4.3

Created with Sketch.
474 reviews
86%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I have settled on this shampoo after buying MANY others $$$ with promises, etc. Alll I want is a shampoo to NOT strip my hair, clean and rinse out easily and remove other hair products: mousses, sprays, etc. This shampoo WORKS for me, and it is very inexpensive. I know because it is so cheap you may not consider this, but it is worth it, SO worth it. It cleanses my hair of build-up/products, rinses out easily and gives you a fresh start without a problem with no dryness or frying your hair. It has worked for me for decades!! I won't try another shampoo ever. Worth a try gals, believe me. ( I have fragile fine highlighted hair and use volumizing products and spray, BTW.) Best to you.

About reviewer (73 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel



1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

So this is really cheap shampoo, which is fine, but the product quality also seems to be very cheap. This didn't clean my hair and seemed to leave its own film behind as well. It also didn't lather very much, which wouldn't be very important if it worked well for clarifying. I definitely don't recommend this.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBrown

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Literally THE most inexpensive shampoo I've ever used and I loved it right up until...my hair started to snap as though I'd had a strong reaction to chemicals! It had to be the SLS and combination of other ingredients (SLS on its own has never produced such a reaction in my hair). I also used it over a longer period than any other shampoo I've used before (nearly a year). The good points about it were it cleansed my oily-roots, coarse hair really well, and initially my locks were pretty soft too. I had no build-up, which I get with a lot of shampoos that don't truly get rid of the gunk: gels and styling creams we subject our hair to. I actually considered it my HG (shock horror!). But then my hair started to feel dried out and not its normal self, the frizz went up to a whole new level and eventually it was snapping every time I brushed my hair. I didn't latch on at first, putting it down to a change in water: from hard to soft as I'd moved home, but eventually it clicked. Never looked back since! I personally feel this is not a shampoo that will suit a lot of hair types - if used too regularly. Seems to work better when alternated with a more natural and conditioning shampoo rather than relying on just this alone. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Lush' - Enzymion 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

A little background on my hair type: 4a, fine, low-medium density, normal porosity. This is literally the best hair product I've ever used in my life! I'm in love with it because it makes my hair SUPER soft after washing and drying, with no added product. I didn't even know my hair could get this soft. I am also in love with how my hair is literally squeaky clean, silky, and smooth as I rinse it out (tbh I found it so surprising that a shampoo could do this that I have suspected this of having cones in it, but no cones where anywhere to be found). It also feels like my hair is literally able to take in a lot of the water from the rinsing, allowing it become moisturized. I can feel my hair expanding and becoming full. This shampoo also lathers up very easily, so you only need a small amount to get a good lather. The price and size for this product is unbeatable! It's 30 oz but only costs two dollars. This stuff lasts me years and it's the only shampoo I use. Apparently, this formulation is supposed to have a scent to it but I've never been able to smell anything while using this. So as far as cleanliness, moisture, price, and size, no other shampoo beatd it. It even beats any conditioner, leave-in, moisturizer, etc I've ever used as those have never resulted in my hair feel as soft and conditioner as this shampoo, which is just unbelievable to me! I've spent money throughout the years on conditioners trying to achieve soft, moisturized hair, little did I know I only needed a really good shampoo and bit of leave in all this time!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I used to use this all of the time* and I don't know why I stopped. Maybe because it's so inexpensive, I thought I could do better if I paid more. I'd been using Pantene Sheer Volume for the past 8 mths or so. My hair was feeling coated down to the scalp, dry, and frizzy. While I don't think the Pantene SV was the cause (or was it?), it certainly wasn't helping matters or clarifying very well. I used this today and, finally, my hair feels clean and full again. I also noticed that I could use it without monitoring the amount as carefully, to prevent getting that overstripped feeling like I would with the Pantene SV. (* The shampoo I just bought is light blue and not clear like the one pictured here. "Waterfall mist" is now absent on the label, and it says "Essentials Daily Clarifying" but the color, consistency and scent are identical to what I used to use. And even if it isn't the same exact product, relabeled- no matter, the performance is the same.) I would give this 5 stars but the scent of the the Essentials Daily Clarifying blue version is just ok-- it sort of smells like fresh laundry. It's not terrible, but it is fairly strongly scented and not my personal preference. (I like coconut/tropical/fruit scents). Next time I'll buy the (presumably unscented?) clear version.

About reviewer (180 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this shampoo!!! My hair is very fine, but there's a lot of it, and it gets sweaty and dirty easily with my job. This cut through all of the dirt and grime to make my hair feel soft again. I actually would use this everyday and it never dried out my hair. The biggest selling point for my was how long the bottle lasted. I started using it almost everyday since August 2017, and I just used it up this week - January 2019. Wow! Since I only paid like $2 for this huge bottle, I feel like it definitely was a great value. I would definitely buy this again, because I can always find a Wal-Mart to buy some when traveling.

About reviewer (462 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Very nice clarifying shampoo for daily use and quite affordable.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Daily clarifying shampoo sounds a bit counterintuitive to me because these should be used only once a week. It strips off the residue fairly well on my hair. I can imagine using this daily will surely dry out one's hair.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've used a few shampoos in my day (high end,low end, and everything in between). I never buy the same thing twice. Since using this shampoo my husband has told me five times that my hair is shiny and "glowing". I have damaged blonde hair. My hair does not shine or glow, even with "shine sprays". Looks like I'll be buying the same shampoo twice.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This clarified my dry fine long highlighted hair. However, my hair was dried out and a rats next of tangles even after using my regular hydrating repair conditioner by SOMA. If you have dry, tangle prone hair, I would avoid this shampoo. I have tried Prell in the past with good results.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone

HairBlond

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us