4.6

Created with Sketch.
95 reviews
91%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range
$19.99 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This is great as a winter time moisturizer, and for the face it's a great deal. I can also use it sparingly in the daytime as it's pretty thick. I like the ingredients (niacinamide) and the lack of fragrance.

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Like the texture. No fragrance which is a plus.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

genius skin product! i use it as a night cream and it's very smoothing, my skin is extremely soft the next morning after applying it before bed. i have also tried the la roche posay lipikar fluide, which is a lot more sticky in its consistency (due to glycerin) and not as emollient and moisturising as the balm. considering the great quality i would consider the price of this product reasonable.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 months ago

The version now is the AP Lipikar Baum +. I am sad to give this a 2 because I really hoped this could replace cortisone. Areas around my nose, chin and at the corners of my mouth always have these white flakes when I am in a closed, dry, air conditioned room, which is most of the time. At its worst, it gets very itchy and angry. This won’t work when the skin is dry, broken, flaky, irritated and red. It made it more itchy that I had to wipe it off after a minute of application! However when my skin does get better (not red and irritated), I do find it helps in reducing the embarassing white areas and probably protecting the other areas from getting irritated. So I guess it’s claim to “space out flare-up” really means just that, but it won’t improve a bad condition. It also makes a good primer under my Nars Sheer but I won’t repurchase again because for that price, it would be better to continue my search for a hydrating moisturizer that saves time.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have atopic eczema which tends to break out around my eyes, cheekbones and temples, as well as on other areas on my body. Sometimes a cortisone cream helps, but since all the cortisone creams I've used explicitly states "DO NOT USE AROUND EYES" I've been a bit stumped about what to do about my dry, red, itchy skin in the eye area. After trying quite a few different face creams, I found Lipikar Baum AP and decided to give it a try. My first reaction was that it sort of stinged my skin in the areas where my skin is very thin, i.e. around the eyes and temple. It felt like it was irritating my eczema ridden skin. This sensation didn't last long however, some minutes after application my skin was back to it's normal, eczema ridden self. A few days after using Lipikar Baum AP every morning and night, I started to notice that my eczema was getting better. The areas with eczema was a bit smaller, less red, less irritated. After a few weeks, my eczema wasn't bothering me during the day anymore, it only began to itch up in the evening (before I applied a new layer of the creme). 5 or 6 months later, my eczema around the eyes had vanished completely! I've now used Lipikar Baum AP daily for about a year and couldn't be more happy about this product. I've gone from not being able to use any fancy skin product or makeup, to being able to layer in serums, use concealer around my eyes, trying sheet masks, and more. I still get eczema breakouts now and then, but they are easily beaten by just continuing to use Lipikar Baum AP, sometimes using cortison cream in the evenings for a few days. I had an eczema patch on my left temple that wouldn't go away no matter what, but after using this product for about a year, even that is gone. Conclusion: This product has worked wonders for me. I feel that it has really healed my skin. It seems to work better and better the longer I use it as well, so I'll be sticking to it for a long time.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It's been just 10 days that I'm using this product but I think it's the time to write a review and say:this is a miracle product! Let's first talk about my skin problem.I used to have superdry and flakey skin,so much that I couldn't wear any foundation,or even BB cream.I started to look after my skin more and my problem was solved after a year of religiously using skincare products even my skin type changed to normal.last month I decided to try Nivea Soft moisturizing cream even though I had a trusted moisturizer that worked for me perfectly(Yves Rocher Hydra Végétal 24 H),after just a few times of using Nivea Soft my skin broke out badly.I used acne treatment and a face wash that contained salicylic acid just twice and that was enough to make my Atopic Eczema come back! acnes were healing by themselve but my skin's Eczema was worsening.my skin was as dry as sandpaper,red,itchy,flakey and stinged.I couldn't use foundation again.none of my moisturizing products worked,even the ones that seemed to be very effective in past.I used homemade masks(honey+rice flour+whipped cream+turmeric+cinnamon) but they left my skin even more red and sensitive.I bought whatever any one suggested me but they could only keep my skin moisturized for an hour or two and couldn't help with itch and redness.I couldn't believe my beautiful,glowy,clear,normal skin has transformed to such a superdry,flakey,red mess with numerous acne scars.it was almost causing a depression.but my husband encouraged me to search more.there must be something effective. I knew nothing about La Roche Posay until I read about it in a forum,someone said this brand has good products for sensitive skin.I started to search in my trusted MUA and read reviews of LRP products and finally decided that Lipikar Baume AP seems to be the right one for me and I ordered a 400 mil which was priced 16$ in a discount(I also ordered Toleriane Derm Cleanser which I thought is a face wash by mistake,but that's another review's story) when I first applied Lipikar Baume I was very hesitant to continue using it.it was very rich,felt heavy and looked greasy on my skin for hours.I thought it may worsen my Acne or cause a new breakout and thought it must be just good for body.I checked LRP website to see if it's only a body product and saw that it's also for face I stopped using my other skincare products such as toner and serum.just washed my skin once a day with Yves Rocher Nutritive Rich Gel(then bought La Roche Posay Lipikar Lavent Gel) and applied Lipikar Baum three times a day even though it's written in it's site that use it once a day.I had to even stop using my favorite eye cream(Oriflame Even Out Eye Cream),I love that eye treatment and had used three tubes of it without any problem but now my eyelids were also suffering from Eczema and it made them sting.I had no choice but to put Lipikar Baum on my upper lid which was so dry and flakey and above my cheekbone close to my eye which had itchy dry patches.I was sure it's going to cause milia but I was ready to do anything to relieve from Eczema's itch and pain Results after 10 days: My skin isn't itchy,stingy and flakey anymore(I had to use 7th Heaven Strawberry Cream face mask once to remove all that flakes,but other than that Lipikar Baume and my face wash were the only thing I used in the past 10 days),it didn't cause any breakouts,my acne is completely gone and there's not much acne scar left.I feel even my old acne scars have faded! I feel a little tightness after washing my face but it immediately goes away after using the Baume.there's still a hint of redness on my cheeks but it's very mild and is more like a soft pink flush.my skin isn't superdry anymore,it's like a normal dry(if it makes any sense!) even when I don't use Lipikar Baume.all in all my skin looks young and healthy again.I haven't tried wearing makeup yet but I guess I can wear foundations without any problems.it also didn't cause any milia or any irritations to my eye area.the Eczema of my lids is completely cured and I think I can start using normal eye products.call me crazy but I feel my eyebrows are fuller now(yes,I had to use it even on my eyebrows!).Lipikar Baume AP was a life saver for me and I owe it to you dear MUA members About the packaging I like that it's a pump but I don't like that I can't see the amount of product inside it.it's pump can be locked by twisting it so I can call it travel friendly(although it's HUGE!) but I wish there was a something to cover the hole that product comes out of it,so it wouldn't be in contact with air(like the one that Bioderma Atoderm Creme has) another plus is that it's scentless I love this product and I'm going to continue using it,still I think 400mil is a lot to finish in 6 months so I wish it's shelf life wasn't that short.now I want to order some other La Roche Posay products,probably Lipikar Face Wash Gel(unfortunately Lipikar Syndet isn't available here),Toleriane Ultra Fluid which I can also use as eye contour or Lipikar Fluid which seems to be a good daily moisturizer Edit: I'm updating my review as if it's not long enough :D Still LOVE this product.still use it as a part of my night skincare routine even though I don't have Eczema anymore.first I wash my face with Lipikar Gel Lavant or Uriage Xemose Cleansing Soothing Oil,then I apply Vichy 89 Mineral(to my whole face and around eyes),wait for half an hour and then apply my beloved Lipikar Baume to my face(I don't put it around my eyes anymore but I use it as lip treatment and body lotion),and I use Sesderma K-Vit Anti-dark circle serum as my eye treat and that's it. Eventhough my skin looks shiney,I don't feel Lipikar Baume feels heavy or makes my skin greasy(but I'm used to very rich nourishing creams),when I wakeup in the morning there's no sign of dryness on my skin.it's just soft and happy If my skin type transforms to a less dry condition,I will probably use a less rich,lighter moisturizer but fo

About reviewer (202 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Calming for my dry skin. Really helped me when my skin turns itchy

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Yes it is greasy and feels like it doesn’t get fully absorbed if you put too much, but it works. It softens skin and also soothes both my toddlers and husbands eczema! A little goes a long way. Yes, mineral oil is one of the main ingredients, but that doesn’t bother me too much. I do like it during dryer months, however my favourite is Cetaphil Restoraderm

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Irritates my skin a lot! Wanted to use it under foundation (after seeing the Lisa Eldridge video) but its the worst. Makes my skin red and itchy (and thus very unsuitable for foundation) Too bad:(

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

My elderly mother in law began scratching herself to the point where she was drawing blood and leaving scabs where she'd scratched that would itch so she'd scratch them off, leading to more bleeding, scratching, bleeding, scratching - it was a vicious cycle. Her doctor was reluctant to have her on any sort of cortisone cream for too long, given how thin and fragile her skin already is. We'd been through several types of creams to bring her some relief - Gold Bond, Gold Bond Anti Itch, etc. - but as she still lives somewhat independently, part of the problem was just ensuring that she was using these creams frequently (which she wasn't doing). I've long been a fan of LRP products and we'd used the regular Lipikar balm with excellent results with my younger son when he was little and would develop eczema during the winter months. So I combed through all the LRP creams now available and found this AP version that claims to help relieve itching. It WORKED!!!! She's been using this regularly (which is likely a large part of the success) and it has helped relieve the itching and it seems to be breaking the whole itch/scratch/itch cycle. Based on how well this worked, I've purchased a tube for myself to use during the cold, drying winter months. For such a rich cream, it applies easily and sinks into the skin on my legs really well.

About reviewer (1495 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us