2.9

Created with Sketch.
424 reviews
44%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I like the smell of this however you need so much product to get a lather and since this product has coconut oil you can breakout if it drips on your face.

About reviewer (57 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The only thing I liked about this was the fragrance, which is lovely and lingers. I'll use this up eventually (as a now and then body wash) but would not use on my hair again or repurchase. It was hard to lather and unimpressive. Often left my hair dry and straw like. Nothing about this felt "nourishing" in the least.

About reviewer (180 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

ive been trying out new shampoos since my pregnancy. I was having nausea so i couldnt use this but i LOVEEEE this scent when i am not pregnant lol. smells like waffles! since having the baby ive been experiencing hair loss and i had to come back to this. This is the shampoo i trust and will always come back to. I used to like herbal essences but it made my hair so greasy. The i love juicy shampoo from lush is great but its expensive and it was very drying. I also HATE HATE the love beauty planet ones, the tee trea and vetiver one made me bald and soooo itchy. I was losing double amount of hair i usually experience in the shower. So here we are, my tried and true. I love the smell and how it doesnt make my hair feel like its stripping all its moisture. It also lathers so nicely and i dont experience the terrible scary hair loss. The best part is that i dont get as greasy as the herbal essence. I think its because its not stripping of moisture so my scalp isnt compensating in making more oil. I dont really care for the conditioner because i love my shae moisture coconut fruit weightless mask (so good!) I do not get itchy from this and just one wash i can tell a difference of how much my hair loves this shampoo! I have straight long asian hair thats med thick. This is the best ive tried in the drugstore. edit- after 3 bottles of this i bought the large bottle! i am still using this and will continue to. I even got my bf to use this. Its none greasy and non drying, its the happy medium that i look for in a shampoo. I love the smell and i never get tired of it! I also use the Coconut Milk anti breakage serum and coconut curl hair butter as a leave in/conditioner and just in love with all things coconut by ogx

About reviewer (425 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

My 14 year old likes this brand and the coconut and argan versions.

About reviewer (2453 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Somehow and someway this definitely reduces the amount of hair falling when I wash my hair, although to a lesser degree than other products I've used in the past. Background: I've decided to take a short break from using my usual hair loss product to give other products a try and see how they compare. So many tempting new hair loss shampoos and treatments on the market that it gets confusing, but me being me I just have to try everything I can get my hands on! I use this twice a week as I prefer not to wash my hair too often, and follow with the Coconut Milk Conditioner. The aroma is gorgeous (very coconut-y) and quite strong although it doesn't last on my hair for long once it's been blow dried. Used in conjunction with the Conditioner my hair does not end up frizzy or dry, like it does with most hair products, but shiny, soft and manageable. Even my hairdresser commented when I went in for a haircut recently. Only gripe is the bottle. When it's nearing the end I can't stand it upside-down to get the last of it out because of the rounded cap. Propping it up between my soap dish and the corner of my shower, it topples over regardless of how careful I am. Verdict: Works for me but not quite effective or strong enough on hair loss to purchase a bottle specifically for that purpose. However for cleansing and frizz control this is brilliant and definitely a repurchase...once I've tried all the other new products of course! Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled many 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (568 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

A few years ago there was a bit of a hullabaloo over sulphates in shampoos, as well as silicones and parabens in conditioners. It has to be said that a lot of the evidence suggesting these ingredients are bad for us is of poor quality and questionable validity. However, I did go through a period where I had colour-treated hair with a demi-permanent dye (Wella's Colour Touch) and the colour would fade super fast with run of the mill shampoos with lauryl and laureth sulphate compounds and the advice at the time was to try sulphate-free. Tried a variety of products - baby shampoo, super expensive salon brands like Kerastase, kind natured shampoos, naked shampoos... and was underwhelmed by all of them. This shampoo is a little unusual as it has a jelly-like texture, something common to a lot of Organix shampoos, and does take a bit of work to lather effectively. I have oily, fine, porous hair and shampooing once wouldn't remove oil effectively, but a second shampoo and rinse would do the trick. The good thing was that it did extend the life of the colourant on my hair before it needed re-doing, so there was that. In combination with the coconut conditioner used on hair ends, it was shinier and softer. But now that I've returned to having un-dyed hair, I can't really justify using a shampoo that I have to use up twice as fast so that my hair is clean. Overall I don't think this is a terrible product, and it's worth a try if you want to extend wear time of semi-permanent or demi-permanent hair dyes. I no longer use the shampoo but I do still use the coconut conditioner from this brand. 1 lipstick for the packaging as I absolutely hate the shape of these bottles. They are so, so bad and I can't believe Organix still uses these things. When the bottle is nearing empty, it's such hard work to get the last bits out because the shampoo is so viscous and jelly-like, and the bottles can't be stood upside-down. I'd recommend decanting it into a cheap squeezy travel bottle instead.

About reviewer (196 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This shampoo didnt work for me. It didnt clean well. It left my hair greasy and flat. I've tried a couple products from this brand and none have worked for me. My hair is blonde, wavy, dry, and often frizzy. It's fine, but I have a lot of it. Color treated.

About reviewer (140 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Great product for oily hair! I am constantly on the hunt for hair products that will efficiently remove oil from my scalp but still be nourishing enough to keep my scalp from becoming overly dry and irritated which can cause it to go oily. This product really does it for me! With this product I only have to shampoo my hair once per wash, and it leaves my scalp oil free but nourishes enough to leave my scalp calm without weighing my hair down. Oh, and it smells great too! It really smells like sugary coconut. I don't have any negative thing to say about this product, although I do find the price to be a little higher than the usual drugstore shampoos. Have been repurchasing this product for over a year now :)

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I have normal Asian color treated hair, no issues. I used the shampoo and conditioner for maybe two years. It was okay, but my hair became a bit drier and harder to detangle. (I would just use the clairol nice n easy conditioner tube that came with the box of dye when it got unmanageable). I kept buying it because I liked the scent and the lather while washing. I haven't really found a replacement. (Tried Aussie moist shampoo and conditioner. My hair loved the Aussie, but after three weeks, my scalp started to itch. So still searching for an everyday shampoo.

About reviewer (517 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I really wanted to love this, but even with the conditioner my hair was much frizzier than usual (and I have straight hair). It didn't detangle well out of the shower. Maybe this would work for a guy with shorter hair who doesn't need a product to actually perform and just likes the smell lol

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us