3.3

Created with Sketch.
375 reviews
57%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

21 days ago

This is my second time DIY colour at home using this product. I’m Asian who have 3 months of regrowth. I want to match it with my previously colour hair (medium brown). I used the shade 8A, medium ash blonde. Because my virgin hair is black, it’s only going to lift up several shades lighter so I know I’m not going to turn blonde like the picture guide. Overall I like the colour and the ease of application. Cons: hair feels a bit dry afterwards, moderate amount of falling out when washing/rinsing the colour (hence I give my hair a long break before I colour again), dye contains ammonia. My hair length is about my waist. I used 2 boxes at once. I tried with one in the past but not enough foam, hence patchy. I also left it about 1 hour post application while wearing a shower cap and giving it heat from time to time to help with absorption. I know my hair is very difficult to take in colour based on experience. I used to get colour professionally done and also had an issue of hair not absorbing the colour. So the methods above is what works for my hair.

About reviewer (116 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack



2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I purchased a red dye foam, it didn't turn out red. My roots turned orange and didn't even dye the rest of my hair. Like when the tell you don't worry about the color of rhe actual dye because your hair won't be that color..... Well mine turned out just like the color of the foam dye. Started with very dark brown hair.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I thought the packaging was very nice. The gloves were in their own little baggie and I liked the way the conditioner was packaged considering I have short hair and never need the whole thing. I LOVE the foam. That's the first time I have had a completely mess free dye job. HOWEVER, it didn't do as good a job covering my grays as cheaper dyes or Sally's dyes. Also, please do a patch test. I now know the importance of that as it burned the CRUD out of my neck. I mean it BURNED. I did well enough on the rest of my hair, but couldn't put it on the shaved parts at all. I won't buy again but by all means try it. just do a patch test first!

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I liked the concept of foam color. However that I felt it was a bit overpriced and dried out my hair. I have never experienced that with a hair color. I will not repurchase.

About reviewer (877 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I upped this from 1 to 3 since I'm obviously a glutton for punishment & I tried it again since it was basically free on clearance on shade 3vr which was deep cherry something. It was nice! It foamed really well, and the color was gorgeous multidimensional deep. Yes I still made a mess and it and the conditioner still stink. Idk I had a much better experience with this shade. Maybe inconsistent from shade to shade? That's all folks I usually like everything. That being said, this product did not work for me at all. I'm very experienced with color, professional and boxed, bleach, semi, Demi, permanent you name it. I guess this is supposed to infiltrate each individual strand for thick hair? And be easy, mess free? Well shade 5a did not foam. I mean yes it squeezed out as foam but instantly turned to shiny ammonia reeking shoe polish in my hair. It stained my skin and splashed about in my bathroom. This has never happened to me in 20 years. I rinsed it after 20 minutes and it was stark ash black. And very dull. So I vitamin c'd it out and it was like a greenish heinous striped color. I put arctic fox orange over it and just settled on being a redhead... kinda what I was trying to avoid with the ash. Oh and the conditioner it came with didn't smell good to me. On a positive note, the weird green stripes looked pretty with the ginger over it - it was very multitonal. I'll give it a star for being ashy alright. Oh and I have to give it at least one. :/

About reviewer (389 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Foam didn't foam at all. More like watery mouse, just melted into hair so very hard to tell where it had been applied. Was also so thin that I couldn't even "pile" my hair on my head. Flopped straight down splashing dye everywhere. Left my hair really crunchy with an oily texture even after triple rinsing and finally, the colour...what colour? Literally didn't change my colour. Like it didn't take at all. Was sceptical when the pack said your hair should look > < foamy. Ah well was only $20 so hopefully this greasy feel goes away and my hair will same as always:/

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I usually use Loreal Feria and dye my ashy brown hair a more reddish brown hue. I decided to change it up and try John Frieda hair dye because I love John Frieda products and I wanted to go a more auburn red-brown color. I tried John Frieda Precision Foam Color in Dark Red Brown. I was worried it would be too purple, but it didn't turn out purple-y at all. I am not 100% pleased with how it turned out, however. It's much more red at the roots than at the ends. The color did not take evenly, but I really like the color it dyed my hair. The foam is so easy to apply to the hair. The conditioner it comes with is really nice as well. Overall, it's pretty good. Similar to Loreal Feria in quality.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is the best at home hair color I have tried. I love that it foams and I don't totally destroy my bathroom when I'm coloring my hair.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This stuff is horrible! Yeah the color is perfect and it matches the color I get at the salon, but the applicator is crap! The liquid never fully foams up its half foam half liquid. The applicator drizzles color everywhere and the liquid just runs down your face. I have tried this twice and the mess it makes is not worth the price you pay for it!! Feria's foam applicator works way better and doesn't make a mess...and it's cheaper!! Save your money and buy Feria!!!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is the best drugstore at-home hair dye I've ever used. Prior to this I tried multiple types of Garnier and Revlon dyes (I was satisfied with Revlon Buttercream for a while until I got 2 boxes in a row that didn't take to my hair well at all.) I've never had any terrible reactions or experienced any nightmares with other brands, but the results weren't really that great either. I'd been wanting to try a dark brown with cherry undertones hair dye for a while and decided to get the John Frieda Precision Foam Color in the shade 3VR Deep Cherry Brown. The price was $12.99 at Ulta and I had a $3.00 coupon. I love the packaging to this. The fact that it's a foam is revolutionary and made it SO much easier to apply to my hair evenly. Usually no matter how careful I am I make somewhat of a mess on my sink/countertop whenever I'm dying my hair but not with this... it was super easy to use. The after color care conditioner that comes with this is really nice and actually comes in a small bottle instead of those awkward little packets you usually see in a boxed dye. When I got out of the shower I was immediately impressed. My white hairs are completely covered and there is no patchiness whatsoever... pure nice, even color. When my hair is dry now, it is a dark brown with burgundy undertones that are quite apparent in the sun or underneath bright light (which is exactly what I was wanting.) Before using this dye it was a faded dark brown. If you're still searching for that perfect boxed dye, definitely give this one a try. They have a selection of 28 shades so unless you're looking for something unnatural there's probably a color for you. I'll definitely repurchase in this shade and when I want something new will try a different one from the same line.

About reviewer (112 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown