3.6

Created with Sketch.
22 reviews
55%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range
$38.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Makeup slides off my face when I use this, and it gives a white cast on my nc30ish skin. I’m glad I got this as a sample, because into the trash it goes.

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Meh. Although I've brought it twice I've come to realise it isn't all too great. On really raised spots I've noticed lately my concealer (liquid and powder) jus doesn't stay and so that means I HAVE to carry around concealer for topping up and its so annoying. I like that it blends in with my skin and keeps makeup in place on none heavily raised areas and smooths my nasty forhead texture, also, keeps my undereye area covered with makeup always with no tear streaks, which has given many setting powders a challenge since the skin texture of my undereyes is such a problem. It slightly makes dry patches more noticeable but not a huge deal its bare and my oily/sweaty skin doesn't make it turn cakey or anything. It hasn't made me break out I believe in the year(?) I've been using it which is obviously great. The packaging, messy. A lot of product gets out of the holes, I always inhale a lot when using a powder puff (I'll take 60% of this blame only) and I also lose a lot when trying to get it all back in the jar from the lid. I think if you're tryna jus keep costs low but need quality it's a great powder really and you may not even experience the annoying raised acne makeup disappearing issues I have had so it's worth giving a go.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I got a sample of this powder in my free birthday gift at Sephora and I love it! It makes my skin look smoother and makes my pores look smaller. I also noticed increased longevity of my foundation which is a plus! Will repurchase.

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I've tried SO many powders at all price ranges (except for La Mer). This is a solid one. It's nothing exceptional but it's good. I prefer to set my entire face with it excluding my under eyes. Unfortunately, it can look a bit heavy on the under eye area. It's translucent with a bit of a yellow undertone. I do think you can find cheaper powders that work just as well as this one. But if this is in your budget, I don't think you'll be disappointed. I haven't purchased anything from KVD since the vaccine controversy. and I'm not sure I will in the future. Which is a shame, since I quite like her brand. Pros: Smooths/blurs skin. Leaves skin matte but doesn't look cakey or dry. Extends makeup wear time like most powders do. Cons: Not great for the under eye area. Like I said I don't think I'll repurchase, but this is a decent powder.

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

This setting powder did not control oil that well throughout the day. After 2-3 hours my skin was getting shiny and after that, it was too greasy looking. I would blot but it would soon return. If this did help control my oily skin then I would definitely repurchase because I love that it was truly translucent on my skin. I really appreciated that it did not leave a white cast the way all "translucent" powders seem to do on me. It actually blended in quite nicely and did not alter the color of my foundation but I found that my makeup did not look as flawless as it does with my Coty airspun powder. I also had to use a lot more product in order to really set my face. If you do not have oily skin then this powder may work better for you.

About reviewer (1078 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I bought a mini, that I'm having a hard time using up. I've tried quite a few setting powders (and keep going back to MAC Prep + Prime). I don't really like it under my eyes because it's too chunky, and I don't like it for my face because when I use it over liquid foundation, I want a silky finish, and this leaves my skin kinda damp - as if I hadn't applied powder. Generally, the powder is a little lumpy - a little like cocoa powder acts. It also acts like if it was damp when I use my brush over a few days without washing it - it clumps up on it (maybe this is meant to be used with a puff or sponge?). The texture makes it a little hard to distribute, compared to some of my other powders. I don't like that it gives a little bit of color either. I'm not dark - about NC25, but it lightens my foundation. My last complain is: it doesn't set my makeup well. I tested this in California, for about 2 months. From something named "Lock it", I would expect some really good setting properties, but this actually makes my undereyes crease and seems to clump together on my skin during the day, taking my foundation with it. Overall, the only thing I like about it is the packaging. I have many other things: NYX, Hard Candy, Ulta (NOT the mineral setting powder) and other, much cheaper powders that perform better than this. Another powder that is very similar to this is the CoverFX Perfect Setting Powder. I don't like that one either, but if someone likes the Kat Von D one, but the color doesn't work for their skin, CoverFX have different colors available.

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I'm not a huge fan of setting powders as they tend to make my skin look dry and flat. however, I was surprised at how my skin looked with this powder, especially my under eye concealer. I can't say I've had no creasing at all, as it simply is not the case, however I did notice a significant improvement in the longevity and overall appearance of my concealer. (Also I like to drench my skin in moisture, as well as ignoring my primer, so that may contribute to the creasing). My t-zone does tend to need a couple of powderings throughout the day, but I live in a Mediterranean climat and it's summer, so my spf and the humidity can be to blame too. All in all, I'm pleased, I use it every day, I got the travel size from sephora for 16 euros and I've been using it for a month and probably have about 85% of the product left so I definitely do recommend trying it out. It is superior to other powders as it is the only one that doesn't enhance dryness, despite mattifying and adds a certain luminosity

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have tried Laura Mercier and this one and for some reason I like this one better. I have both and I always go for this one, it just looks better on my skin. I am not sure it actually sets the makeup, but I guess I do notice my makeup stays on a bit longer if I apply this.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Kinky, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am a HUGE fan of this powder. It left my face looking so smooth and poreless. I used it to set my under eye concealer and t-zone, and I was matte and flawless looking all day long!

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan

HairOther

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Gododokd

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.