3.7

Created with Sketch.
39 reviews
64%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

This review is for the version that comes in the gold tube. I wanted *so* badly to like this, since my super-oily skin is notorious for dissolving mascara almost on contact. Tubing formulas work better than anything else, and my motivation for trying this one was the hope that it would be just as good as blinc, but less expensive. It *is* less expensive, but I found it *terribly* clumpy. In fact, I had to remove it and start over with a Wet 'n' Wild mascara before daring to go out in public. I even kept it for a while, hoping that if it dried out a bit, it would work better. Then I tossed it. Needless to say, I would not buy this again. I still love tubing mascaras, but not this one.

About reviewer (847 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I picked this mascara (in the gold tube) up from Target for under $10. I had never tried a tubing mascara and decided I would see if it would work on my sparse, small and dull lashes. I figured the smaller brush applicator would work well since most are way too big for my smaller eyes. I see so many positive reviews but mine was the opposite:( This mascara is not buildable so if you have sparse lashes you may want to try something else. I did not like the way that my lashes clumped together making my lashes look even more sparse. Finally, I don’t know why this happened as it is a once in a while thing for me to lose a lash but I lost SEVERAL when I removed this product. I decided right then that this mascara is not worth another chance and banished it. For the record, my lashes are healthy, not dry or brittle and I am not on meds that would cause this. I know I lost 4 lashes because I saw them - I’m going to assume there were a few I didn’t see. It’s back to regular old fashioned mascara for me. I would caution anyone that doesn’t have lashes to lose to please be careful. This mascara is the worst I’ve tried in recent memory. I would steer anyone considering this away. I don’t know why I had the reaction I had but with so many mascaras out there to choose from I’m not going to mourn the loss.

About reviewer (420 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I went from being afraid of mascara (thanks oily eyelids) to embracing it thanks to Boots No 7 tubing mascara. For years I tried pretty much every single waterproof mascara and I would always end up with raccoon eyes. I was seriously considering getting lash extensions but I wanted something that I could choose to wear whenever I wanted. Enter Boots No 7 tubing mascara. I decided to read lots of reviews on it and the price point was great for me ($10.99 at my local Walgreens). I'm okay with it not getting a lot of volume or length, I just wanted some definition with my lashes. It also works with my usb heated lash curler and stays curled all day. After 10 hours of wear there was no flaking and I became an instant fan. I also loved the relatively slim packaging. I really hated Covergirl's LashBlast packaging - it was bulky and not easy to travel with. Removal is quite easy - use warm water on a cotton round or on your fingers and gently “roll” lashes between fingers and it will come right off. Walgreens has specials on Boots, so if you buy one you get the 2nd one half off. I'm never going back to regular mascara again!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This review is for the tubing version of Boots No.7 Stay Perfect Long-Lasting Volume mascara - in the gold tube. This is the first drugstore tubing mascara that I have found that is worthwhile, and it's at a great price so I recommend huntng it down. This mascara goes on wet, so you do have to take a little time and keep stroking to build up the lashes as it dries. The brush is really nice and small so you can get to all your lashes, even the bottom lashes and corner of eye. No stabbling your eyeballs with a giant brush trying to get to all lashes. I was the queen of Panda/Raccoon eyes before tubing mascaras, and have been waiting and waiting for a decent drugstore version. Stay Perfect mascara does just that, stays perfectly without a single smudge until I take it off. When it's time to remove it, water and a little gentle working of the lashes between fingers, and the tubes just come right off - no worries! I would call this an awesome daytime mascara, and will keep my more expensive Clinique High Impact Curling tubing mascara for evenings, as it goes on thicker and builds faster than the Boots. All-round though, this Boots mascara is a keeper!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have always worn drugstore mascara. The past couple of years I have worn only tubing mascara because otherwise there are never ending smears. I have worn L'OREAL, NYX, and Boots. NYX is by far the worst. The wand is awful. Boots and L'ORÉAL have completely different wands, neither very good, and I was satisfied equally with them. None of them had a particularly great formula but I rationalized it as the price to pay to not smudge. I had no volume, no length, but I did have black. I finally bought Estee Lauder and am completely happy. I will never go back.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am a long time user of blinc tubing mascaras. I am so glad tubing mascaras were invented as they are a must for my oily lids. I tried the L'oreaI tubing mascara years ago and found it very dull and sort of grayish even in the darkest color. So I gave up on finding a drugstore replacement. I heard about the boots version as decided to try as it is less than half the price of blinc. I am very impressed- holds up just as well as the expensive brand and it a rich glossy black. I get nice separation of lashes as well. While I still prefer the large fluffy brush on blinc amplified, I will be sticking w the boots.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is the first tubing mascara I've ever used that removes as claimed--with warm water and a bit of pressure--and comes off completely on the first go. This is a very nice mascara that now comes packaged in a fairly bulky gold plastic tube (I hate bulky mascara tubes--they're just showy and waste room in my makeup case). The formula is fairly wet, but it applies easily and didn't uncurl my lashes. The brush is perfect for the formula, which delivers great length with a fair amount of volume. It wore well for a full day with no smudging or flaking, and didn't irritate my eyes. And the removal--yes, it's really easy. It's available only in black which will suit most people, although I generally prefer brown-black or brown for daytime wear. I really like the easy application and removal, as well as the look and longevity it delivers. It's middling-pricey at $10, although you can catch it on sale or with a discount for considerably less. Depending on your mascara preferences (which are almost as individual as fragrance), you may just love this. I like this product very much, but not as well as Benefit's They're Real! Tinted Lash Primer (my current favorite), but well enough that I will repurchase.

About reviewer (1192 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Other, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I read on a blog that a layer of tubing mascara over your regular mascara will prevent smudging. I recently bought Maybelline full n' soft, and loved the mascara except for the smudging. I bought this to layer over, and it has worked out well. I just put one layer of Maybelline, then one layer of No7 mascara, my eyelashes are defined, separated, lengthened, and have some volume. This does not hold a curl as well as some other mascaras, but I don't mind. I recently watched an interview with the makeup artist Val Garland, and she said she didn't love curled lashes, and that long straight lashes are sexy. So this is my mascara combo for long, sexy lashes. If I want curl I'll use L'Oreal mascara On its own this mascara is good. It defines and lengthens lashes. I may get a couple clumps, but they are easily removed by running my finger or a lash comb through the lash. Edit my lashes do have a bit more "oomph" using full n soft and this as a top layer

About reviewer (257 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

If you have sensitive eyes, this is the mascara for you. After a few tubes of Clinique Lash Power gave me wimpy lashes and irritated eyes, I finally got a clue and searched for something else. I have always thought "you get what you pay for" was incredibly true with cosmetics, but even Chanel has irritated my eyes. This time, I came across No7 Stay Perfect (which is in a gold tube, not black as pictured here) and decided to give it a try. Wow!! This stuff is great. It's coats my lashes beautifully, lasts all day, and comes off easily at night with a warm washcloth. No more bloodshot eyes! This mascara isn't build-able, as some have complained. It's not meant to be. When mascaras are build-able, that usually means flecks will come off during the day. And for those with sensitive eyes, that's a bummer. To get eyelashes that look great, I curl my lashes before applying the mascara. Then I let the mascara completely dry, and curl them again. The look great all day. Note: I don't use mascara on my lowers--I prefer a more natural look. At this writing, it's a cheap $9.99 at most drugstores. But yesterday I found a buy 2/get 1 free deal at Walgreens.com. It was sold out online, so I went to my local store and snagged my 3 tubes. Yeah. It's a fantastic bargain with or without a sale--go for it!

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Update: My 1st tube was dried out. I took that one back and got a different tube and totally different findings. It's a very wet application and my curl almost doesn't stand up to it. It leaves my lashes looking defined and kind of spidery. I have to use a lash comb to separate my lashes. And it is hard to remove. Had flakes coming off 2-3 days later. This reminds me of DHC's tubing mascara but with some differences. For me this only gave me definition and some length. I didn't get much volume, which is also true with DHC. Brush is not as good as DHC. Price is great at approximately $8. An ok tubing mascara but not my favorite. Imju fiberwig is way better and Clinique's versions are better too.

About reviewer (1595 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel