3.9

Created with Sketch.
145 reviews
74%
would repurchase
3.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I have a mini edp in a screw cap violin bottle of Tabu, I have no idea how old, and it is WONDERFUL. It is my favorite of all the spicy ones, Opium, Coco, Cinnabar, Youth Dew, etc. This is the only one I can wear that doesn’t soon wear me out. Much as I drool over big orientals and admire them on others, my skin doesn’t tame them or bring out their subtler nuances. This vintage Tabu lasts all day and night without clobbering, softening as it reveals its various facets, sweet, spicy, resinous, animalic, smoky, etc. Tabu is just the one for me of this genre. I would much rather wear vintage Tabu than a new Opium. This is how I wear it: I put one drop - and I mean only one very carefully tapped drop - into the palm of my hand. Then with my other hand I pump some unscented lotion into the palm holding the drop of Tabu, which I then mix between both palms and use as a scented body lotion. I do this a couple of times to cover lower and upper body. That to me, is the best way to wear Tabu, only two drops mixed in lotion. The residue on my hands, I rake through my hair. Tabu loses nothing by diluting it this way, it merely keeps it closer to my own person and less invasive of others’ space. So, for everyone who dislikes Tabu, more for me! And if there is a fragrance you love which seems too potent or big to wear out, just try using a drop or two in unscented lotion and wear it under your clothes. It will be more subtle and last for ages. I have done a this with Youth Dew bath oil and Opium, as well as others.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairSilver, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I was sitting at the computer and curiosity-looking for some discontinued scents I have loved, scents like Trouble by Boucheron, Cristobal by Balenciaga, Habanita by Molinard, Theorema by Fendi, sweet spicy scents that most suit my fragrance personality. There is a real element of "we always want most what we can't have" to perfume collecting. While browsing and yearning to experience some of these fragrances again, I noticed the fragrance on my own skin and it was rather intoxicating and lovely. It was my Tabu that I had sprayed sparingly. Always sparingly ladies! Keep repeating "less is more." Decant to a roller ball bottle if you find that easier. I recommend it with heavy-hitters and Tabu can be that! I've never reviewed Tabu and it's qualities have been expounded upon so much more eloquently than I could do so I'll make it short: If you have no bad associations (I do not) with ANY fragrance and it has the elements you love then for goodness sake try it! Especially when it costs next to nothing and is available almost everywhere. Get over your prejudices strip off the name, the packaging, the comments from other people. Tabu has been around for many generations. While it is so important to support and keep that fire going under the new perfume companies, there is a history that also needs to be appreciated, explored and honored. Tabu is one of those great-grandmothers of some of the spicy fragrances that came after it. Add me to the list of fans. I love orange blossom, spices, vanilla, patchouli, incense and the boozy-cola-whatever-the-magic is in this stuff. It just works! Fragrance is fun. It should always be fun. If it ever stops being fun then stop "doing" it! Enjoy your fragrant journey.

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

My mother wore this for many years. I'm revisiting Tabu because for me the fragrance is poignant and I absolutely love Patchouli. If I could find a fragrance that combines Patchouli and Musk I would be in olfactory heaven

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have a real thing for retro fragrances and this is my favourite of all of them. Legend has it that it was considered the "the Genghis Khan" of orientals and was designed as a perfume that prostitutes would wear .It was the inspiration for the later orientals, Tuvara (1948) and Youth Dew (1951). I find a little goes a very long way. If you use a heavy hand, it is quite overpowering, but if you are subtle it is beautiful and lingering. This is the only perfume I wear that gets comments. I feel very girly wearing this.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Here it is: the old-school drugstore fragrance that smells unbelievably like a modern, $200+-a-bottle niche fragrance. Warm, sweet, boozy, sexy, and artsy -- and missing the notes that can cause reviewers to find older fragrances "old ladyish" or "dated." I'm a huge fan of drugstore fragrances, but Tabu stands out from the rest in its of-the-now quality. If Tabu were a new niche offering, perfumistas everywhere would be singing its praises, and $6 1/2 ml samples would be flying off the shelves. :)

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Tabu was, and sadly still is, my nasal arch-nemesis. As I've matured and expanded my fragrance repertoire, I've successfully tackled some heavy old-school fragrances that turned me off as a kid: Ciara, Youth-Dew, Aromatics Elixir, to name a few. I've been surprised by how much I like most well-made vintage oriental or chypre perfumes-- even if I wouldn't wear them on the daily. Today I decided to spring for an $8 bottle of Tabu at Kmart. I hadn't smelled Tabu since I was a kid, and it was the scariest of all perfumes back then: weirdly funky and tinged with root beer and wintergreen, it was favored by older ladies with gobs of frosted blue eyeshadow, bad teeth, and polyester "separates." I was hopeful this would be my last fragrance mountain to conquer. I was wrong. Even though today's Tabu is undoubtedly diluted and cheapened (from its already-cheap status on the '70s), the basic bone structure is all there... And I still hate it. This is among the most offensive perfumes I have ever smelled. I just have a visceral "yuck" reaction to its medley of cheap aldehydes, antiseptic root beer notes, and sweaty/musty musk. It smells disgusting and wrong to my nose. YMMV.

About reviewer (224 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Last night, I was browsing the perfume aisle at Walmart in search of a new fall/winter frag and then I spotted this little brazen beauty. Having heard good things about Tabu and being a fan of old school perfumes and orientals, I carefully removed it from the box and lightly spritzed my wrist. Suddenly the most delicious and spicy smell wafted up, and I knew it was a love match. But I still wasn't sure, so I tried to set it back on the shelf to try other frags but the bottle fell out out the bottom of the box, clattering onto the floor unscathed as if to say, "NO! You WILL take me home tonight!" This stuff is just what I was looking for! It isn't your run of the mill fruity floral that every other twenty-something woman my age is wearing. This is a heavy, heady and spicy oriental made to assert the wearer's presence wherever they go. For someone who stands out from the crowd but in a good way. On me, it smells like burning incense, cinnamon and cloves, orange, vanilla and musk. Slightly powdery and very smoky/spicy with no detectable floral notes other than some faint patchouli, which probably lends part of the incense smell. And I personally think that this would be nice for a man to wear too, as it smells very unisex but still feminine on me. Ideal for a strong woman who doesn't mind attention. I paid $10 USD for a huge bottle of the EDC and a little goes a long way. I like to hold a q tip up to the nozzle and give it 2 sprays and then use that to dab it behind my ears, wrists, cleavage and behind the knees. That's all you need, and it lasted a goof 8 hours on me (new formulation) It doesn't smell cheap at all, so if you're worried about that then I encourage you to try this out. Especially if you like spicy orientals! This is definitely my new favorite, and my boyfriend loves it too. Will repurchase.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Other

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Top notes: fresh citrus and spices Heart: jasmine, narcissus, rose and ylang-ylang Base notes: amber, resins, civet, precious woods, sandal and patchouli This perfume is virtually impossible to label, despite its reputation. One thing is for sure, you will have a reaction to it, whether good or bad. The type of woman who wears this perfume is sensual and warm, just like the perfume (this is a true blue oriental fragrance if there ever was one). But she isn't overtly sexual; that bubbles underneath the surface, right where she feels it belongs. You're just as likely to see her wearing a little black dress and heels as you are a pair of jeans and a plain cotton t-shirt shirt. Clothes, shoes, handbags, makeup...she loves them. Her closet is filled to the brim with both timeless classics and modern looks, and yet you might find her riding on the back of a motorcycle wearing a no name brand tank top, a pair of tight, hot pink jeans and sexy black boots. But make no mistake about it, because this woman adores pearls too. She likes what she likes, and makes no excuses for it. She's free to change her mind, and she does so whenever the mood suits her. But don't expect an explanation because you probably won't get one. That's just not her style and that's not who she is. She's fiercely independent but expects to be treated like a lady. Anything less than that will not be tolerated. She lives life her own way, and makes no exceptions for that. Whether it's baking cookies while wearing a baby pink angora sweater and a ribbon in her hair, or running off for a spur of the moment weekend trip with her lover, or even heading out to a rock concert in leather and sexy stilettos, there's one thing for certain. Tabu is what she's wearing, because like her, it's indefinable. It's feminine. Intoxicating.

About reviewer (272 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

One of my favorites, I hoard bottles of this stuff and several violin bottles of pure perfume. They all smell slightly different, some deeper than others but all distinctively Tabu. Tabu is a musky, sensual warm delicious amber yummy scent, not overpowering unless you wear half the bottle. Tabu has stood the test of time for a reason, it is simply a seductively marvelous matriarch of Oriental perfumery.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Horrible rancid stuff. I remember this from my teens when i would take. Whiff of fragrance in the drug store. It overpowered me with that horrible deep oriental smell. Well here i am an older woman thinking that maybe my nose bas matured. Well i still hate it nothing provocative ,luring or sexy. Naybe its just me. I just dont like orientals.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown