3.4

Created with Sketch.
185 reviews
50%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Deliciously cozy and cuddly. The chai tea is brisk and spicy with just the right bit of vanilla lactonic sweetness to keep it comforting. Wears great on cashmere, just fyi. For anybody that thinks they don't like gourmands: this one might change your mind.

About reviewer (158 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have an old sample from the time before the bottle design was changed. I don't think the actual fragrance was ever reformulated, however. Anyway, for me, Tea for Two is flat-out incompatible on my skin, although I can appreciate the blend of notes. On opening, all I can smell is nasty burnt rubber, or maybe more like earl grey tea leaves mashed into an ashtray. Really disgusting, but at least it only lasts for a few minutes. The middle is all spices, resembling a cup of chai tea - with a cheap lit cigarette to the side. The base notes are warm, smoky, leathery, with just a touch of honey to sweeten it, and is probably the only phase of the entire experience that I could tolerate. As someone whose skin turns spice notes into all sorts of horrific abominations I knew from the start that this scent wouldn't be for me. However, I think everyone should give this a try at least once. It's a really unique fragrance for sure.

About reviewer (153 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Found this at my local tkmaxx for 30€! I bought it blind, based off of the hundreds of reviews I have read. I expected something crazy sweet, but the first time I wore it, was shocked by the smoke. I smelled no spice, no tea, no honey. Just, as another reviewer mentioned, smoke, covered up with perfume. Since I am a very vocal non-smoker, I was considering getting rid of TfT, as wearing it felt hypocritical. So, yesterday, I woke up and thought I would try it again. Despite our first snowfall, I wore a blue chiffon wrap dress, tights, boots and a huge, new pendant necklace. I sprayed Tea for Two liberally from head to toe and went about my day. Yes, there was a smokiness, but that wasn't all I got. I got honey!! (I love honey notes!) I got ginger, cinnamon and after a bit, the smoke turned into tobacco...rich and thick. Not cigarette-like, but the tobacco drying in a barn. I smelled richly of experience, but calm and serene. Kind of a "been there, done that, don't need to brag about it" thing? We went for a walk in the cold, and every move I made released a little puff of TfT. I was baking biscotti later that evening, and every time I opened the oven, a waft of gorgeous spice intermingled with the lemony scent of my cookies. I am thinking this is one of the fragrances I will wear for specific days, seasons or even outfits. I think jeans and a sweater DO make it seem like I was around a smoker. Being a bit more dressed up gives this scent a better stage. I am glad I didn't get rid of Tea for Two based only on my first wearing. I have noticed that occasionally it takes me a bit to get to know a fragrance and that every one deserves a second chance!

About reviewer (115 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairOther, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

Edit: this is amazing layered on top of Avon vintage 1960s leather (NOT Avon black leather or Avon black suede leather). Dab, don't spray. the original Tea for Two, a darker colored, oiler richer fragrance than depicted above could be if Vintage Caron Tabac Blond were reincarnated into a modern sweet gourmand (SL original Fumerie Turque being too powdery and fruited). This is an Olivia Giacobetti gourmand fragrance for L'Artesan Perfumers with smokey tea, incense, tobacco, with a strong hint of cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, anise, vanilla and honey. (I should mention that I am not a fan of Bernard Duchafour or L'Artesan generally or even Olivia Giacobetti (though I used to wear OG's En Passant and I adore even the modern iterations of Almairac's 1993 Voleur de Roses for L'Artesan). I do love the underlying tea tannins that have a hint of arid tarriness and smoke incense. (I am a fan of CdG's Avignon's rendition of incense). This is not overly tarry or phenolic (which in other fragrances can cause issues with my skin chemistry). I also love the impression of black chai made without milk and the feeling that the honey and vanilla isn't quite blended in completely. It calls to mind tea done in the manner of 1990s Barney's NY style modern and black. It's urban cosy with just a hint of arid desert. If it were less sweet, It would be more to my taste, but at least it doesn't smell like a scented drugstore candle. In its favor, it is not artificially flavored like some modern fragrances (what pops to mind is SL's Jeau de Peaux). Bizarrely, in the heat of summer, I feel like wearing a dab of Guerlain pamplemousse rose (itself an acquired taste) on the back of my neck and a dab of this on the wrists. (I am a dabber, not a sprayer which reduces silage and strength).

About reviewer (517 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I think this is my second review of Tea for Two by L'Artisan. I still have half of the bottle I received as a Christmas gift (by request) several years ago. I was so captivated by this spicy and exotic fragrance for so long. Nothing else topped my list. And my fragrance list is very, very long. I still love it. I love it so much I was sad but strangely relieved when I heard that L'Artisan discontinued Tea for Two, because it would force me to move on to a new favorite. Lately, I've been trying to fall in love with older, classic fragrances, such as Yves Saint Laurent's Opium (a deep, dark, smoldering oriental). I sprayed the back of my right hand with Opium EDT at Ulta today. Then I ordered a bottle. But I still cherish the remains of my Tea for Two bottle. I love to spray it on my hair when I'm dressed up for an occasion. It has great staying power, and when I move, I can often smell it floating up from my scarf or clothing. Even reading the pyramid of notes causes me to crave this fragrance: Top notes are bergamot, star anise and tea; middle notes are cinnamon, ginger, spices and gingerbread; base notes are honey, vanilla, leather and tobacco. I don't see star anise in many perfumes. I do see licorice notes at times. Maybe that's what pushes Tea for Two over the line and into a category all its own. I've read that Tea for Two was marketed as a unisex fragrance. But I find it to be filled with feminine mystique: warm, sensual, and mysterious. Maybe L'Artisan will bring this back. Although my favorites are often discontinued. I felt similar disappointment when L'Occitane discontinued Ambre L`Occitane en Provence for women. Fumerie Turque by Serge Lutens is the only fragrance I can think of that could replace Tea for Two in my collection. Fumerie Turque is accurately categorized as unisex. It's brave, bold, smoky, spicy, and it takes "deep and dark" to the next level. But it possesses no femininity at all.

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Either my nose or my skin causes this to just smell Smokey. It reminds me of when women smoke, and then try to cover the smell with perfume. I don't hate it, but I just can't get past the smoke element. My husband even asked me if I'd been around a friend who smokes.

About reviewer (64 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Bought it , tested it and returned it... a wonderful Lapsang Suchong scent with milky undertones....reminds me a lot of L'Erbolario Meharees or Frapin 1270 scents... balmy, smoky, cinamonny milk teao.....really wonderful... )I'm talking about the old version....) but not for me:)

About reviewer (203 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Others have already said it all, it's a lovely unique fragrance. But as much as I love it, I find it somehow too foody. This is what I like my kitchen to smell like on a rainy chilly afternoon. Warm smell of honey, hot tea in the teapot, cozy atmosphere with a touch of something smokey. I am not sure if this is what I want ME to smell like.

About reviewer (121 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Other

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

This is a wonderful chai tea and vanilla scent. The spices are light and airy (it has a similar impression as Bulgari The Vert, although that is lemony and floral) and the vanilla never gets too cloying or synthetic to me. There's a wonderful, almost smoky and medicinal edge to the opening that I find addictive. I found this to be a good office perfume, and I'm really, really tempted to get a full bottle.

About reviewer (75 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone

HairBlond

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

The name does not sum up this fragrance at all. I get very little tea from this. I mostly get a smoky, spicy, slightly sweet oriental fragrance. It kind of smells like those sugar coated jelly candies that had a variety of flavors, and there was one jelly that was spicy, and as a kid I avoided those and ate all the cherry and grape ones. The spicy ones got hard and stale. Theres something about it that reminds me of Tom Ford's Tobacco Vanilla, but a tamer version. I find it to be a comfort scent. Something to wear for yourself and not for others since the only way other people can smell it is if their noses are smashed up on your skin. Its a interesting scent but not FBW due to the fact that it has such poor sillage. Longevity is nothing to brag about either. But Ive found this to be the case with all the L'art scents Ive tried so far.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown