4.2

Created with Sketch.
54 reviews
80%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range
$10.99 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Amazing coverage, natural finish, great colour range.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Not a favorite: required a color adjuster to fit my skin tone (yellow olive NC20). The texture was thick visible on my skin no matter how little I used or what application method. Lasting power is OK. Broke out a little if I used this for 3-4 days in a row - not OK for me because I use foundation every day.

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Can't believe I haven't reviewed this foundation yet, being on my 6th bottle. It's my HG. I've tried way too many high end brands but I've never found anything to match my skin tone and texture. So out of desperation I bought the lightest shade (6 euros or so) and it is perfect. I use a translucent powder underneath and on top of the foundation and then it lasts the entire day, sometimes up to 18 hours, without showing any cracks or 'bleeding'. It looks like my skin, but perfect. I think it's about 7 euros at the time of writing, which is still incredibly cheap for a foundation with these qualities. The dropper makes it hygienic and easy to work with. I've never tried a second layer, as one is always enough to cover all blemishes. Never buying anything else again!

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 months ago

I love how this looks on the skin, very soft and flawless. I bought the lightest shade at the drugstore which is 010 Light Beige which I'm not too sure if its the right shade because I am never really a beige in foundations. I will have to try this without anything on top to see but I am impressed with both the performance and price because this was only $9 at Shoppers which sadly didnt have all the shades in store. Wears beautifully and covers a lot of flaws and discolouration with one layer

About reviewer (163 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I normally HATE foundation. My skin is oily, acne prone, and sensitive, and has this tendency to oxidize the crap outta everything.So it's kind of a miracle that I love this foundation. A little goes a long way. I dispense a little on my hand and then use my finger to dot it on my face, focusing on areas that require more coverage. I then blend it out with my RT sponge. I only need one thin layer, but if I've got extra discoloration, I'll add one more drop to the tip of the sponge and blend it into the problem areas. I find it has great coverage, and since so little is needed, it doesn't feel heavy on the skin. I powder this with the Prime & Fine Mattifying powder (also by Catrice) and the finish stays looking matte, but natural for hours before needing to blot. And then when I do blot, the foundation doesn't budge. The finish isn't crazy matte; it's a bit more satin-like on my oily skin. It photographs beautifully too! I enjoy the packaging. I am able to dispense the perfect amount without having to worry about a pump dispensing too much. It's glass, so it's very high-quality. At $11, I am really shocked at how well this performs. I'll definitely be repurchasing!

About reviewer (512 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

WARNING: This liquid foundation sets on the face super quickly, so you've gotta work fast! Other than that, I've been loving it. I mix a little of my CC cream (MKUP's complexion cream which is white) with it and its more blendable. Coverage on this is medium, but buildable. I apply a second layer over my zits and undereye circles, and I'm happy with it. It's cheap too, which Catrice product isn't? So, my wallet is happy. I haven't had any breakouts or sensitivity issues using this, neither does it oxidize on me. I'm just lucky I guess!

About reviewer (199 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

Pros: - long lasting - full coverage - cheap Cons: - the smell - small shade range - dries down quickly; a little does not go a long way + you have to work fast I prefer mixing this foundation with BB/CC creams since since my dry skin isn’t too fond of how matte this foundation is and the end result looks more natural. It is a good foundation and I would recommend trying it out if you are looking for something matte and high coverage but I find that with my dry skin it makes me look somewhat lifeless on its own.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

Tl;dr: - Looks 4/5 from a distance, 2/5 close up - Extremely drying, but you can't put the finger on it - Waterproof/longevity claim is valid - Don't recommend I'm in the situation where I go on this page and think "Woah, maybe I'm THE idiot". But I'm motivated by the fact that at this very moment I have a mask on my face to undo the damage done to my skin. Welp. Come at me, downvoters. I need to at least put it out there and somehow balance the glowing reviews. Even if this site is going to hell, my conscience has be clear lol. My skin is nothing special, not too dry, not too oily. I usually characterize it as normal/dehydrated to put it shortly, but the dehydrated part means affinity, not the actual state. The only special feature is that I'm rather sweaty, I just perspire a lot of water without any oils (for the life of me I could not figure this out and treated my skin as combo when all it wanted was moisture, sad face). In the daytime, I apply HA + vit. C serum and a nourishing occlusive cream on top. I have a lot of spot hyperpigmentation and sometimes want to blur it all together. Of course, I realize this is not a hydrating foundation, but your girl sometimes just goes to the gym at night, so it's nice to have a base that survives the day. I don't want to wash my face twice, not to say sweat/wash off my skincare. If makeup looks a bit funny, I'm ok, as long as I'm not scaring people around me. I use Catrice Camouflage concealer all the time, so I figured this foundation can be something like its liquid version. This product is dirt cheap, dropper format looks curious, Tati Westbrook praised it, so I caved in. The first time I used it, I decided to go with the flow and even apply the corresponding primer. The primer is EVIL. It actually made my skin itch and burn, which never ever happens with makeup. The amount was tiny. The foundation is not as bad, but they are in the same family. I thought maybe I watered down my skincare too much. For the second time, I applied more cream and used Deborah Milano illuminating primer, which is a bit oily, nothing special. The result was a little better but not a 180-degree turn. I think this product does not need to be set with powder, maybe when you applied something over it. I dusted it lightly just out of habit. Both times it wore great, it really does cling to the skin. If you spritz it over with spray, the droplets look like morning dew on cobweb lol. Speaking of cobweb. Now to the look of it. It's ok. This stuff is thin and has a lot of pigment. We live in the real world. This foundation behaves exactly as it should - settles into every single line, clings to every patch of peeling skin, you name it. (You can see the actual borders of your skin cells if you are interested in microbiology...) At first, I was terrified, but kept blending until it was ok. The look is not terrible, but certainly not natural. It simply doesn't have that smoothing silicone or thickener base to spread evenly. As a whole, it looks like powder foundation. For obvious reasons, I could not put myself to build it up to full coverage, but the pigment is not lacking. After some time it starts looking much better, I think when the oils break through a bit. Especially on camera, skin looked like smooth porcelain, if you don't put the phone too close! But it felt tight and parched until the end. Maybe HD refers to studio makeup, but nowadays these two letters are used for every single makeup product, so idk. So what's the fuss all about? First I too couldn't understand why this week my skin is so dull, needy and reactive. It's not like it was completely dried - it would be easier to detect. The look is not very different. Rather, it was actually damaged, like hangover. I don't know how to explain, but I know my skin well, and something is not right about its behavior. The second wear was yesterday. So when today I was shopping for a sponge and, while in store, sprayed a million sprays of a hydro mist tester onto my face, there was a moment of truth for me lol. I realized I didn't change anything else. So there most definitely won't be a third test. Even though today I wore a much more pleasant foundation, and not too much of it or powder, I was dying to come home and wash my face. My skin didn't recover, and if you are into skincare, you know the feeling when you screwed it up. In conclusion, I don't recommend this to anyone, except if you have young, healthy, oily skin and only use it once in a while. But if you have such skin, why ruin it? This product is the epitome of makeup-that-ruins-young-skin your auntie warned you about. Yeah, it's cheap, but is it worth spending more on skincare to balance out the effects? Even if you don't personally feel it, this stuff has the technical characteristics of car paint. If you need an inexpensive full coverage foundation, get Rimmel Lasting Finish, with the red cap. It's not hydrating and not drying, doing nothing in terms of hydration. It actually reminds me of Catrice Camouflage concealer because it has the stretch to it, almost like concealer with a pump. You can sheer it out too. I should have repurchased it instead of this crap :( ##### I enjoy writing a lot, so here is a bonus tip for those who persevered: If you absolutely need to wear it, try to layer another foundation with a better finish on top. The second time I was not happy with the look so I put a bit of more comfortable oily foundation (Rimmel True Match), and I think this is where the amazing look was coming from. Regards, Your chatty MUA user who needs to start a fricken blog but doesn't have the time now, a.k.a. the actual makeup geek lmao

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Let me just say I have tried a lot of foundations. When I was younger I used to be a makeup snob, thinking the more expensive it was the better it must be. I tried a lot of different brands and a lot of different forms too (the most adventurous being diors aerosol foundation 😭) but none ever really impressed me. I moved out, my budget tightened so I was willing to give the drugstore foundations a whirl. I forgot my makeup bag to work and used one of my colleagues catrice and I couldn’t believe how much I liked it. It was longer wearing than Macs prolongwear and had the coverage of double wear by EL. I honestly can’t think of a bad thing to say about it! It could be just a tiiiiiny bit more dewy but as I get oily during the day maybe it’s for the best 💁🏻 Huge thumbs up

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I bought this in shade 030 Sand Beige based off of my shade match from findation.com and it is pretty close to my skin tone, just a tad on the lighter side. This wears well on the skin, stays smooth without breaking up even when my T-zone started to get oily. A little goes a long way - I think this formula would be considered full coverage, as I used very few drops on my face and it covered every flaw. I could see myself purchasing this again when wanting a full coverage formula, especially if Ulta has a sale on Catrice.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.