3.8

Created with Sketch.
17 reviews
71%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I really love this primer, have just bought my second tube. Actually i use it by itself (i prefer the dior 3d primer for actual primer action lol) but its absolutely wonderful as a daytime mascara! It doesnt clump or smudge and curls and holds it beautifully. There isnt much more i could add about it that other people havent already, i just like it so much I wanted to say so! Ive tried it as a primer, its allllright but as I say I think there are better primers out there such as the white dior primer if you are looking for that false lash effect. I like Little black primer as a mascara in its own right as its so easy to put on, and i dont need to put alot to get the length and volume i want..my lashes just look long, defined and still natural. It does have a similar looking effect to the benefit theyre real primer, however obviously its black instead of brown, and i found benefits’ primer smudged terribly after a couple of hours of wear. Estee lauder doesnt move at all! However that brings me to the only downside if i have to be really picky.. its a little harder to remove than other primers/mascaras ive tried. Still, as its so hard working and long lasting, making a little effort of my own to remove it at the end of the day is not a huge issue for me. Probably also depends on what kind of remover you are using... In summary - if you are looking for an amazing primer that gives you lashes to your eyebrows - probably pass on this one, there are better ones. However if you are looking for a light elegant mascara that will enhance your natural eyelashes and stay where its supposed to be all day - go for it! I love it!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGray



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

HG! This is an excellent primer for my lashes! I can wear it on its own for a natural, but defined, look that will not budge no matter how much sweat and/or water you throw at it. I also use it underneath Pure Color Envy Lash WP if I want dramatic volume and this combination really gives me the biggest & baddest lashes ever. I will not be without this ever again :).

About reviewer (446 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Coarse

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Great worn on its own!! I wear this as my day time mascara, it seperates and darken lashes to give a natural look without irritating my eyes. Its quick and easy to remove with a cottonwool pad and eye makeup remover. My lashes are long from using revitalash serum so they only need a quick coat of this primer to make them stand out as my lashes are fair. I only came across this primer when I got it as part if a set with the mascara at Xmas, I wasnt mad on the mascara and when I applied it over the mascara it went slightly lumpy. Update Love this this have now ordered my 2nd one, doesnt irritate my eyes at all and its easy to remove or doesnt matter if you forget, no panda eyes! If I wear mascara I use Lancome hypnose its unbelieveable no clumping at all.

About reviewer (75 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I do not see anything that this does for me. It does not add volume, which was my main hope, and it does not add length. What can I say about this..? The brush is a natural-bristle of brush, the brush is quite thin/skinny, and is a bit long. The formula to me seems quite dry. Really no issues with gobs nor blobs of mascara on the brush. But this just 'does nothing' for me. You need to have a lot of patience with this, as each coat applied is very thin. I guess if this ends up not working for you, either, this could be used as a nice natural-type of mascara, the 'no makeup look' type of look. I get no clumping with this. But I can't rate this much higher because for me, this does not deliver what is/was expected. A lot of work for basically no "results". I will keep this and use this as a natural-type mascara, but very disappointed that this does not 'add' anything. I get better results with just an additional coat of whatever mascara I am currently using. But as a 'primer,' this does nothing but add a very, very thin, barely noticeable coat of mascara (and even with 2 or 3 coats). Maybe I got a bad tube, but as a "primer," this is a major pass for me. No eye irritation, though, I do not wear contacts, but I have sensitive eyes.And oddly enough, even though this is a thin formula, this is a little tricky for me to remove (the couple of days that I only used this alone, as a 'natural' look mascara). But I had high hopes for this, this is the first black mascara primer that I am aware of. Maybe one of these years someone will create one that works for me and that I will love. But this one is not it.

About reviewer (686 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I don't use this as a primer as it isn't very good however, I use it to set my mascara and it's brilliant. No matter what mascara I use I end up with it all smudged under my eyes, this ensures it stays on my eyelashes I love it. I'm on my third tube and will repurchase again and again.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

First day experience: great tint with lengthening and fanning effect. I am very happy with it on its own for a long, curled look. I applied it to one eye and used estee lauder's sumptuous extreme mascara, lovely long wispy effect. Initially I felt a bit as if there was light itch or a lash was curled in. I closed my eyes for a few seconds and it was gone! I tried Bobbi Brown open eye mascara on the other eye and it was good but not as impressive. A little time later.. Bobbi side was flat and droopy and Estee side was still wispy and lovely.

About reviewer (88 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I wanted to love this product because I do appreciate a lash primer. I thought the black tint to this one was genius and Estee Lauder made it so I could I not like it? Quick description of my lashes, they are actually pretty long and full on their own but I really the the volume primer gives. Almost like a a false lash effect. I tried the primer 3 different days with 3 different mascaras. All 3 mascara are very good on their own but again, I really love that plush look. I tried it with: Josie Maran Black Oil-Which I LOVE! L'Oreal Telescopic-Which I really like close to love lol Stila's new mascara I think it's called Huge mascara-which I like This primer did not allow the mascaras listed above to give me what they typically would give me let alone some additional oomph as primers are supposed to help mascaras! instead after each application i noticed that my lashes looked too string like too separated/gapped. It was as if the Primer coated the lashes not allowing the mascaras to do their thing. Oh and lastly, lets talk about removing the product -_____- a total mess and just the weirdest feeling on my lashes like waxy. It was more work than I'd wanted to put into removing makeup... I really wanted this product to work, that's why I tried it with different mascaras. But it just didn't it for me. I returned this product right away. I'll stick to my white Dior and Lancome Primers!

About reviewer (198 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Amazing product! One of those types of things that you wouldn't know you needed until you had one :) I use this mainly on top of my regular mascara. I have very oily lids. My mascara rarely stays put, I usually have to wear something like Kanebo 38 C that doen't budge. But with the little black primer you can wear those mascaras you always wanted to wear and they won't smudge under your eyes! Love this!

About reviewer (162 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this primer however I don't agree with the idea that it gives your lashes any extra length! It works fantastically after mascara to keep it on all day, I had a huge problem with flaking no matter what mascara I used, I don't have that issue when I seal my mascara with this primer. If I "forget" to take my makeup off after a night out-we're all guilty of it okaaay- I don't wake up with panda eyes, impressiiiive! For that reason it is an absolute staple in my makeup routine!! I wouldn't use it by itself as I don't feel as though it makes much difference but if I use it before it gives a little more volume. Pros: Keeps your mascara on aaaall day and night with no flaking! Adds a little more volume! Cons: doesn't add any length!

About reviewer (19 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This works well as a lower lash mascara. It's good if you want just to bring out or emphasise your lower lashes without a clown effect. It also stays on well for hours in the hot and humid conditions of an Asian summer. I use it first on upper and lower lashes, then pile some other mascara on my upper lashes. If I have the time, I will add another coat to the upper lashes.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown