4.5

Created with Sketch.
67 reviews
85%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

This is one of my favorite products! I use it on both wet and dry hair. Dry ends are gone, keeps frizz away, gives me a lot of shine, too. It leaves my hair bouncy without weighing it down. I highly recommend this product.

About reviewer (45 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I'm quickly becoming a huge fan of Joico products, especially the K-Pak line. I'm a huge fan of the K-Pak Reconstructor and decided to give other products in the line a try. This oil serum is GREAT! I have very long hair, past my waist, and I use one pump of this product on my length only. It works best when hair is WET. If you want a bit of extra shine, add a tiny amount of product to your hair when it's dry. This is even better than my Chi Argan oil. My hair is 99% tangle free with the Joico, whereas it was 95% with the Chi. I wouldn't use this product on my roots, unless your hair is extremely dry there. My hair does respond very well to proteins and peptides. Other hair types may not. You have to understand that this product is HEAVY with silicones, oils, proteins and peptides. If your hair is not fond of those, don't use this. Since it's heavy on the silicones, you MUST clarify your hair often. I clarify my hair every week with Neutrogena Anti Residue. Many people claim a product will work wonders for them in the beginning, then their hair "gets used" to a product and it stops working. It stops working because of buildup, so clarifying is a must when using a silicone serum such as this.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This product got me started on my protein-product journey but I don't love it. It adds 'slickness' but not any real strength or hydration. It's basically just expensive gloss drops.

About reviewer (163 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is one of those products that always seems to come up in the beauty boxes I get. At first I was pretty blah on it, but especially when comparing it to the other hair gunk out there, I realize I actually really do like this. I've also seen it at TJ Maxx at least once (but not too often and not recently). Full price it's a bit much for a hair oil, but it does last a very long time. It comes in a pump bottle, mine is 3.4 fl oz and I have mixed feelings on the format. It's great not having to deal with tiny lids when your hands are greasy (like with the Hask Monoi oil), but the pump doesn't dispense too much, so I usually end up using about 5 pumps for each half of my hair. My hair is probably about bra length, super thick, and color treated. If you have less hair, the pump is actually pretty ideal though. It's pretty great on both damp and dry hair and I need less when applying it to damp hair. It definitely makes a difference and coats the hair all day and it's pretty well-absorbed and set by the time I get to work in the morning. Initially I can sorta feel the oil on my hair, but once it's absorbed (I think that's what's happening?), it's great. I'm not sure how to describe the scent, but it's not too strong which I like. The packaging also matches my Caudalie Divine Oil which I never actually use on my hair, but is right there on my bathroom counter with the Joico.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This product was simply too thick for my hair. I have thick, curly, damaged hair which I straighten 3 times a week. I found that when using this product my roots became greasy and my hair went very flat far too quickly forcing me to wash more often. My hair can't take being washed that much. Would not repurchase.

About reviewer (966 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Coarse

EyesGray


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I kind of have a love & hate relationship with this oil. It smells so yummy and has a nice and thick consistency - which I love (don't like liquid dry oils..)! But it doesn't really do anything for my hair.. It leaves it soft like any other oil, but I feel like I need to re-apply it so often to make my hair stay soft. I don't need to do that with my Loreal Extraordinary Oil for example. I grab the Loreal oil way more often than this one and I feel like I still use the Joico one just because it was expensive and I don't want to throw it out un-used. This is also my second bottle because I wanted to give it another shot. Tried it twice and can still say that it isn't better than any other hair oil. I also don't like the pump! It pumps out such a little amount, like a drop every pump.. So annoying. I need to pump it around 5-6 times to get a an grape sized amount.. Will not buy again.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I use this oil to make my dry ends shiny and healthy looking and it works very well for that purpose. I usually don't even pump it, I just rub my palm against the snozzle until I see some oil on it, then I rub my hands together to spread the oil and brush my hands trough my ends. Small amount goes a long way! I have tried to use this oil on my damp hair too, as suggested in the instructions, but I feel it doesn't do much for my hair unless maybe makes it too oily if I accidentally use too much. The bottle is quite pricey, but on the other hand it probably lasts forever. I am not sure if I am going to repurchase though, maybe if I need I feel such a product (I pretty much expect this bottle to last years!! :D)

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I purchased this from Ulta based on the good reviews. Sadly it did nothing for me. Actually it makes my hair fee dry and coarse. The search for a good styling, shine enhancing, frizz fighting, moisturizing oil continues;-[

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I love this product! my hair smells so good I can't stop sniffing it even in public! if my hair could get married it would definitely choose this as a life partner!! my hair is not chemically treated and i let it air dry. i use 5 pumps right after shower and one more when my hair is slightly damp (one hour later or so). i use A LOT (as stated above) as my hair is really thick, dry, frizzy & coarse, yet it never gets too oily! i have dry ends so i keep this in my bag and apply on the front ends a few times everyday and comb through my hair feels so soft and well managed :D and looks moisturized. mind you :/ i don't brush regularly it works so well like Davines' Absolute Beautifying Potion (which unfortunately smells and looks like cooking oil)

About reviewer (54 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Amazing styling oil! I completely changed my haircare routine, so I don't know if this product is the only one that makes my hair so soft and healthy, but it seems to help a lot ! I have very damaged hair, and this product meets my expectations. I use this in conjunction with the clarifying and chelating shampoo, the cuticle sealer and the revitaluxe bio-advanced restorative hair treatment from the same brand. I think it works wonder for my hair.

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesOther




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us