3.2

Created with Sketch.
9 reviews
44%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Works great with removing oil however it stinks of alcohol! Must not be good for your hair in the long run!

About reviewer (57 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Love the classic, clean Pantene fragrance! Also love that it doesn’t leave my hair feeling or looking chalky and coated. Now for the bad part: this dry shampoo makes my hair wet and stays that way. I waited for it to dry while doing my makeup and it never dried. I blasted my hair with the hairdryer and it helped dry it a bit, but my hair did not look less oily than before spraying the product. I returned this and bought the original Batiste.

About reviewer (145 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This has a fresh, clean, classic perfume-y “Pantene” scent (not the strawberry infused scent most of the line has now). I hold this 6-8 inches away from my roots and give a few sprays, then “whoosh” around. No white cast on my brown hair, and it refreshes my hair and gives it body, without feeling like there is residue. I paid $5 for this, and really like it! Hard to find, though.

About reviewer (255 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Yuck. Loaded with alcohol, even after shaking forever sprayed on wet and sticky. My hair dried as if I had used hairspray, very stiff. No white residue but who cares it was gross.

About reviewer (102 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I bought this based on some good reviews here but this was a dud for me. Nowhere near as good as Batiste, which I use, and can't even compare to Living Proof, which is excellent but too expensive. This sprays very wet, more like a wet hairspray than a dry shampoo, and I had to use a hair dryer to get it dry at my roots. Even once dry, it did absolutely nothing to make my hair look or feel cleaner. My hair looked limp and greasy. I've tried a handful of dry shampoos that are just lame, like worse than using nothing, and I'll add this one to that list.

About reviewer (123 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I bought the dry shampoo after hearing rave YouTube review and decided to give it a try when I saw it on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart for $3.99. I have been using my Batise forever so my expectation is high. First, the smell. If you are not a big pan of frangrance you will hate this. I happen to not mind the Pantene smell so I'm okay with it. It goes on completely clear even with my black hair with zero white cast, which is nice, but I feel like it does not absorb oil quite as well as my old and trusted Batise so I ended up using way more and the smell became a bit overpowering. I also noticed that comparing to Batise my hair goes back to oily quite a bit sooner. I can't say that I am overly impressed with the dry shampoo. The only redeeming qualities are that it left zero white cast and that it was cheaper. Don't think I will purchase again unless I'm in a real pinch and running out of my Batise.

About reviewer (106 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I had very low expectations upon purchase, i just needed an urgent cheap freshening. I could have purchased my usual go -to Batiste, but I was curious. And even though I do not like any shampoo or conditioner in the Pantene line, I impulsively snagged it. Right off, I am favorable impressed by the fragrance: fresh, clean, adult, not cloying, powdery or trendy. It left no white residue. Some dry shampoos really add a heavy feel and texture to hair (which can be useful) but this is very light in that department. I applied, let it set untouched while doing makeup, and then was able to fluff and re-style my hair. It really gave me a sense of being clean after a day spent lightly perspiring in the sun and unable to shower before gathering with colleagues for drinks. Most dry shampoos absorb oil, but don't really make me feel "clean." Pantene dry shampoo gave my scalp and hair the feeling of clean, without being stiff or dry to the touch. Great ds find!

About reviewer (263 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This was a good drugstore find. It smells amazing and the scent lingers in my hair. It absorbs any extra oil on my scalp and doesn't leave a white cast on my dark brown hair. I could go through a whole can rather quickly so I buy two cans instead of one in case.

About reviewer (2203 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This review is for the Pantene Pro V dry shampoo in the gold can. This has apparently been reformulated so that now it has no white powdery residue, which is a great improvement. It's invisible but still does a great job absorbing oil and making hair feel and look clean and fresh. I absolutely hate powdery spray dry shampoo and because there are so many like this, I've had a hard time finding a good one. I have been using the powder dry shampoo that you shake into your hair rather than spray. I find them much better than any spray dry shampoo that has that white powdery residue that's difficult to brush out. With the powders, you can use as little or as much as you want, depending on how much you shake out of the container. I do like Bumble and Bumble Pret a Powder, but it's pricey. I also like Oscar Blandi Pronto dry shampoo powder, which smells like lemons. Also Alterna Talc Free dry shampoo powder is really good as well. All three of these powders absorb oil and odors and make my hair not only feel cleaner but also add a nice amount of volume. They are also good for doing updos because they give hair some grip and grit, which makes it easier to style. But in any case, I'm not a big dry shampoo user, I'd rather just wash my hair the regular way. But I did see Tati's review of the best drugstore dry shampoos and her top two pics were Nexxus and Pantene (in the gold can). So I went out and bought both of these and I totally agree with her findings. Both of these formulas are invisible, so no powdery residue, and they both make hair feel clean and fresh. I like the scent of Nexxus a little better but it's $12 compared to $6 for Pantene. So I've been using Pantene occasionally for about a month and I have to say I really like it. This is quite a statement for me because up until I found these two formulas, there wasn't a single spray dry shampoo I liked. Now I can skip shampooing for a day because either of these works so well that washing my hair isn't a necessity for a day or two. But the trick is allowing the product to stay on the hair for at least 15 minutes so that all the oil is absorbed and then brushing with a boar bristle brush (plastic brushes don't work for this maneuver). I did find Pantene 2/$10 at Walgreens the other day so I stocked up on 4 cans. I have a Nexxus backup too so I'm all set for a while. If I don't feel like washing my hair or frankly don't have time, then I now have two great options. Nexxus and Pantene are as good as Tati reported and I want to thank her for the great info. I definitely recommend both of these and the great thing is that they add volume too, they don't just make hair look and feel cleaner, they do a little extra too. If you're looking for a great dry shampoo, these two shouldn't be missed. They are both as good as Living Proof, which was my favorite formula before I discovered these two drugstore options. I see no need to spend the big money for LP when I can use Pantene or Nexxus.

About reviewer (316 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel




Top Rated Dry Shampoo

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us