3.5

Created with Sketch.
1817 reviews
54%
would repurchase
3.4/5
package quality

price range
$335.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 months ago

I have combination to dry skin and this makes my skin more soft. Especially when I have been using this product with the Lumispa, thanks to this device I only have use a little bit of the product because my skin absorbs the product better! Overall my favorite creme!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Sephora was out of this for weeks and when they finally got some in, it was different. Right away I noticed it was thinner. Those who use this know it is very thick and has to be warmed up in the fingers until it is translucent. It's not like that now. I compared the ingredients on the box to the ones online and they are the same, so either they added more water or they did something else in the manufacturing to ruin the consistency. Also it used to come with a little booklet with page after page of the history. Now it has one of those folding papers that rip when you open it out, and it is completely blank except for two short paragraphs. I am used to everything I like being changed when companies start cutting corners but I thought at least this product would remain the same since it is aimed at the luxury market. I don't see any other complaints so maybe this "new stock" has not reached every store yet. I loved this because it was thicker than any other cream and improved my dry skin. The half ounce lasted me a month because it only required a pea sized amount. Now that it's thinner it requires a heavier application just like any other cream or lotion. I'm giving it 3 stars only because the ingredients are the same (just clearly in different proportions) and I have hope that it will still work for me. Update: I am raising it to 4 stars after being complimented when I went out wearing nothing but this cream. I was surprised but I looked in the mirror and saw that it made me look 20 years younger. Watered down or not, the ingredients are still there and they make my skin appear young. I missed this when I wasn't using it and just using Aveeno lotion. That's fine, but does not give the benefit of young looking skin. I can't give La Mer 5 stars because it's not as thick as it used to be so you have to use more, and because of the cheap insert they give you now instead of the book. While, mind you, they just felt the need to raise the price.

About reviewer (242 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I have normal to dry mature skin. I bought after suffering from atopic eczema. This did nothing other than digging hole in my pocket. While the LRP cicaplast did wonder with a fraction of price. Smell is good and packaging is classy but who cares for packaging when you are spending a shit loads of money on a moisturiser.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

TLDR: Looks and feels good on my dry acne-prone skin. After using for 3 weeks, my skin texture has improved, though I do wish the formula was just a little more moisturizing. Glad I got to try it and form my own opinion, and I’d recommend anyone to do the same! As a former Isotretinoin user, my skin tends to be pretty dry but also prone to clogged pores with the wrong skin care. For a while now, my winter skin routine has been Nivea layered over Tarte Maracuja oil. This combination helps sooth my scaly winter skin, but the downside is that I tend to get clogged pores pretty easily, especially on my nose. Astringent helps, but makes my skin dry and dull. After being gifted precious samples of the Moisturizing Creme, I decided to see what all the fuss was about. I expected it to feel and smell exactly like Nivea, based on other reviews. It doesn’t smell the same, but the texture is comparable. I apply it the way I was recommended to, which is to take about a pea size dollop, warm it with my finger tips and pat-rub it into my face. I’ve been using this in conjunction with the La Mer Concentrate for about 3 weeks and I have noticed a significant improvement in the texture of my skin in that time. My skin looks smooth and while my lines aren’t gone, they are softened if that makes sense? I can attest that this product thankfully has not broken me out, but I will say it isn’t as hydrating or heavy as I imagined it’d be. The concentrate tends to be a little drying and even when layering this Creme on, my skin can feel a little tight initially. This is less apparent after a while, presumably once the Creme settles into my skin more. Perhaps I am not using enough? Or using too much Concentrate? I am still experimenting. I’m undecided on whether I’ll buy more once I run out, but I am definitely enjoying it in the meantime. To anyone curious, I would certainly recommend giving it a try. Carpe diem!

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Minus one star only for the price and packaging. I tried the soft cream and this original, and for my sensitive skin, I prefer the original. I feel that the soft cream is nice but leaves a film vs. my skin just drinks this up from a small bit of this melted pressed into my skin. I agree with previous posters, this is not the cream to rub into your skin. You definitely have to warm up a little until your finger tips are clear, then press on slightly damp (I use the essence prior). A pea size is good for my entire face and neck. I use a q tip instead of the spatula. So far, I haven’t noticed any break outs from this despite mineral oil and it honestly sinks into my skin and keeps it dewy and moisturized without feeling like there’s a layer of moisturizer on top of your skin. It’s a strange feeling, as I was always used to have to apply globs of moisturizer to feel dewy. This is the opposite, a little goes a long way. Will repurchase.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I always had La Mer on my skincare wishlist, and one day I finally splurged and bought the small size. And honestly, I am glad I only got the small size since for all of the hype and build up, it did absolutely nothing for me that couldn’t be achieved by a mid-range ($70-$120) skin cream. I am really prone to redness and have incredibly sensitive skin, and it didn’t irritate it. But it definitely didn’t improve it either, which was disappointing, especially given the miracle claims that the reviews I’ve read about La Mer often make. It was overall a good cream, but not worth the money when there are equally (and arguably better) products for half the price. Worth a try if you have the money, but don’t deplete your savings expecting a miracle to happen.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesViolet


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I received a small jar of this as a sample when I ordered a product from Sephora. I have sensitive skin that is prone to rosacea flares so several ingredients in this cream gave me pause. I applied it as directed for several days and much to my surprise it never flared my rosacea nor broke me out. The scent is a bit strong and reminds me of the creams my grandmother always kept on her vanity so quite vintage but not unpleasant and the scent does fade quickly once applied. I didn't find it to do anything noteworthy to my skin, it just added a light layer of moisture. That said, I don't think the formula is completely without merit as my (often unbelievably) sensitive skin tolerated it very well.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

This product is ridiculous. Three of the top four ingredients are Mineral Oil, Petrolatum, and Glycerin. Are you kidding me? I can buy all of those in bulk at the drugstore and slap them on my face for a fraction of the price. The seaweed extract is of no discernible benefit. I’m genuinely mystified by the cult status of this product, which goes on like bear grease mixed with a touch of Elmer’s glue. It doesn’t sink in. Truly, it has nothing to recommend it.

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Other, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I bought this in preparation for winter 2018. It worked. It did not make my skin dry at all and probably saved it from getting dry. I only used this during the night in winter because i feel its too heavy for me during the day even during the winter. I do love how my skin feels when I wake up in the morning. I think the common mistake that most people do is apply this straight to the face. I know because thats what i did several years ago and found that it did nothing or even worsened my skin (also consider that when i first tried this I was in my mid 20s and had pretty oily skin) Fast forward to 2018 and i revisited this product (and now in my mid 30s with normal to combination skin) I was taught in the La Mer counter that you first have to rub it though your fingers until its transparent and pat it into the face and it really works well. Sometimes i mix it in with the La Mer oil and it makes it thinner. Would i repurchase? Im still having an internal debate. Its not one of the products that im scared to run out of. There are more affordable options that does the same. This just lasts longer as you only need a pea sized amount. I bought the 60ml jar and i have not finished even a third of it.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I recieved a trial size of this in exchange for beauty points. I mainly wanted to see what the hype was about. Well....here we have some water, some mineral oil...hmmm, nothing looks impressive on ingredient list. Highly scented....very thick....doesn't feel super rich or moisturizing...ummmm? Reading packaging....miracle burn recovery story....from mineral oil? Hmmm.... "For those in the know....", interesting catch phrase on the product insert. Ah, I see...elitism is what keeps this overpriced product going. Now I "know".

About reviewer (279 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGray





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us