3.9

Created with Sketch.
706 reviews
69%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

Purchased this first in 2015 in the old formulation and loved it. The new version...not so much! The pros: it adds a little shine and helps to detangle and keep frizz under control, although the effect does not last long at all...a couple of hours if I'm lucky. Also the addition of Argan Oil which in my experience is one of the most beneficial oils for your hair (I purchase it neat from any organic store) although I have no idea how much is even in here. It smells lovely too. The cons: doesn't work half as well as the old formulation used to, the ingredients for the most part have changed for the worst (with the exception of Argan oil) and that reflects in the results! Other than that a mediocre semi-decent conditioner but not a re-purchase for me as there are much better ones in terms of efficacy out there, aswell as ingredients and price point. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Lush' - Enzymion 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

This conditioner has protein in it, which my hair hates. Every time I use this my hair is brittle and frizzy. I’ve used better conditioners from Suave!

About reviewer (689 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I have fine, thick, dry hair and this conditioner leaves it soft and shiny. The effects compare to some of the hair masks I use (Kérastase Nutritive and Davines Nounou come to mind). I use it once a week and even though my hair is mid back-length it lasts several months. Have been re-purchasing for at least 2 yrs, will keep doing so.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I did not notice any real improvement in my fine, dry hair while using this product and the matching shampoo. Has a light scent. Did not seem to add any hydration to my hair.

About reviewer (3102 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a good (average) conditioner. I compare it to my HG Biolage and unfortunately, it doesn't match my expectations. It smells nice and I need to use a decent amount of product to get any results. It does give a little bit of shine to my hair, and it does moderately help with the frizz. It's not a great detangler, nothing like Biolage. But the real bummer is that argan oil breaks out my neck. Not a bad product, but nothing to rave about.

About reviewer (667 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The reformulation of this product was truly a tragedy. I would have continued to purchase this conditioner and the shampoo for the rest of my life had they not changed the formula. It used to be you only needed the smallest amount of conditioner and it would detangle your hair effortlessly, in under a minute for my waist length hair. It left my hair extremely soft, shiny, bouncy, and strong. I'd be the girl known for her hair, it was by far my greatest physical attribute. Now I'm at a loss. I haven't found something I love as much as the old formula and I'm not sure I ever will. I will always consider this my lost love conditioner. Why did you have to change anything redken? It was perfect before - now there's $5 drugstore conditioners better than this. Please, please, please bring it back. Listen to your customers, you would have had revenue from me for the next 60+ years I would be alive had you not reformulated this. Now? I'm forced to look elsewhere

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have never used the older formula for All Soft Conditioner, so my review is based on the one currently in stores. This is a nice conditioner for my dry, coarse, and thick hair. It makes my hair feel really hydrated and smooth. My hair doesn't look poofy after I use the shampoo and conditioner together (like other products have made my hair look). This is a pleasure to use. I think it has argan oil in it, so my hair COULD be softer, this seems to leave my hair with a bit of a film that has a texture. Overall though, it is a good conditioner for my hair.

About reviewer (470 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Ok, here's the deal: as someone with naturally curly 3a hair, this conditioner is THE ONLY thing I have found that has helped my hair stand up to the heat/humidity/grossness that is Atlanta weather. I had used this conditioner about 4 years ago and really liked it, but wandered off trying various other conditioners and lines, including Devacurl. Nothing was terrible, but nothing topped what I remembered All Soft doing to my hair. When I moved to the south about a year ago, I discovered that my hair HATES the climate here, and have been trying to figure out what the heck I can do to try to wear my hair curly without it looking like a hot mess. Nothing, including devacurl, had worked very well, so I decided to go back to All Soft. Well, the prodigal daughter has returned, because nothing. else. is. this. good. My hair is amazingly soft, with defined curls that have minimal frizz. Finally I can wear my hair curly and not have to stuff it in a pony. Plus, I like that when I do choose to straighten my hair, I have a more neutral base to work from rather than the curl-enhancing effects of devacurl. Stop reading this and just go buy it.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Oily, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm torn with this. At first I thought this conditioner was too heavy for my fine hair. But I have to wash my hair a lot for my job, so something moisturizing is a must. And it does an amazing job of that. But then I stopped using it, and now I'm using Philip B's Detangling Creme Rinse and my hair looks awful. It lies lank and thin, with dry, jagged looking ends. My hair never looked this bad with the Redken! So I may have to repurchase this, to get my hair back in shape.

About reviewer (464 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This conditioner used to be my ultimate - I don't know how majorly they changed the formula, but it's not as amazing as it used to be. Nowhere near as good at detangling and smoothing, so not really worth the high price anymore. I'm also quite allergic to it now, it gives me an itchy scalp and exacerbates my eczema. Apparently it doesn't contain avocado oil anymore (I don't know if that was the magic ingredient or not) and isopropyl alcohol is in the ingredients list, which concerns me, but it's neither at the top nor bottom so I have no idea of the concentration, which could make a big difference to how bad it is. Palm oil is also on the ingredients list too (Redken/L'Oreal say it's sustainably sourced, but I'm skeptical). Redken/L'Oreal test on animals as well. So, if you love wasting money and supporting business conglomerates, and you hate animals, jungles, forests, developing nations and your hair, then this is the conditioner for you! Otherwise, maybe steer clear of this rashy disaster in a bottle. It does smell nice though. There, I said something nice. :) Tl;dr: Redken has made a string of poor decisions, I'll be avoiding this and the rest of their offerings from now on.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination

HairBlond

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us