3.4

Created with Sketch.
46 reviews
37%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range
$72.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

Really enjoyed this oil as it didn’t irritate my rosacea skin! And it hydrates well without that greasy feel. Though it’s pricey, I will consider repurchasing.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther



2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I am 40 yo with combination skin. Very frustrating because it becomes extremely dry using retinols, but breaks out with most moisturizers. This oil broke me out the following day after use.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I want to like this face oil after reading all of the other great reviews, I just honestly have not noticed any difference in my skin. I purchased the Drunk Elephant Littles and used the entire tube of the Virgin Marula Antioxidant Face oil. I did not see a difference, so thought that I needed to keep using to see any difference. I am still waiting about 3 months later. For the price, I would not recommend it.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I really hate the price, but love the product. Doesn't make my acne prone skin break out. I need moisture from acne treatments, which can dry skin out badly, this oil absorbs well for me and makeup layers well it, no pilling. I mist my face with rose water witch hazel toner, pat that into my skin, then 3 drops of oil into one of my palms, slightly pat together with other palm, and lightly press oil into my skin with both palms (more effective than rubbing it in). I use a different moisturizer/oil during the evening and use this during the daytime only. Am not sure if I will repurchase, am on my second bottle, however the price is a major turn off!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Overpriced dud, returned it after two weeks because it sat on the surface of my skin and never absorbed. I like the fact that this contains no fragrance, and it did not cause any issues for my sensitive, rosacean, acne-prone, dry/flaky aging skin. In general facial oils don't work well for me - historically they haven't ever helped with my dryness or flakes. I was willing to try this one because I was completely desperate to decrease my winter flakes, and I really like this brand. (I have been a devoted C-Firma Day Serum + Framboos user for a few years.) Unfortunately, just like the other facial oils I've tried, this sat on top of my skin and did nothing. When I used it in the a.m, it made it impossible to apply sunscreen and makeup over it. When I used it at bedtime, it came off on my pillowcase. It is also overpriced ($40 USD for a small bottle) and the dropper format is unhygienic/non-airtight. This should be in a pump and it should cost a quarter of what they're charging. Hard pass on this.

About reviewer (504 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a nice oil. It's moisturizing and sinks in quickly. But it's easily duped. I don't find it any different than the marula oil from the ordinary. For that reason, I won't repurchase this expensive option. Pros: Moisturizing but light Easily absorbed Nice consistency Cons: Price Other affordable options that work the same Overall, its nice but not worth the price with so many other options on the market.

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

i never bought it,i just used a sample size,its a good product,i like it a lot but its too expensive,thats why 1 star,i cant afford this expensive stuff like other people.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.
fromjolki

a year ago

I bought Drunk Elephant Littles set at great cost - £90. It included several “trial sizes” of different DE products which have all been really underwhelming. The Virgin Marula is a fairly nice oil which I use in the evening after moisturising, but in all honestly it is no different to any other oils I have tried. The main pro is that it is fragrance free. Otherwise the ridiculous price just negates any benefit, especially considering the stress and personal annoyance I feel for having been drawn in by the hype and spending my hard earned cash! The oil is only as good as your understanding of an overall skin routine and cannot perform miracles. Btw.... I have also used Clarins Blue Lotus, Laura Mercier flawless skin rose oil, and Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery, my favourite as it’s light and has never caused any blocked pores. Would not repurchase any DE product and would question how the Marula Oil effect on my skin would be any different to organic sunflower at £3 a litre... seriously.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
fromLadie

a year ago

This is my favorite product, it's very moisturizing and feels luxurious on the skin. This is the first facial oil that sinks in almost immediately. When I put it on my face, it already starts to sink in and about 10 minutes later, it's 100% gone. My face is completely matte (but not dry) and pillow soft. I use two drops for my face, and 1 drop for both my eyes. It was -7F here the other day, and I went out with just this and sunscreen. No flakes, no dryness, no roughness. I didn't really experience a glowing or dewy effect, although my skin is pretty radiant by itself from retinoid use. I do notice my skin looks more calm, balanced and I barely get oily skin anymore. The packaging comes in a sturdy (ceramic?) bottle. Feels good in the hands! The oil itself looks clear and has no smell. I see a lot of people online say there is no difference between this and cheaper brands. I have tried the cheaper brands (Acure for example) and I definitely notice a difference. The cheaper brands are MUCH more greasy and they do not sink into my skin at all. Some people's skin may react differently to the cheaper brands and might work well for them, however I will be sticking to the DE brand. This product has replaced many steps for me in my routine (hydrating toner, moisturizer, sleeping pack) because it is just so moisturizing and nourishing.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I use this oil at night as the last moisture step. I ordered most of the products in the DE line and decided to include this so I could see how it all works togeher. The Marula Oil is the best I've used & I am pleased with the results of the DE products cocktailed or mixed with other products I use or alone. IMO, DE is expensive$$. But of the oils Ive tried I like this best. I have normal/dry mature skin. Anti-ageing is my primary skin concern. I recommend this product.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.