3.7

Created with Sketch.
15 reviews
66%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I’ve been a huge devotee of the Essie Gel Setter topcoat for years, and while I still love its performance, I do not love that it gets gloopy to the point of uselessness less than halfway through the bottle. I was gifted this topcoat (along with some Vinylux polishes) and I LOVE it. It applies so smoothly, with no dragging. It’s almost…sensual. The brush is the perfect width. It dries very quickly and my mani lasts for at least a week with no chipping. (My nails will chip sometimes, but only if they’re split/cracked on their own). Pedis last til I’m bored with the color. Tip wear is minimal. And I’m almost ¾ done with my bottle and it’s not gloopy yet. This works beautifully over all my regular polishes, but combined with the Vinylux ones, the whole situation is virtually bulletproof. I really love the polishes too. The formula, the wear, the application, the brush. Everything is so ergonomic. This will definitely be my new go-to brand. It’s a little pricey, but I can justify it since I’m saving so much money doing my own nails.

About reviewer (542 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Like many other reviewers, I just got this to use as a topcoat on my collection of assorted brand polishes, not with the Vinylux polishes as recommended. However, the issue that I have with it is one I can’t imagine being remedied by using it with the matching polishes. In short, it bubbles. Sigh. This topcoat has plenty going for it. It doesn’t have an overpowering chemical smell. The brush is of elegant design, one of the slightly wider models. Most importantly, it has done a good job preventing chips and wearing around the nail tip. It has good shine, though not as much as Seche Vite. But. It bubbles. Or at least it does on me. I find myself wondering if it’s just the particular bottle I have, because I have not noticed other reviewers here complaining of bubbles. I was torn between giving 2 or 3 lippies because, after a day or two, the little bubbles didn’t really seem all that noticeable. On the other hand, for the price(I paid $10.50 USD at Ulta), one should really expect better. Also, when I went to Sally’s a couple days later, they had mini bottles of Seche Vite so I picked up one of those to try. And so far, I like it better. Better shine(as previously noted), dries quicker, less expensive. And no bubbles. Too soon to say how well it prevents chips/wearing. If it does as well as Vinylux, then the Vinylux will definitely get returned. If not, then I may keep experimenting to see if I can get it to stop bubbling. If I have any luck, I will update this already overlong review ;) EDIT: I have applied this again and it isn’t getting bubbles anymore. Maybe just having it sit on the shelf for a few days allowed the bubbles to float to the top and disappear. I might still slightly prefer the Seche Vite since it’s a bit shinier and dries faster, but this is a good product with much to recommend about it. One additional observation about the brush. Not only is it a wider type, the edges are curved, unlike the squared off corners of your classic nail polish brush. I find this makes it much easier to apply the polish to the corners of my nails. I like it so much, I would even consider buying some of the nail polishes in this line, although it is more than I would normally pay for a color coat.

About reviewer (53 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

CND nailpolishes are one of the few kinds that actually last on my nails for a week or so. This is compared to the Formula X and nailsense gel polishes. I've found using this as a top coat adds to the life of other nailpolishes too!

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've discovered the holy grail of long lasting nails (I thought my only resort to long lasting manicures was the get gel ones done at the salon, which RUINS my already thin nails). With this top coat and Vinylux nail polishes, I seriously get OUT OF THIS WORLD lasting power with no chips, it's awesome. I've tried lots of "2 step systems" and 1 step all in ones (sally hansen 2 step gel manicure, the revlon 2 step gel ones, the wet n wild 1 step) etc, and NOTHING lasts as long and looks as flawless as Vinylux. Extemely happy Shoppers Drug Mart in canada carries the line now; I thought about ordering online before they carried it but never got around to it. Picking up a million more colours this week! Will literally be the only nail polishes I'll be using from now on.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I like this top a lot. Almost no bubbling and it's not too extremely shiny which I prefer. I change my nail polish often but I wore this for about 5 days with no chips or scratches.

About reviewer (293 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I don't understand why the reviews are bad. I haven't written a review in so long but after using this top coat for the past few months I needed to write one. I do my nails on Saturday morning every wk and it doesn't start to wear until Friday. And it stays super shiny all week. I couldn't live without it

About reviewer (305 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry

HairBlond

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

To be honest, I purchased this top coat to use over all of my polishes; I haven't used the Vinylux polishes, so that may make a difference in wear. It was just "okay." I didn't find it to be overly shiny, and for me it didn't help prevent chipping more than any other top coat.. It's also expensive at $10.50 per bottle. If I use a quick dry top coat over it, it will last a couple of days longer. I have tried other, cheaper top coats that are much shinier and last longer. As far as getting thick/gloopy that other reviewers have mentioned--this happens to many polishes as they are used and the bottle empties, especially polishes meant to be "gel type." Nail polish thinner is wonderful and solves the thickness and gloopiness. Thinner, NOT remover; remover will break down polish and wreck it.

About reviewer (203 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have a legitimate issue or two with the Vinylux top coat - and yes, I use the system as recommended by CND - and often can get 5 to 11 (yes 11) days of wear with minimal edgewear and no chipping IF - and only IF the top coat is fresh. Once you open it you MUST seal it and keep it way from air - it can get bubbly and gloopy and negatively affect/effect your mani. Be careful - pricey stuff - so use with care and you can get a truly long-lasting Vinylux manicure.

About reviewer (2432 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I chose this when i went in for a pedicure a few weeks ago, and while the nail polish hasn't chipped substantially, this scuffs like nothing else. There are so many white streaks on my toe nails which isn't something i usually suffer with, so i decided it must be this specific topcoat. If you're okay with taking an eraser to your toenail to rub off the scuffs every few days then go ahead, but ill stick to regular non-vinyl from now on.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

First let me be very clear: I do NOT use this as recommended. I do not use it with the Vinylux polishes. But, with regular polish, it gives me the most perfect, flawless, long-lasting home manicure I've ever had. I have trouble with polish (any polish/any topcoat) lasting more than 2-3 days on me without major chipping. I work full-time, do a lot of typing, and have regular household chores/life, so I can be hard on my nails. My nails are also currently (February 2018) in terrible condition due to wearing acrylics, dipped manicures & gel manicures for years, but I am trying to restore my natural nails & stick to regular manicures at home. With my current routine, I can easily get 4-5+ days out of a manicure. My routine is a strengthening base coat (favorites are Butter London Horsepower or Orly Nail Defense) - let dry, 1 THIN coat of ACI Gelous (Sally Beauty) - let dry 1-2 minutes, 2 thin coats of polish, let dry 3 minutes, then top with CND Vinylux top coat (even if not using Vinylux polishes). 6 minutes and the polish is mostly dry - it does take about another 30 minutes before it is fully "dent proof." With this method, my manicure will last up to 5-6 days with very minimal chipping. For me, this is completely unheard of. I do sometimes dry my nails under a regular lamp in my home to help cure the polish with the heat, and I've also occasionally used a UV lamp as well (this topcoat does harden more with UV exposure - you could also just go outdoors on a sunny day), but I don't think that is a necessary step. This topcoat does go on quite thick, and it "sets" very quickly, so you need to be careful with your application, but also work fast. It comes off easily with my non-acetone polish remover. This is not going to last as long as salon gels or give the same "pillowy" look, but if you have problems with polish lasting on you, I would strongly recommend trying out this topcoat.

About reviewer (512 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown