3.8

Created with Sketch.
505 reviews
69%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range
$14.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

On the search for a good papaya-enzyme cleanser (more natural than 'Likas Papaya' soap!) and stumbled upon this. The concentration of Papaya in here isn't anywhere near as strong as Likas' soap but it does contain a natural AHA (Grapefruit extract) which would (hopefully) make up for it! Or would it? So yes it works fairly well as a cleanser, although not as good at removing makeup as it's touted to be, had to double-cleanse on all days when trying to remove anything more than basic oil-free foundation. The fragrance is very strong which isn't a good thing in my books, and as the instructions state: leaving on for 1-2 minutes if you can is worth doing, as the difference when doing so, compared to when I didn't, could be noticed immediately (smoother, brighter, more refined skin). All in all a fairly good cleanser, not as effective when it comes to brightening as Likas Papaya (despite the addition of that Graperfuit) but an acceptable alternative, considering it's not a bar of skin-stripping soap! One major dislike as with all MB products is the packaging, I really find all of them very cheap and plain looking. I'd happily pay more for their products if they looked even half-appealing. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Lush' - Enzymion 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I've used this for a couple of months, but I haven't noticed any difference with my skin. Feels kinda clean, but I had really high expectations on this one.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I know it shouldn't matter but I hate the way this smells. It's a really thick cleanser too.

About reviewer (1038 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

So, in my twenty's I had terrible adult acne. I had no idea how to deal with it either, since I never suffered from acne as a teenager. It feels like I tried everything and it really did take me until my early 30's to figure out what worked for my skin, but through that terrible decade one of the few things that did help my skin was this cleanser. Knowing what I know now I think the reasons it helped my skin are twofold: 1.) it has a pH somewhere between 4-4.5, and 2.) it's mildly exfoliating. For me, the biggest breakthrough in controlling my acne has been eliminating anything with a pH above 5.5. It revolutionized my skin, so it makes perfect sense that this really helped my acne during a time when it was at it's worst. Ditto the exfoliation; even now that I use tretinoin I still have to use some chemical exfoliation to keep my skin happy. Personally, I love this cleanser. It's gentle, non-foaming, non-drying and works great for my skin. It is gently exfoliating, and if your skin is sensitive but you still want some chemical exfoliation this might be what you're looking for. But it's not going to remove makeup, or be a good cleanser for oily skin, so I can see where it just wouldn't work for some people.

About reviewer (688 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Other, Cool

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I tried using this cleanser after enjoying the glycolic cleanser and I prefer the glycolic. It smells nice but I feel like I need the foaming aspect otherwise it just feels greasy and like I’m rubbing in lotion. I use this on mornings where my face feels dry and like I don’t need to do a full scrub in the am. I don’t think it would work well with removing heavy makeup.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Love love love this baby! For a dry skin girl like me I hate foamy cleansers which are super drying and my skin feels like sand paper till I moisturize. This is by far one of the best gel cleansers i’ve used not too mild, not too harsh just perfect. I use bioderma micellar solution to remove most of my makeup followed by this cleanser and my skin is squeaky clean. u could use the Clarisonic Mia 2 for added benefits. I’ve also noticed a glow in my complexion and the tiny pores around my nose almost seem non-existent. 10/10 would recommend for all the dry skin ladies.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Earthy scent. Green gel that does not foam. Gentle exfoliator. Rinses clean. Not drying. I use this in the morning. Honestly, I’m not sure how anyone uses a cleanser only to remove makeup, but you’d need a harsher cleanser to remove makeup. I’m not a fan of foaming cleansers, so if you are this is not it. Cleansers shouldn’t be stripping the life out of your skin, so if that’s what you want, this isn’t it. Last, you should be using moisturizer after cleaning your skin. Like all the time. You may need something after this, I use something light, but it also depends on the weather. This cleanser has all the qualities I want in a cleanser (non-foaming, gentle, mild exfoliator, not drying) so I would recommend it. Once again, it’s not for everyone, so I’d recommend getting the travel size or buying from Ulta where you can return it.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Dark

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Smells like earth/herbs. This cleanser is great for people with good skin. It makes my skin soft and glowy but it's too gentle for my combination skin, I need something that REALLY cleans my face. It's still a good cleanser but probably not for me, at least not right now. This is not meant for removing makeup, you have to remove your makeup first and then use this cleanser. You should do that with ALL cleansers, not just this..

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Maybe the worst cleanser I've ever used. It doesn't remove makeup. When I use toner afterwards, tons of dirt/makeup is on the pad. On top of that, it feels the skin leaving tight and dry! Without even cleansing it! And if I get it anywhere NEAR my eyes, they burn like crazy. Never experienced that with even the harshest bar soap. I'm mad I spent anything on this but luckily it was the mini bottle at an Ulta sale.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This cleanser smells really bad and once I washed my face it stayed on my skin. It also did not make my skin feel clean.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us