4.5

Created with Sketch.
23 reviews
91%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I use this on my granddaughter’s hair. She has very light, buttery blonde hair & when she & her folks moved to an acreage with iron rich well water her hair turned brassy pink. She hated it as kids called her Strawberry Shortcake:). Anyway I found the clarifying treatment at Sally’s and never looked back. Now that she’s 14 she does the treatments herself & it’s amazing how it sucks the iron deposits out of her hair & she’s back to her natural buttery blonde. Just wish it came in a tub & was more reasonably priced.

About reviewer (57 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This does clarify hair- and pulls out hair color (great, I was too dark).... HOWEVER, it turned my undies roots red /otange!, I’m shocked at how RED they are ... will update after I try on my lengths only

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

I've caught myself using a dozen products on my hair before I've left the house - at any one time I might use conditioners, leave ins, powders, oils, hair spray, mousse, blow out lotion, gels, thermal products, shine spray, and then there's the hair masks, etc. All this in my fine hair - lol. I had a packet of this in my 'hair colour' drawer for a long time, never tried. Browsing around on MUA for clarifying treatments I (re)read the reviews and thought - hey, I have this.. So I tried it, and I'm SO glad I did. In the past I'd used Neutrogena clarifying shampoo (now in the cupboard - never liked the smell, nor the straw-hair results - good for cleaning brushes tho), and I also tried a you-tube video suggestion of Dawn original with a lemon rinse…tried that too, twice. I got my hair cut recently and the gal used Kevin Murphy clarifying shampoo. That helped some. Still felt my hair needed something more. I mixed it into a hair colouring bottle from Sally. I applied in sections and wrapped in plastic. I did a 30 minute application, with an occasional heat up with the blow dryer. It rinsed out nice and soft, and I followed up with a hair mask (BioTop 911). That was over a week ago and I can say it sure brought my hair back to life! I only had to use 1/2 packet for my chin-length bob. When I was at Sally Beauty, I picked up another packet. It was just under $4 which was more than I expected, but since I'm getting two apps out of a packet, that makes it more reasonable. It's taken years off the appearance of my hair and really got rid of the build up like nothing else I've tried. Now I use less hair products and am getting more out of the ones I do use. I'm going to use regularly and when my hair needs to be dejunked. Great find!!

About reviewer (299 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

The best way to get a good deep cleanse. It helps to use this before you color or perm your hair too. The color will last longer. This product is also good for getting long lasting curls. It takes all the product build up that can weigh curls down.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Excellent product. If you use it at home, use soft water with the packet. I have well water, so I use a little bottled water. I have also used it while visiting relatives with soft city water. My hair stylist did the treatment for me the last time I got a trim. She has city water & I was able to sit under the dryer. It's her salon...so she can do what she wants. My hair feels & looks soooo much better with the use of this product. Before it... it was extremely dry, brittle and full of tangles. Now, it is softer, doesn't seem as dry and doesn't tangle as much. I have thick, fine hair, so it is still somewhat tangled after a shower or gust of wind. I also use Ion Hard Water shampoo, Ion Moisturizing shampoo & treatment & Ion Anti Frizz leave in conditioner & detangler.

About reviewer (107 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I've been coloring and highlighting my hair for years, and occasionally because of how porous my ends are, it will pull green or gray. I used to think the only way to fix that was to use a toner or another all over color, but a stylist at my salon recommended using a clarifying treatment and to my surprise, it worked. A clarifying treatment at the salon is around $20, but you can pick up these packets for around $3 at Sally's. My hair is about bra strap length and I have a lot of it, so I use two packets. I mix it with warm water, and apply it just like hair color. It's very easy to apply and doesn't take long at all. Once I'm done, I'll hit my hair with a blowdryer for a few minutes, wrap it up in a towel, and let it sit for around 20 minutes. After that, I rinse it out and apply a good conditioner like GVP conditioning balm. I recently used this after coloring my hair slightly darker, and it removed the grayish tones my ends pulled without affecting or lightening the color itself.

About reviewer (331 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I'm African-American with wavy hair. Currently, I'm wearing it straight via Coppola Smoothing Treatments and picked up this product to clarify before the treatment. It is AWESOME!!! It let my hair very smooth and shiny. My hair was so voluminous and pretty after my quick blow-dry before applying the keratin that I nearly skipped it. This is definitely a new monthly ritual for me. I can't wait to see how this works not only with the keratin, but also with a repairing mask!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

I wanted to prep my hair the right way for my latest at-home color, in hopes of getting better results, and part of that quest involved using some Ion prep products instead of my usual Suave clarifying shampoo two days prior to coloring. I was pretty impressed with this product. I followed the advice of other posters here to use warm filtered water (because why add hard water to a product intended to get rid of its effects?) and it dissolved into a soft gel. One packet was barely enough to cover my hair, so if I do this again I'm going to get two. The smell was kind of cleansery, not unpleasantly so. Kind of like clean towels. I didn't experience any itching. After rinsing, it did leave my hair kind of dried out, but I was expecting that. My hair was literally squeaky clean, and I was surprised by how shiny it was considering it did not feel soft to the touch. I got great second day hair after using this product. It's not really expensive until you consider the price per ounce. I'd like to use it again if I can justify it to myself, because Suave also does the job fairly well for cheaper in comparison.

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

How can you not give this product 5 stars? If you like using apple cider rinses, then you will love this clarifying treatment to remove product buildup in your hair. I have fine, very dry to the point of frizzy hair and so rely on silicone based hair treatments to make my hair look normal. I use this about every 4 weeks and it is so easy to use. Mix the crystals with 1 oz of water and massage into hair and scalp. Leave on up to 20 minutes. Applying heat helps the product work better. Rinse and wow! You have your hair back! All the product and hard water residues removed. Just soft, clean hair. Love this product!

About reviewer (3093 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

Bright blond hair + Well water = Gross orange hair!! I was in search of a cheap way to get that icky buildup out of my hair. I went into Sally's and was directed towards this product, which does miracles to my hair! When I start seeing buildup I use this product, which I always have on hand! I mix the packet in a measuring cup with a 1/4 water, it turns into a very liquid-y gel. Then pour it over my hair making sure to get the areas that are very orange first. Next you need apply heat, I put a grocery bag over my hair and tie it in the back and turn the blow dryer on and apply heat for 20 mins which the packet says to do for heavy buildup. Once I am finished I shower and wash my hair like normal and it is back to the clean and natural looking blond hair I love :) This is an inexpensive at home way to remove build up, compared to other pricey salon treatments and shampoos. Good Luck :)

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesOther