4.2

Created with Sketch.
146 reviews
71%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this product until now. I absolutely adore this product, I initially bought small sample size on ebay many years ago and it worked wonderfully but never bought a full size just cause the price was too high. Last year bought it on discount from someone that was moving overseas and kept using it on and off but never took the time to see how the product was working and now that chemical exfoliants are all the rage, I kind of forgot I had this product until recently when I was trying to use some products up in my skincare draw, just thought I will use it up and took a close look at how nice my skin felt after using it, none of the lactic, glycolic acids gave me those results. It's much better than an physical scrubs that are so harsh on the skin. Sure I will still keep using chemical exfoliators but this one is nice to have around to use once a week before masks so the benefits of masks can penetrate better.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Tan, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have used this gel as a physical exfoliator for years, and it is very good for that purpose. I like to stock up when it is on sale because it is the only physical exfoliator that has consistently delivered results for my dry skin. The gel is gentle and it works. My skin looks and feels softer and smoother after using it. As with all physical exfoliators, the key is is to not overuse it, otherwise you risk overexfoliating and irritating your skin. I use this once or twice weekly and this has proved to be the best way to incorporate it into my routine. After using this, i normally apply a gentle hydrating mask as the mask absorbs better on freshly exfoliated skin. I will be trying a chemical AHA exfoliator after many years with the aqua gel, as I read that chemical exfoliators deliver longer term benefits and stimulate collagen production (something that physical exfoliants can't do, as they only work on the surface). But I know if it doesn't work for me for any reason, I always have my trusty aqua gel to fall back on.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I rarely leave reviews, but I saw quite a few claiming that it does nothing, and that the "balls" of dead skin are simply the gel reacting to the air - which is utterly bogus. This does work. I'm 41, fair complected, very few lines/wrinkles, horminal acne-prone, and have oily skin that loves to get flaky around my mouth, nose, and between my eyes (sensitive skin+retinoid related.) In my experience, this is the only thing that almost completely eliminates the flakes & allows for smooth makeup application. It visibly removes the dead skin. It's blatantly obvious. I have had instances in which I start to put makeup on... & the hidden dry skin is illuminated by primer/foundation. I end up washing the makeup off, using this, and end up with a smooth canvas to work with. My carefully curated routine incorporates - A.M. - Step 1: Dr. Brandt Light Years Away Cream Cleanser - Step 2: After face has dried COMPLETELY, Cure or Peter Thomas Roth FIRMx Peeling Gel - I don't use it every day. As needed, or every few. - Step 3: Cold green tea & CBD isolate toner - Step 4: Nyakio Soothing Oil applied while face is still damp to lock in that moisture barrier. - Step 5: Perricone MD Face Finishing Moisturizer - - - Step 6: Naobay Renewal Antiox Eye Contour Cream P.M. - Step 1: Hey Honey Come Undone makeup remover - Step 2: Boscia Makeup-Breakup cleansing oil - Step 3: Roche-Posay Toleraine Hydrating Gentle Cleanser - Step 4: Cold green tea & CBD isolate toner - Step 5: Red Earth Deep Dive Water Cream and YonKa Creme 15 applied together while face is damp (if my face is feeling extra dry, especially in the winter, I'll add in the Nyakio Soothing Oil applied before the YonKa & Red Earth while face is still damp to really lock in that moisture barrier.( - Step 6: Naobay Renewal Antiox Eye Contour Cream - Step 7: Generic tretinoin .025 cream • Maybe once a week I do a charcoal mask. (Lol, it sounds much more complicated than it is. The whole shebang takes less than 5min AM/PM, mornings are 2min tops, & that includes dry-time before Cure - as I wash my face in the shower.)

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is Japan's No.1 best selling skincare product And I can see why! :) Out of *dozens* cleansers I tried this is definitely the most effective one I come across with. It have the ability to remove dead skin cells/ buildup products without stripping my skin, or make it feel tight or “stress” like most hardcore cleanser do. Alcohol-free formula BTW. A little goes a long way- two pumps are enough to cover my entire face, and there’s no denying for The silky smooth & brightening after effect. Seems to help to minimize the appearance of pores either. An eye opening to see the amount of dead skin cells and yukkiness that I have within my skin-especially as the cleanser junkie that I am. As someone who wears makeup every day this is a must have in my *weekly routine*. I order it via Amazon more than a year ago, and the bottle isn’t even half done. So, despite the price point this will last a VERY LONG TIME. Highly recommend!

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm not sure what the hype is with this product, Before I bought this gel I did a lot of research and looked at a lot of reviews and came to the conclusion that I had to have this product! I have used up about half the bottle now and honestly see no reason to buy it again. This product never really worked for me, I tired 2 pumps and 5 pumps as some people recommend and while it leaves my skin feeling soft I don't really see that all my dead skin pills up as some people describe (even on my driest days). I also feel like Im wasting a lot of product and nothing is happening as Im rubbing my face. Then one day I bought Boscia's Peel Gel and realized that "cure" was just a diluted watered down version. Bosicas product smells nicer, requires only one pump and really cleans the skin off. Has anyone thought that maybe whatever you feel falling off is just the gel product drying out and rolling up? I mean we are instructed to use so much product maybe so that it will appear as if its skin when really its just an illusion?...I don't know.... Its just a thought. I wouldnt get this again, Its too little result for the price. from the site - Directions With just 4 simple steps, you can achieve the effects of a salon facial result in 5 minutes. STEP 1 Wash face thoroughly with cleanser and dry it well. STEP 2 Pump a small amount of Cure to be applied on the desired area. The gel will turn into milky liquid form. Massage in a circular motion gently for 30 seconds to 1 minute. You will see white particles of dead skin cells can be seen. STEP 3 Gently rinse off dead skin residue with lukewarm water. STEP 4 Moisturize your skin with your usual skincare. For best results, apply twice a week. This product can be applied to the other parts of your body such as neck, elbow, heel, and knee. – WATER >90% Activated hydrogen water from purified water is used. – GLYCERIN-5% Widely used as a moisturizing ingredient that contains high hygroscopic nature and has been used for a long time. – CROSSPOLYMER (ACRYLARES/C-10-30 ALKY ACRYLATE) The same liquid as used by ophthalmologists for eye surgery. We use it for thickener. – DICOCODIMONIUM CHLORIDE・STEARTRIMONIUM BROMIDE It is to respond to old deadskin . Commonly used for conditioner. – ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF EXTRACT-<1% An expected ingredient that moisturizes and protects rough and dry skin. – GINKGO BILOBA EXTRACT-<1% Extract from ginkgo, expected to moisturize, to prevent skin mottle and freckles. – ROSMARINUS OFFICINALIS (ROSEMARY) LEAF EXTRACT-<1% It has anti-inflammation and antibacterial effects and is expected to solve skin problems solutions. – BUTYLENE GLYCOL-<1% Color-free and scent-free moisturizing liquid. – ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL-<0.33% An ingredient contained in fruits, vegetables, and alcoholic drinks. We use it to blend stearyltrimonium bromide. Removes waste cells which make your skin rougher. Adsorbed polymer quickly responds to those proteins to help remove dead skin. Feel moisturized and have smooth skin after rinse. Cruelty-Free Product, no animal testing was done in the making of this product. Make-up stays longer and skin tone gets brighter It is a very simple product because it is made of approximately 91% activated hydrogen water. It is fragrance free and has no artificial colors or preservatives.

About reviewer (155 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I watched a Youtube video that said this is a holy grail item from Japan, my country does not sell so I bought it in a Singapore drugstore. Because I'm a cheapskate I do think this item is a littleee bit pricey when you buy it outside of Japan, in Japan you can get it for JPY 2,500 excluding tax which is pretty good considering that this product does WONDERS. It gently exfoliates your dead skin cells in an instant, which I didn't believe at first lol because I'm skeptical and always had this dry dead skin patches on my face and using just regular washing face scrub never did anything significant to it. If you use this regularly I think it can lasts 3 months or so, so it's worth the price if you think about it and works very very well. Highly recommend this item for those looking for an effective yet gentle exfoliator.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am the only person to not particularly like this product? At first it seemed to do a great job making my skin smoother; however I then began to realise that whenever I would wash it off, my skin would be left squeaky clean. I.e. all the natural oils would be washed off and it felt like I hand just washed my face using hand soap. My skin is naturally dry and sensitive and Cure's natural aqua gel appears to remove the precious oils I need as well as causing a reaction which leaves my face tight and red. It's pump packaging is easy and hygienic to use which is a positive note. Wouldn't repurchase this.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Since hearing that this product sells every 12 seconds in Japan, I had to try it but I admit I was a bit skeptical.. well 3 months in, this stuff is HOLY GRAIL! It removes dead skin in the form of little balls and I have noticed that when I stop using it, my skin becomes more dull. Suggested use is once or twice a week and I try to use twice/week but doesn't always happen! All and all, this stuff lives up to all the hype!! A must have for any skincare junkie like myself!! Would give 10 stars if I could!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

6 hours later my skin is soooo smooth :) This is my second time using it. The first time, I let it set for about 5 minutes and it dried up. Didn't like how my skin felt afterward AT ALL. There was no exfoliation residue so the gunk was just sitting left behind on my face. On me *second try* I applied 8 pumps in my palms for coverage of my face neck and chest. This time, I started massaging it on immediately and for about 2 minutes and boy did it bead up! :)

About reviewer (128 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Tan, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This definitely takes off dead skin, and I know because I use heavy-duty peels (TCA, glycolic, and lactic), and if my face starts peeling but looks like the process could use a little nudge, I use the Cure Aqua Gel, and the dead, peeling skin is gone (the "balling" effect). Another observation: If I use this product the next day, it won't "ball," or it does very little. This is truly a miracle product. I've stopped using St. Ives exfoliators in the shower. I now just use this 1-2 times a week. I promise that it works! I can't speak to blackheads, as I have dry skin, but it definitely removes dry skin. I've even used it on my upper arms, where I have a bit of rough spots from eczema, and they feel so smooth now. I've also used it on my lips. Your skin must be *completely* dry before using, and if you use too much at once, it may take a bit of rubbing for the balls to form. I recommend using less than you think you need and then buildingbip from there. Lastly, I've seen directions where they tell you to let the solution sit on your skin. I find that this doesn't work for me because it dries up. I start exfoliating immediately after applying, for best results.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us