3.4

Created with Sketch.
266 reviews
58%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

12 days ago

Today's Beautiful is a less complex version of the original, which would perhaps make it a dissapointing shadow of its former glory. I never used the original, but I think the current version is still a handsome, quality fragrance with enough depth and complexity to make it stand out. I think it also has that character that divides audiences, some like to call these fragrances old fashioned while others enjoy the DNA they share with new releases from expensive houses. Estee Lauder Beautiful is a floral that many would not mind paying a lot if it was released by Amouage or whatever Middle Eastern house I think. It is, as of now, an intense but relatively easy-to-wear floral that reminds me of Givenchy III, but in a more sombre, less ambitious way. I love the way Estee Lauder uses Galbanum and here, again, it is a treat in the middle of flowers, adding depth and character to the perfume. It has a heady, dense opening of sparkly bergamote paired with some sweetness from just the right dose of well-blended blackcurrant. Soon dense, almost balsamic big flowers enter, but so does some very appreciated bitterness. I think the presence of galbanum and ylang together make this a very special perfume where you can sense the stems and everything slightly dark, beautiful and charismatic. Then the hissy tuberose and that so-called vintage characteristic that becomes so memorable on the right person. You know some women have signatures not because they keep on using the same fragrance all the time but because others remember them with it even years later. It is that kind of a fragrance. It is like those optic glasses with a certain serious air, glasses that many avoid but they look incredible on the right person. Beautiful is that kind of fragrance to me. Nothing passe about this fragrance family. To the contrary, I think they compliment messy ballerina buns, white t-shirts, prescription or other Ray-bans etc better than anything else - that chic without an effort look. Good sillage and lasting power on my skin.

About reviewer (608 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesHazel



2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

It's not Beautiful anymore, not in any way. They changed it. Not the gorgeous, long lasting 80s masterpiece that one had to be so careful about not over dousing oneself with -- in order not to flip people out in surrounding seats in concert halls! Alas, it's simply another fragrance formula, and not even close to the original. Another heartbreaker.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is such a pretty, romantic and feminine scent. On me, it smells like a bouquet of fresh flowers of rose, Jasmine, tuberose and lilies. It is not a sharp floral like so many other florals out there, but it dries down to a soft, smooth, almost creamy floral scent that smells yummy. It really smells like a pretty woman in love.the scent is so we'll constructed that there is no loud notes, as the whole bouquet softly envelops you. Like all fragrances, it works with your skin chemistry and if you have a stronger, more acidic natural scent, it might smell different, making the fragrances turn more acidic or even sour. I own so many perfumes, and still, is one of those fragrances I have to have on my dressing table .It is a classic for a reason.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I pity the women who get this perfume for Christmas in a gift box. They will be horrified to smell almost nothing. Yes. Almost nothing . There should be a sign on the Estée Lauder counters that warns the customers to sample the latest formula before making a purchase . However, it will instead be a game of switch and bait . The customer expects to have a bottle of Beautiful , or something close, then discovers faintly scented W.A.T.E.R. I will never purchase an Estée Lauder product . Estee is gone and so is the integrity of her name.

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Ahhh, Beautiful. It's a "mom smell" for sure-- mature, womanly, comforting, complex-- but that doesn't mean it's without sex appeal! There's a reason this continues to sell briskly. It's distinctive as hell, and very pretty. Beautiful is one of those rare fragrances where I prefer the modern reformulation-- for the simple reason that the Beautiful of the '80s was sooooo strong even one spray was too much... it also had a "sour"/nail-polish-y tinge common to vintage chypres. I can apply 3-4 sprays of current formulation and it settles nicely into a detectable, but not overwhelming cloud of loveliness. The mossy sandalwood base is still there, but the rich deep florals emerge more clearly. This is a comfortable fragrance for daily wear, but special enough for date night. It screams "classic." I honestly can't pick apart the notes in this one, even though my nose is well-trained. It has been referred to as a rosy marigold/ylang-ylang scent, but the florals are so blended that all I pick up is the "Beautiful accord." I would say if you like gourmand celebu-scents or body sprays, you'll hate this one and yell "Old Lady!!" However, if you enjoy experiencing the layers of an old-skool, rich floral chypre (that is still impeccably clean), snap this up pronto. Fragrances with the same "feel" as Beautiful include: Giorgio Beverly Hills, Jontue, Red Door, YSL Paris, Pavlova by Payot, Clinique Aromatics (very different top/mid notes, but similar woodsy base), Ysatis, Amarige.

About reviewer (228 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Just got a new version of Beautiful. I must say it is not the same formula as I had before. It still smells good but to me it is not as good, nor does it last as long. I gave it 5 lippies anyway because it does still smell awesome for a floral and it is E.L. I will edit my review if my like lessens but for now, I am enjoying it with the Spring Season. I would buy again and I have ;-).

About reviewer (595 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This has been my signature scent for 20 years .....but alas it's suddenly making me gag....I think one just gets burnt out on a fragrance over decades time.....it's still a beautiful fragrance I'm just sick of it.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

What a wonderful fragrance Estee Lauder Beautiful still is! A masterpiece of florals, adequate to use any time, any place, whether at work or on any social occasion. Of course fragrance regulations and unavoidable reformulations have somehow changed its smell from what it used to be in the ‘90s, but it is still unmistakeably Beautiful and it is still gorgeous!

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Our noses and tastes must change over time. I smelled this on a couple other people way back in the 80's and thought it was possibly my HG. The fact that I couldn't afford it added to the allure. Fast forward a few years and I was able to buy a bottle. What a wasted of my hard earned money! I generally like stronger perfumes but I don't think its possible to use little enough of this. Way too intense floral, flowers on steroids. Interesting how there are only a couple hundred reviews here, which tells me this did not stand the test of time, unlike some other scents from the 80's.

About reviewer (79 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairRed

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

To sweet sweet sweet. Not beautiful at all. Strong stays with you all day 80s kind of stink.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown