4.0

Created with Sketch.
36 reviews
75%
would repurchase
3.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I have this in a ‘oh so tiny and you’ll miss it’ sample pot which has lasted me ages. I feel that so many issues we have with make-up can often be put down to a matter of learning how to apply it. I use this very sparingly with a small brush (NOT a traditional big fluffy powder brush) on my T zone, setting make up under eyes and a general buffing all over to finish. It’s a lovely fine mulled texture that doesn’t interfere with foundation and if buffed in is long lasting with a little bit of shine on my forehead after a full day. As with all high priced make up; use it sparingly. Oddly enough, it has the popular hyaluronic ingredient in it which absorbs moisture to itself and it’s molecules are too big to pass into the skin layer so it will take the moisture from ‘somewhere’ so unless you live in an 80% humid climate (extreme tropical monsoon season), it will take the moisture from your skin (unless combined with other moisturising ingredients as in other products like moisturisers, etc) so it seems an odd choice to include in a powder. That being said, I don’t wear it daily and don’t find it particularly drying despite scientific logic. Give it a go.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen



4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Very smooth and did not dry my skin. Very surprise with the silky texture. After several use, somehow the powder does not feel hydrating. But I is still smooth and silky

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

The powder is finely milled, white and the only ingredients are silica and hyaluronic acid. A previous reviewer mentioned that it contained a potentially toxic ingredient. I’m happy to report that I can’t see that listed on the packet. The wording is in many languages, so I’m assuming there is simply one global version of this. Onto its effectiveness - it’s a delight on the T zone region of the face, making pores appear smaller and keeping oil at bay. It does whiten, so a little bronzer on top can remedy that in a flash. And talking of flashes, I have yet to see how this photographs, I have kept it away from my eye area having read here that it doesn’t perform well in photos if applied there. My concluding thoughts are it’s a fair amount to pay for silica. I use a hyaluronic serum anyway so I’m not sure how beneficial it is in a powder. One tip is when initially using is to only peel back the sealed paper from the first row of holes. That way, one can tap out a small portion into the lid rather than a flurry of silica dust! The pot is only 10g (0.35oz) - about the size of a powder puff, so it’s wise to unwrap carefully to preserve the contents for as long as possible. The container has a minimalist look with a matte black screw top lid that is very secure. There is no fragrance to it and no accompanying powder puff/brush.

About reviewer (149 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I'm wondering if they may have changed the formula as some of the older reviews seem more favorable. This powder was very pricey and I didn't care for it at all. Made my skin feel dry and makeup look chalky. It was a waste of money in my opinion.

About reviewer (231 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This product has been reformulated and now contains talc.While I dont hate talc at all some people are allergic to it so it was a good point to keep it talc free. The hyaluronic acid content is high cause it's the second ingredient Now the amount they giving you is ridiculous especially for the price!! Why this powder is owning a bad score is because it contains Methylisothiazolinone!!! This preservative is one if the worst!!they used it to replace parabens but it's way worse.In Europe it's banned in so many products except in shampoo and conditioner cause you're supposed to rinse it so the exposition is short Advertising the presence of hyaluronic acid when you're using such a bad ingredient is unacceptable!! Packaging is generic and not a reflection of this high price tag If you want a hyaluronic acid based powder buy it in a powder from any retailer and mix it with a regular white face powder like rcma

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Tan

HairBrown

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I bought this powder with the hope it would provide a blurring effect and set my m/u well. It did! But I broke out immediately from it. Within a few hours of putting it on. My skin is breakout prone so I have to be careful, but no skincare or makeup product has broken me out this quickly. So, if you are prone to breakouts beware!

About reviewer (140 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This looked dry and aged my under eye area so I didn’t like it and feel the hyluronic thing is a gimmick here. It also looks really white under the eye so you can’t use this for baking under the eye. That said, I don’t know why I thought I could use it for that and this shouldn’t be called a setting powder because it’s a silica powder. It’s literally just silica and hyluronic acid. It’s good for smoothing but you can’t set the face with it so it doesn’t help much since you have a layer of other powder under it so hyluronic acid doesn’t ever touch the skin. It’s also so white. I am super pale and it’s too white for me! I was disappointed with this. I had such high hopes but stick to Huda beauty powder since it isn’t drying.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairRed

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Great product. It blurs and it stays and looks amazing all on my matured skin which is the ultimate exercise field for a setting powder. The transparency is the extra inch or extra plus point in comparison to the it cosmetics bye bye pores which is yellow.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This outrageously expensive powder is just. so. good. I bought it on a splurge-y whim and almost immediately had buyer's remorse because who in their right mind pays USD$60 for powder? Well, apparently I do and I'm glad I did—the remorse ended the moment I dusted some of this magic onto my skin, and then HOLY MOLY, I was a convert. My skin is decent but also dry and mature. Powder can be tricky for me, but this stuff imparts the most beautiful velvety finish, never settles into my lines, never dries me out, and keeps my skin looking fresh and soft and lovely all day. Given these results, the pricetag no longer seems cruel. My only gripe is about the container, which is kind of crappy—but I'll live with it, because the product itself is the bomb. This powder is beautiful not only applied (lightly!) over foundation, but also dusted directly onto bare skin on foundation-free days. Ultimately, no matter how I use it, it makes my skin look gorgeous. I'd definitely repurchase but don't anticipate having to do so for a very long time—a little goes a looooong way.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairSilver, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I really love this powder for setting my face and especially the concealer under my eyes. It is very fine and not drying, and it won't look cakey or unnatural. However, I tried using it for baking the area under my eyes once and then I went out for a drink. The morning after when I looked at some flash photos from the night before, I was horrified to see that it looked like I had applied a thick layer of baking powder under my eyes. I would definitely recommend using a small amount of this with a puffy brush to set the face or illuminate certain areas, and then use another powder on top if you want to bake. Bottom line: Yes! This is an amazing powder to set makeup if you apply a small amount. You don't need much and it doesn't look cakey even in daylight. No! Do not use a large amount to set the area under your eyes if you are going out at night and there is a risk of someone taking a photo of you. PS: I checked the box that said I would repurchase this if I ran out simply because considering the small amount that is needed to set your face, I'm pretty sure I will never ever run out of product. I've had it for over a year, used it on and off, and it still looks full.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us