4.4

Created with Sketch.
55 reviews
93%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

Absolutely works. My sister had bleached her hair and the hair pulled very yellow-orangey. She then used a toner, which ended up way too grey. I crushed 20 Vitamin C tablets in regular shampoo, added a little dish washing liquid (for extra stripping qualities), massaged into hair, let sit under a shower cap, checked every 20 minutes. After an hour, most of the grey had lifted. After she rinsed and blowdried there was still some grey left in the tips. We gave the tips another application, waited 45 minutes, and after rinsing, the hair was a cool toned blonde, only a little bit of yellow showing through which actually gave the hair a bit of dimension.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGray



4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

It does work. I had been dyeing my hair black for years, so I was pretty sure it wouldn't do anything. And of course afraid it would totally dry out my hair. My hair is naturally curly, fine, and pretty delicate. I didn't wash my hair for 4 days, same as before I dye it,so natural oils could protect my hair. Crushed about 30 pills with a spice grinder. And mixed it with suave volumizing shampoo. Wet my hair and applied and covered with a shower cap.I waited one hour and rinsed. I was immediately surprised that my hair didn't feel dry at all.I just shampooed and conditioned as I normally do.It dried and looked great! It was not a whole lot lighter, half a shade maybe. But had this great red tone I could see in sunlight.,definitely a pretty color. And thankfully no damage. My hair looked healthier than before. I will wait a while and try this again. Definitely worth a try.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Normally, I’m pretty skeptical of DIY methods, but this one is actually effective. I’ve tried it on semi-permanent, demi-permanent, and permanent dye, and it’s worked on all three. This is my go-to method when I don’t like how dark a dye job turned out. The most recent time I used it on black demi-permanent dye, and it lifted it to a warm light brown shade. Keep in mind that you will have definite warm tones in your hair after using this method, but I always prefer it to the shade I had before. First, I crush up roughly 50 vitamin C pills (500 mg). I try to grind it to as fine a powder as possible, but for some reason it still clumps up hopelessly when I add shampoo. That’s okay; it still works. I mix in enough shampoo to cover my head and then slather the weird, gritty mixture on. It’s very messy, and the vitamin c clumps get everywhere. I put a plastic bag over my hair, wait an hour, and then wash it out. I’ve read reports that the vitamin c method dries some people’s hair out, but I’ve had the opposite experience. My hair feels healthier afterward, and it’s very shiny. All in all, I’ve used this method probably five or six times, and I highly recommend it.

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

So I had a crap hair day on Tuesday. First I got a truly 4th rate haircut--too short, no shaping, no style. Just hacked to chin length (shorter than I wanted) and bangs. Then for some reason I decided it'd look better darker, so I put on a "light" ash brown gloss--and it came out very dark brown. Totally hid my highlights and utterly muddy-depressing. Last night I tried this Vitamin C mixed with dandruff shampoo for the first time. I didn't have vitamin C in the apartment, so I used one sachet of EmergenC vitamin c powder. (I know; sugar and food dye in there. . .I didn't care). I mixed with the dandruff shampoo and sat for 30+ minutes. Then I rinsed and conditioned and dried. My hair was a little lighter. A little. Tonight I crushed 14 500 mg vitamin c tablets and mixed them with the dandruff shampoo again, and sat with the mixture on my head for 60+ minutes. I put a plastic bag over my hair and then wrapped a towel over my head. When I rinsed it, my hair felt like cotton wool--but after conditioning for 10 mins and drying, it felt fine and I saw that it'd lighted by around 2 shades. Now it's a shiny mid-level brown AND my highlights are again visible! Plus I figured out that with a hair clip and a comb I can wear my hair up so no one will see this crap haircut. Only downside (and it's minor--I'll take it) is that my hair did pull slightly reddish. My hair does that. But the hair is shiny, highlighted, and much better.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Ongoing hair disaster backstory: Natural color- matronly field mouse. Length- just past shoulders. I've used 8.5N (champagne blonde) box color from the drugstore forever. It wasn't working like it used to, the color was sort of dark and muddy. I decided to go to Sally Beauty Supply and buy professional dye, thinking it would 'work better'. I bought ion brand 8N, and Volume 20 developer. This was upon the advice of the employee at Sally's. Feeling pretty good, I took it home and used it. Professional grade hair color results: OMG! Nope, nope nope. It was NOT level 8 neutral color. It was dark chocolate brown. So, I panicked and turned to the internet for help. Found the vitamin c treatment. Vitamin C- first try: To be fair, I didn't use actual vitamin c. I was at home, it was night, I was in a panic, and I happen to have citric acid in my pantry for canning. I figured it was almost the same thing as vitamin c, so I mixed a couple spoonfuls with some baby shampoo and applied to dry hair, and left it wrapped in plastic for about an hour. I didn't get much of a result, but I did see a little dye rinsing out. It lightened by less than one level I'd say. Vitamin C- second try: The next day, I bought vitamin c tablets and dandruff shampoo. Ground about 50 pills in a coffee grinder, mixed it with the shampoo to pancake batter consistency. I washed my hair with the dandruff shampoo and towel-dried it and applied the solution to damp hair. Wrapped it plastic, left in on about an hour. I didn't see any dye rinsing out, but it worked to lighten my hair at least one level. Side note: My hair. Is. Orange. There's so much red-orange in my hair now it's crazy. Seriously, it looks like I did it on purpose. I'm gonna go with that if anyone asks. Vitamin C- third try: Next day. I ground about 60 tablets up and mixed it with the dandruff shampoo. I applied it to dry hair, but it was so sticky that it wouldn't really distribute well, so I sprayed my goobered-up hair with enough water to create enough lathering to where I felt like it was distributed evenly. Wrapped in plastic, left on for an hour. I read that rinsing for a long time is key in this endeavor, so I I rinsed for probably ten minutes in the shower. It lifted probably one more shade. Still mighty red. Still don't love it. Thoughts: I might try this again to see if it lightens any more. I want to get back to the color I originally wanted which is a neutral/cool blonde, but now I'm not sure how to get there. I'll probably go back to Sally's and ask what kind of dye I need now. I want this red OUT. I don't know how to do that either. Bottom line, though, I want to use professional grade products and do the color myself. I just need the RIGHT products. I need help figuring out what to buy. This process really stripped buildup off my hair. The ends of my hair dried out a little, and my hands dried out a lot. But my hair is really super soft and has more body than before I did the vitamin C stripping. And a couple oil treatments will fix the dry ends. I don't know why my hair is so friggin red. I don't know what to do about it. I don't know if I should try to strip more color out or try to dye over what's already here. I don't know if I need to get this red out before I try to dye it again. Sally's is about an hour drive for me, so it's not like I can just pop in and ask questions. I'm pretty disappointed with... everything hair related right now.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I was really nervous to try this and pictured coming out of the shower with orange, straw-like hair. The truth couldn’t be further from that. I had years of box dyed dark brown and black hair. 45 minutes of the vitamin C/head and shoulders mixture took the severity of the dark shades out of my hair. I now have some of my natural red tones back and my hair looks very natural. My hair feels soft and extra full of body, but it was in very good condition to begin with. I followed rinsing the mixture out with a heavy duty salon conditioning mask (left on for a few minutes) so I’d recommend something like that just to be on the safe side. The great thing about this method is it’s inexpensive and there’s not a cosmetic company behind the advertisements. All reviews are by people who have no vested interest in pushing the product.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have naturally medium brown hair and decided to dye it black. Although i loved the colour on me, I decided I wanted to grow my natural hair colour out. Its been two years and you can imagine the contrast and line of demarcation. My hair is long and i didn't want to cut it to remove the dyed parts. I also didn't want to try any harsh chemical s on my hair (colour removal). So I was doing research and came across the vitamin c and dandruff removal. I got excited at first because it seemed to really work for people BUT then realised that most of the reviews were of people that had just dyed there hair so the dye was still pretty fresh, so I thought no point, it wont work. So I left that idea, UNTIL last night. I was getting desperate to get this colour out of my hair, so I thought what the heck - just try it. I put some water in a spray bottle - to dampen the hair. Took 500 mg of vitamin C tablets- about ten of them - crushed them with a rolling pin and added Jameson anti dandruff shampoo from Holland and Barrett - consistency was thick and I applied it to my mid lengths. I combed it through - massaged it into my hair. Then I took my hair dryer and blasted it with heat for a few mins and then the shower cap went on. I left it about an hour before i decided to rinse. PEOPLE I was shocked - brown pigment was coming out, i couldn't wait to dry it to see what it looked like. Finally i dried it and I was amazed - it was so much lighter and the colour blended in so well into my natural hair colour!! I didn't expect to see much result on 2 year old dyed hair !! I will be repeating the process and leaving it longer - since I have virgin hair under the black - cant wait to see what round 2 will bring. I highly recommend to try this.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have had black hair again now for 4 all over colorings. One blue-black, blue-violet, blackest black, to the last one 3 weeks ago. In the color black. I left mine on for too long. I watched many videos and read many articles. For a couple of weeks. Some left it overnight. I decided to do it for 5 hrs. BIG, BIG mistake! I'd advise rethinking that kind of time is better. I actually got burns on my ears. Nothing major. But, enough to make them peel for a few days. That was my own fault. Not thinking how acidic it was. Well, I had decided to do color oops extra strength a week later. To make sure my hair was healthy enough to do so. I did the treatment twice in one day. It had come out a reddish copper color with still some black. Which i knew it wouldn't be super light in any way. At least for the way my hair is. Is this another factor some of these girls haven't considered? My next step is to see how long you can do this treatment after the color oops. Now, mind you I had done color oops in the past. With good results. Dumb ass I wanted to go blonde. As I've seen most people with black hair wanting to go blonde. I was told by someone at my sally's store where I live. To use a 20 developer with a color that was to lift 4 times the color. Yeah, that turned out a disaster and fried my hair. Another thing I knew probably would have happened. But, was too impatient to wait. So I grew it out some and got a stacked bob. My hair grows quick and repairs itself quicker than most. I'm lucky in that standpoint. Then I did the big mistake of going back to black. I had black hair for 15yrs beforehand. So now i have a dilemma of whether to do the vitamin C treatment or go to a professional. Which, of course, I'm going to hear. GO TO A PROFESSIONAL. I feel I've been doing my hair and others for years. But I'm not a licensed professional. I don't know as much, of course. Pretty much rinsing is a DEFINITE must. That's where so many go wrong and lose their patients. I've been guilty of that also. As I believe we all have at some point in time. So now that I have rambled on. I just need to know if i can try this treatment one more time. To see what will happen. I might end up with splotchy hair. where right now I'm able to live with what i have right now. Does anyone have any advice or tips on this? As I have done enough for my poor hair as is.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I have a lot of my permanent hair color from years of coloring (I'm 100% white hair under the color). Granted my hair just touches my shoulders so hair color is probably five years old. I had brassy red, orange hair. This the 2nd time I did this, leaving the Vit.C and clarifying shampoo on a whole hour. Rinsed in warmest water I could stand washing three times with Antidandruff shampoo. I followed up with a blue shampoo and conditioner. Now I'm a 9 light blonde with a tiny hint of strawberry. So, girls, it's worth a try.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair

HairGrey

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It works pretty well but makes my hair and and scalp feel dry.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us