3.7

Created with Sketch.
364 reviews
68%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range
$29.50 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 months ago

When I joined Makeupalley, I was in my early 20s, with combination, acne prone skin. Now I'm in my early 40s, still with combination, acne prone skin... just not as firm. No wrinkles, though. Anyway, with my acne prone skin, I should have tried this foundation many years ago. I thought foundation for acne prone skin would be too matte, and I don't like matte look. Well, I was wrong. This foundation is not matte at all. It has a very skin like finish. Like I have naturally clear, beautiful, glowy skin. It does help with pimples, they heal faster, and I even have less and less pimples. It doesn't have a lot of colour options, but Fresh Vanilla really matches my skin well. It has medium coverage, it's not going to completely cover pimples and acne scars, but I just dab a bit more of this foundation on them, and can't see them anymore! I don't even need concealer. It also neutralizes redness really well. I think I've found my HG foundation.

About reviewer (87 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Fine

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I have a very oily skin type that gets the occasional pimples here & there but in general my skin is fine & I don't need to wear a liquid foundation for any coverage therefore! But I did buy this particular liquid foundation from Clinique to try when they first launched it years ago Bc I knew it was a fresh brand new product that hasn't been sitting around! ! LOL I love my Clinique products & have been using them since I was a teenager! & I bought this liquid makeup not to use as a foundation but as a concealer for any breakout I might happen to get or on any redness on my face or any small imperfections on my face! & I use this in their second lightest shade the fresh ivory and it matches my skin tone exactly!& I like how lightweight this feels on my skin and it holds well on my extremely oily skin! So I like this only as a concealer but I could see how this would perform well as a moderate coverage foundation for acne & oily prone skin people! I like also how this stuff is medicated with salicyclic acid to treat your skin issues while giving you good coverage!

About reviewer (236 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I’m on my second bottle of this stuff and this is the only foundation I’ve really ever stuck with. I like a medium-full coverage foundation and this is definitely buildable. I’m not necessarily oily but I do have a lot of breakouts and past acne scars. This really helps cover them without causing more breakouts. Shade range is meh, I have the lightest shade and it’s a tad bit warm for me but not too noticeable. This is a matte foundation and can be hard to blend around the nose if you’re kinda dry like me. But I do love that it hasn’t caused anymore breakouts like other foundations have. :)

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I really like this. It looks incredibly smooth. Coverage is light to medium. I‘m around mac N15/Fenty 120 and I use the lightest shade which is neutral leaning pink, but once i put on concealer and stuff it works really well. Finish is natural matte and It‘s super skin like. My fave thing about this is the wear. I have combo skin and this holds up nicely on my oily parts and doesn‘t dry out my dry areas at all. Also, it doesn‘t move for like 12 hrs which is crazy to me. Price is pretty good too. As for the acne fighting claims, this contains 0.5% salicylic acid which is pretty low, but i look at it as a booster product for during the day. Cons are the shade and the alcohol it contains. I‘m someone who‘s super sensitive to alcohol in cosmetics and this never irritated or dried out my skin, but i‘d still prefer it if it didn‘t contain any.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Been using this foundation for over a year now, and this is my thought on it. The very first bad thing about this is that the shade range is terrible, and all of the shades tend to have pinkish undertone (I have yellow/neutral undertone). This foundation is also very drying, so I need to put foundation on a part of my face, and blend it in, before going to the next part. If you put it all over your face and then blend, it will most likely dry before you have time to blend it. It also oxidize a bit. But somehow, this foundation looks WONDERFUL after you've applied it, it looks just like skin and doesn't feel like you're wearing a mask. This foundation doesn't cling to my pores or dry patches at all, even if it is quite drying (weird, huh?). This foundation does not break me out, and actually also covers up most of my old acne scars. It has amazing staying power because of its dryness and does not fade through the day - I rarely touch up, I only get a little oily in my nose so I powder there. I've bought this foundation a couple of times and would definitely buy again (if I dont find another foundation that is better ofc) A TIP If you want to use this foundation but have yellow/neutral undertones - you can buy the Maybelline Age Rewinder Concealer in shade Neutralizer (yellow color) and balance it out on your face after using the foundation. I'm doing like this and it works very well.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Olive, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Other

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I really enjoyed spending a silly amount of money on this foundation only for it to oxidise to a much too dark shade, and slide off all of my oily T-zone by noon. Seriously, WTF is up with the formula in this? You're better of buying a salicylic acid serum by itself and wearing it under a better foundation. The damage this did to younger me's wallet took some time to recover lol

About reviewer (196 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was so torn about this product. I used it for a good 3 months while I was having terrible breakouts. The good news is that it really did not cause any breakouts. However, I didn’t think it really treated any pimples either. I also had a lot of trouble finding a good shade for me, which is my problem with a lot of the clinique foundations for me. They tend to lean pink, and the few yellow toned foundations are just too yellow. That being said, this foundation really looks flawless going on. I was very impressed with how it looked initially. Unfortunately, it separated terribly within a few hours. I stopped using it after switching to my HG, Shiseido synchro foundation. Overall I liked this Clinique foundation but certainly not enough to repurchase, as the cons outweigh the pros. Price also wasn’t bad for a “higher” end foundation.

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

i have oil skin with a few acne and i thought it would help, at first it was good not that good though,especially compared to la rose posay's Teint Mattifying Mousse Make Up which was cheaper. I dont think it helped my ance problem at all. After a month or two i applied it and since then after a couple of minute it looks awful, doesnt help with the oil in my face and it shines a lot and no pore coverage. I have to set it with powder and even then it is not good. I clean my face use cream for ance and primer and is the only make that is that awful. And in the midle of the bottle i couldnt get the product out and i had to press so it was thrown over my clothes, so i had to cut it and put it somewhere else. la rose posay and every other make up lasted much more time.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

So, this foundation has its ups and its downs. I'll start with the positìve characteristics: -Doesnt break me out, or at least I havent noticed anything yet -Has nice coverage, not the fullest but great for me (I have some acne and a lot of acne scars) -Feels really lightweight -Looks fine on my pores -Lasts well on my oily skin, even my oiliest parts -Doesnt fade -Barely transfers -I like the packaging, plastic so it doesnt break yet it doesnt look cheap, mostly thanks to the silver cup. It's a squeezy tube kinda thing, which I prefer over pumps actually. -price point was great for me, they had all clinique foundations 40% off at Sephora so I got it for like 19.50€ And now the negatives: -Shade range is bad for me. Got the palest shade yet it's still too dark for me, plus it oxidizes! If you have a medium skin tone it will be fine if you go just a shade lighter, but I have super pale skin and I have to use a much lighter powder to make it work. I'm considering a white foundation mixer bc I actually like the foundation, I just dont really know if I'll manage to mix it right lol Actually that's it, my only problem is the shade range, as they dont make very light or darker shades (pay attention; not v e r y dark shades, they dont even make k i n d a darki-ish shades). At least it has the right undertone for me, as it is really pink.So yeah, great foundation, worked for me as a formula, thumbs down for the shade range.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairOther

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Being very acne prone and having acne scars, it makes it tough to find a foundation. I find this one to be a very light weight liquid foundation with decent coverage. It doesn't make you look oily throughout the day, but i find my coverage fades a little. Overall I find that my skin takes it very well! If the coverage was a smidge more, I would give it 5 stars

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us