3.5

Created with Sketch.
977 reviews
58%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range
$340.00 on Chanel
Shop Now

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I see so many perfume reviews that overuse the description "old lady perfume," but if there's any scent I'll use that description for this would be it. It's a classic so it's hard to knock it, but this scent is so powdery and has such a typical "strong perfume" character to it that I can't enjoy it. But again, this is a classic and if you read the history behind No. 5 you'll find out that this is what perfume was supposed to be back in the day, which is what so many later proclaimed "cheap perfumes" aspired to be when they ended up on the backshelves of Walmart. I like it just because of it's classic history and the fact that it was at one point the It Perfume. But even though Levi's jeans were the originl jeans, doesnt mean I want to wear the same bulky jeans that they had during the 1800's gold rush. After a while, even classics aren't appreciated.

About reviewer (123 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

I remember wearing this twenty years ago in the EDT version. I also remember being a different, somewhat more pronounced fragrance than the one available today in Europe. Both the EDT and EDP seem to be "lighter" and less prominent compared to the ones I seem to remember all those years ago. I find the newer EDP more suitable for me today than the one 20 years ago since I prefer less prominent fragrances that are sophisticated. I do understand the frustration of those who have N°5 as their staple fragrance though. Several reviewers have pointed out that the fragrance reformulation was due to attracting a younger audience. It might also be true but sadly Chanel (along with all fragrance houses) were compelled to follow the new EU regulations on fragrance ingredients making it impossible to continue producing the fragrances as they were and most of these historic fragrances were reformulated often loosing their originality in the process too. N°5 EAU DE TOILETTE: The fullness of a magnificent floral accord. Powerful top notes, dominated by Ylang-Ylang and Neroli, are exalted by aldehydes. The alchemy of Vanilla, Vetiver and Sandalwood create a warm and vibrant trail. In 1921, Gabrielle Chanel asked Ernest Beaux to create "a woman's perfume with a woman's scent" , rare and powerful. The nose presented her with a visionary composition that made unprecedented use of aldehydes. Mademoiselle chose the fifth sample of the fragrance, and decided to name it simply N°5. In 1924, she launched the N°5 eau de toilette. N°5 EAU DE PARFUM The eau de parfum draws inspiration from the parfum with which it shares its floral aldehyde signature. This floral bouquet composed around May Rose and Jasmine features bright citrus top notes. Aldehydes create a unique presence, and the smooth touch of Vanilla an incredibly sensual trail. In 1986, Jacques Polge, the CHANEL nose since 1978, reinterpreted his predecessor's composition to create a fuller version of N°5: the eau de parfum.

About reviewer (293 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

it's soft not in your face and a little complicated. when i smell it i think meh. most of the women i know think meh or worse. but men. men love this stuff. so if you want to please men get some.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I adore distinctive, rich, bombastic classics... so I should love No. 5 more than I actually do. It’s instantly recognizable as itself; and its blend of clean aldehydes and creamy abstract florals has inspired the fragrance of so many everyday products in the past 98 years, from lotions to laundry soaps to musk oils. This is why so many people think of soap when they smell No. 5. I just honestly find No. 5 kind of boring to wear. I own a bottle of the EDP and wear it very occasionally. It’s a solid, perfectly balanced, quality work of art... but like a well tooled mahogany desk in a high-end corporate law firm, it’s just “there.”

About reviewer (229 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Years ago I thought this was wonderful, always tested it in stores and when I finally purchased the big bottle I found it included a strong smell akin to rubbing alcohol. I think I got a bad batch or the recipe was changed drastically. Very disappointed, I thought of reselling but didn't in-case it is a bad batch.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Other, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Je l'ai acheté cela comme 1 de mes premiers parfums « sérieux » ai acheté pour moi ne peut pas dire que j'ai vraiment apprécié quand j'avais 20 ans. Maintenant que je suis 26, je peux tout à fait apprécier cette chose extraordinaire qui EST chanel pas. 5 C'est soapiness et propre propreté de Chanel à côté roseraie de cette odeurs comme la piété luxe. C'est un beau parfum féminin, je pense que « peut » prendre l'âge d'apprécier. J'ai le savon aussi. Ça sent comme la peau fraîchement douchés et lotion. Sexy!

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

What can I say? I can't pass up a bargain! As I was cashing out at the Shoppers Beauty Boutique last week, I saw several packages of No.5 MARKED DOWN!!!! ON SALE!!! The cosmetics lady explained that they were changing the bottle size so these 30 ml spray bottles were being cleared out. Fifty bucks and I paid 30 of it with Optimum points! For a bottle that used to be sold for close to $100! Now, I've never been a No.5 girl; No.19 is really the only Chanel fragrance I love. And I don't know that I'd repurchase No.5 again - it's nice and fairly inoffensive but I'm not crazy about it. The bottle is gorgeous and the lid is such a nice, heavy, solid block of style. For $20, I cannot quibble.

About reviewer (1494 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Original review deleted & resubmitted 22nd April 2018 to reflect Chanel No 5 presently. I feel incredibly strongly about Chanel No 5. the original - not the flankers. Thanks for reading. Very Loyal Chanel customer but I have my opinions. Chanel No 5 is a true classic . It is what I called The Golden Ratio in Scent . Everything about it was / is ( i guess even , after the reformulation ) perfect / almost - to me. EDT is my favorite formulation and I have gone through bottles and bottles of it. Today's verison is vastly thinner and less long lasting than even the old Cologne version. It has been reformulated but I still buy because after all the serious gutting of this scent, this is practically my ONLY reminder of the the true majesty of Chanel No .5 & what it USED to be. EDP - a 1980s version by Jacque Polge - also very beautiful but recently quite gutted by the reformulations. Less ylang, more vanilla , less substantial in general and poorer tenacity, thinner in general, the scent profile is not quite the same. The EDP was also a veritable joy ..now , not so much. However, as with the EDT , I buy what is available ..... If you are going to do this to Le Monstre ( No. 5 ) - to save / make money , Chanel ..please release your new version of Chanel No 5 Eau de Parfum Intense.( Like you did with Coco Mademosielle . ) The parfum extrait was also beyond beauty .It was as the most wonderful version of No .5 - golden, bright ,full bodied, 3 dimensional.. like very fine champagne , deep and long lasting. Truly magnificent. I have no words to describe it really. There was a valid reason for its fame and ability to last so many decades as a top seller world wide. I once declared I would only ever buy the extrait again ..not any more . Today , it is weak , alcoholic, soft, missing a lot of neroli ,citrus and a helluva lot more vanilla added to the base. It smells closer to the new reformulated EDP . The last good parfum extrait I had was made in 2011. The 30 ml bottle I have was made in 2014. It is not the same. ***********My message to Chanel . All your customers who buy Chanel No 5 are not dead yet. We maybe be older but we do know Chanel No .5 because a lot of us have worn it like a second skin for decades. You try & attract a younger demographic which is fine but don't forget your roots. Use some of the great scent technology to... at least try and restore No 5 to what it was. Classic No 5. NOT your L'eau ,Eau Premiere and whatever you will think up next . In efforts to Join The Young Club , you are watering down No .5 and more importantly , you are changing Chanel No .5 far too much through your reformulations. Preserve, not alter. Educate , do not alter Chanel No 5 to the whims of fragrance fashion of this century.

About reviewer (463 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is my favorite perfume. I mostly use the Chanel no5 EDT (1921) as this comes closest to how my beautiful mother use to smell. I tried the EDP (1986) but it is too harsh, too sharp and too spicy. The perfume is the best of course but also the most expensive. I have read several times that people think this is an old lady smell. Hello?!?! It is not!!! Don't go by the initial first spray of Chanel no5 as the dry down is where the magic begins. I like to spray the EDT on my neck and on my clothes a bit so that the smell stays the entire day. And all through the day the different layers/smells of roses, jasmine, aldehydes, Ylang, Ylang, Neroli, civet, bergamot etc. are being released. This perfume makes me feel happy, feminine, luxurious, sexy, stylish, classic, beautiful, confident and timeless. They do not make perfumes like this anymore. The smell is also woody and powdery. Which is great for me as I do not like a flowery perfume or smell like a vanilla cookie which seems to be a trend lately. Due to silly new EU law regulations regarding perfumes (such as "1 in a million people might develop a rash from this ingredient") many classic smells had to reformulate their masterpieces. They are using more synthetic ingredients now and the perfumes smells different today. Nevertheless, Chanel no 5 remains the most magical, mystical and legendary perfume ever! I wear this all the time but on hot summer days it is great to use Roma by Laura Biagiotti. That one has a great dry-down as well.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I am a perfume collector with TONS of knowledge and experience with fragrance. Here's my take on Chanel No. 5's timeless popularity: It's safe. It's clean, inoffensive, mediocre silage... mediocre everything really, so it's never the wrong choice for any occasion. It's never going to be the best choice either in my opinion, because it's really just not that interesting. lol But it really is curiously difficult to go "wrong" with it. You could wear it with jeans and a Tee or a $5,000 lady-boss business suit. Then there's it's "status." Some people simply wanna be able to say they're wearing Chanel so they can pretend they're better than everyone else. lol I got news for you, Chanel Isn't even CLOSE to the best fragrance house. Between it's safeness and it's notoriety, I honestly believe that's why it maintains its popularity. Because ANY woman can wear this. Who minds smelling clean, rich and Iconic? I own a bottle for days I need to smell safe and boring.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairRed

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us