3.7

Created with Sketch.
97 reviews
70%
would repurchase
3.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

As a day moisturizer, Helena is value for money and very hydrating.

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Nostalgia factor is high for me, as we were tight for money growing up, and this little jar took care of dry hands and feet while smelling really good (like tropical coconut tanning oil). It’s so rich that it’s even a good lip treatment, although you have to wait a few minutes for the whitish residue to absorb. One 4-ounce jar lasts forever. This has a different texture than the Palmers solid formula in the jar, which is hard and waxy. Queen Helene is a more spreadable cream, though every bit as rich. The first ingredient in Queen Helene is mineral oil, then water, then beeswax— so its claim of being “non-greasy” is laughable. It also contains lanolin, so be warned if you have a lanolin allergy. Cocoa butter is like the 6th ingredient. All in all, this is a very basic, pleasant-smelling, super-rich cream for very dry skin areas. I do use it as a night cream on my face in winter, but very sparingly. I can’t see it as a makeup base because of the grease factor. Are there more elegant products out there? Sure. But if you just want a moisture pack for parched skin that will whip it into shape after one application— you can’t get much cheaper or more effective than The Queen.

About reviewer (225 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a staple for me, even when it's not winter (I'm a biology major; I wash my hands a lot in the lab and it dries them out). I use it on pretty much my entire body except my face, as it is a bit greasy. I do, however, use it on my lips. I personally like the smell. I do think it would be better in a tube as opposed to the jar, but that's just for sanitation purposes. I have not tried Palmer's, so I cannot compare them, but I will definitely try it to see which one I like better!

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I found a jar of it for 2$ at family dollar. I was looking for something for my feet before flip flop season. I was also intrigued by the fact it says you can use it on your face. although it is pretty greasy, I did try it on my chin where I have a breakout that won't go away and has gotten super dry from spot treating. while it hasn't helped it go away any f aster, it has helped relieve the dryness. I am a tad greasy in the morning but a little simple micellar water fixes that. as far as using it on your body, I recommend using it before bed because it takes a while to absorb, but the next morning my skin in healthy and smooth and that's really all I can ask for. I know there are a lot of complaints about the smell, but I personally love it and it doesn't last long. for the price, I am happy. hopefully it stays not breaking me out and I can keep using it.

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is for the Queen Helene Cocoa Butter Face+Body Creme. Same packaging, just a new look. The cocoa butter is very moisturizing which is great for someone who has very dry skin. I happen to love the smell, but I can understand how others would disagree. It has more of a nutty coconut smell. It reminds me of the beach. It's subtle & it doesn't linger(at least I haven't noticed). A little goes a long way so the tube will last you a long time. Occasionally, I use it for my face, but I mostly just stick to using it on my body. All in all, I like it.

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Other

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Compared to palmers I am not impressed. I did not think it was very moisturizing and more lightweight than other cocoa butter creams I have tried. The scent was also ok but pretty generic smelling.

About reviewer (1078 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

this is my HG moisturizer! i've been using cocoa butter on my skin for years but i saw this at a beauty supply store for $5 and decided to try it. it's super thick and luxurious, and some would say a lil greasy but it feels and looks like you just used a body oil once you apply it. the smell is nutty but subtle, though i'd understand why some would not like it. i usually put it on every other day right before day and wake up with the softest, smoothest skin i've ever had. it works nicely on my face too but i do have pretty non-reactive skin so you'll need to patch test on your face first so you don't break out. as others have mentioned, the only fault is it's in a tub. it makes sense considering the type of product but still a lil yucky lol. all in all, a lovely product!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Dark, Warm

HairBrown, Kinky, Coarse

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

This product gave me TERRIBLE hives. I used it a couple times before they started, but now I have itching, burning red hives all over my arms, legs, and torso less than a week after my first use. Hoping I can get a refund.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Goodbye, raggedy cucticles and alligator elbows! This works great for cracked, rough and sore skin. (The first ingredients are: mineral oil, water, beeswax, and paraffin.) Make no mistake, this is not lightweight lotion-- it is a thick and heavy balm. I have to warm it up, slather it on, and rub, rub, rub it in. BUT it is WORTH IT! I am left with contented, glowing, and protected skin for hours. Once it is dry, the finish is like an oil. Smooth and sheeny, but not sticky. The smell: I avoided this for a really long time because of the chocolatey/nutty scent. I personally don't like dessert-like scents, but once worked into the skin, on me at least, this changes to a mild "warm and cozy" fragrance. It does smell sweeter on my mom though...Test it out maybe? If you are like me and really like a thick cream for your hands before bed, you simply must try this! FYI: although this is labed for face as well as body, I have never tried it as a moisturizer. Just hand and body!

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesGray


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

May as well just buy a tub of Vaseline and use that instead. This product smells o.k but does NOTHING to moisturize the skin. I have dry skin and this just sat on top of my skin. I'm just glad it was cheap as I bought the mini version. Straight into the trash it goes.

About reviewer (375 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Dark, Cool

HairBlack, Kinky, Coarse

EyesBrown