3.8

Created with Sketch.
46 reviews
78%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I am very happy to have found this shampoo and its been under my nose this entire time. Admittedly, I am not a huge fan of Suave but that has now changed. Hair type is super fine, in need of some henna and a real haircut but otherwise not damaged at all. I purposely cut my hair just below my shoulders because it gets stringy when I grow it longer without henna use and it has been a year. My hair is fine and had gone completely flat. I haven't been able to order my natural shampoos for a while due to finances and started trying everything in the grocery store to find an alternative that wouldn't make my hair a greasy mess. So I decided to try this from the 99 cent store on a whim because everything besides VO5 was weighing my hair down and making it stringy. Even VO5 started to make my hair stringy. I decided to give myself a trim and switch to this shampoo. Very surprisingly my hair was filled with a lot of volume after blow drying, super clean and the lather was very rich and cleansing. My hair didn't feel like a helmet sticking to my head, it felt like it was full of bubbles for once while I was lathering it in my hair. My hair doesn't hold a curl at all and is stick straight but this gave my hair a bit of texture so the round brush gave me a nice wave at the bottom with the blow dryer. Hands down the best inexpensive shampoo and beats tons of more expensive ones I've tried. I really needed this, it totally clarified my hair and removed all other products. Did not leave my hair tangled or dry either. The smell is nice, nothing offensive or too strong. It has been a few washes now with this shampoo and it is still giving the same results.

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have very short, bleached hair and thought this shampoo would dry it out. It's actually very smoothing to my hair but doesn't weigh it down as it has a gel consistency instead of a cream consistency which can suffocate the scalp. I used to use the Suave Professional shampoos that would really coat and weigh my hair down. This essentials line is so great especially as every scent is very fresh smelling. For the price of 98 cents this shampoo is a steal.

About reviewer (423 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've been using this shampoo for about three months now and I like it even more now than when I first started using it. I like most shampoos for about the first three uses and then my hair seems to rebel and starts with its static, dryness, and flyaways. I started out loving this shampoo but thought it would probably be temporary like all the others I've tried, but I've been pleasantly surprised. Using the shampoo along with its matching conditioner daily, leaves my hair shiny, smooth, and manageable. The smell is great...just like the name says, "Juicy Green Apple." I love the fact that this particular scent comes in the 12 ounce bottles instead of only the huge family size like most of the Suave Essentials. I have trouble handling those huge bottles in the shower. And I can throw these smaller bottles in my shower caddy that I take camping. I love that I don't have to pour them into smaller containers before camping trips. Overall, for a cheap, easy-to-find drugstore brand of shampoo, this one can't be beat for its performance and scent. 5/30/18 I still use this shampoo and still love it. I don't even have to use the conditioner anymore now that I have a shorter (chin-length) haircut. My hair is left shiny and manageable.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I typically use Suave Clarifying and wanted an alternative so my hair wouldn't get too used to one or the other, thinking this would be a choice that wouldn't make me oily, just clean. This dried out my hair immediately and today my scalp is itchy and my flair is flat. I have a pretty oily scalp so that takes some doing. The smell is plastic-y and gross, like the scent of apples in cheap drugstore "sour apple"-flavored candy, so I wouldn't buy for fragrance either.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This and the clarifying one are my besties. I wish they came in HUGE bottles but I'm fine with what I get. So what do I get? Clean hair, clear scalp, decent lather, pleasant fragrance(s) and at a shamefully dirt cheap cost. The apple isn't sold at every store but it's still easy to find. Perfect with the apple detangler and any Garnier leave-in since that line is based on citrus scents. This is a keeper for sure!

About reviewer (60 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I bought it when i was in nyc for vacation last christmas.i got the family size and chose the apple scent which is my fav scent.it was very cheap and smelling good so i didn't hesitate to buy and try.i am glad that i've bought the family size cuz i love this shampoo so much and i took it to my home.it smells like fresh cut apples, so refreshing and makes me really happy.for my oily hair it worked great.it cleans the hair deeply in a squeaky way.left my hair shiny and control my scalp to getting greasy quickly.my hair felt so light and clean longer and left my hair sooo shiny like ice shine not like silicone based product shine.for oily hair it works most ,but for the other hair types it can be clarifying shampoo as well.scent could be more strong i'd prefer it would linger on my hair longer but thats ok.now my bottle has finished completely and it's hard to find suave shampoos in europe.if it would be sell in europe i would def buy over and over again and try all the other scents.

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is a great, clarifying shampoo, especially considering the price! It smells yummy, creates a nice lather, and leaves my hair feeling soft and clean. It's great for product buildup or greasy hair. I find it to be gentle enough to not dry out my hair, though I always use a conditioner with it. Also, I try to wash every other day but sometimes use it everyday. Definitely a great, inexpensive shampoo that works!

About reviewer (286 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Great price, cleans well, doesn't leave gunk behind, and can be used as a body wash. Much better cleanser than the Waterfall version, which I can use to shave my legs. This goes well with the apple detangler. My hair is clean, fluffy and clarified afterward. I recommend for daily use or to clear your scalp of styling junk. I think every Suave Natural is different and this one seems to suit my hair nicely. I have dark, shoulder-length, wavy hair that I like to stay cleaner longer. I get that result with this shampoo. EDIT: The more I use this, the better my hair feels. I combine it with Neutrogena Anti-Residue shampoo and the result is just great. Clean, light, abundant waves that the stylist just told me looks thicker than usual. I didn't tell her I've been using Suave. I'd get a lecture. :)

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

So my old shampoo was giving me some hair loss and then I tried this I thought its so simple and says natural so I thought it would lightly wash my hair and even my aunt said its so delicate and just runs through your hair gently cleans it but it actually made my hair loss worse which was shocking I never had such a problem before with any shampoo and my hair doesn't even feel clean afterwards so I'm quite disappointed

About reviewer (9 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

This shampoo really doesn't do anything amazing for my hair but I LOVE the way it smells. I would always feel happy when my mom bought me the bright green bottle at the grocery store when I was a kid. It isn't AS drying as some other of the sauve shampoos, but it still doesn't do any magic tricks for my long hair. I still buy a bottle, like once every 2 years, just to enjoy the smell. Very ultra basic shampoo, very average overall.

About reviewer (147 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us