4.0

Created with Sketch.
27 reviews
63%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Wish this wasnt discontinued! For my skintype, these are the reasons I like this product: affordable, nice packaging, no detectable fragrance, low irritant ingredients and a little goes a long way. My skin type is acne prone and slightly dry, so I try to mantain it by utilizing minimalistic skin care and sunscreen. I use this to double cleanse, so first to dry face to take off makeup and sunscreen then I wash it off and follow with CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser and apply CeraVe Daily Moisturizing Lotion to my still wet clean face. It is watery compared to using straight oil, but it goes on nice and gets all my waterproof mascara off.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is my first oil cleanser so I have nothing to compare it to. However, I really like this. It says it’s grape-seed oil in the ingredients and has a slight scent to it which I don’t mind. It spreads quite well on my skin and washes off the first layers of makeup from my skin. I always follow up with a second cleanser to remove the residue makeup on my face anyway so this oil as a first step serves me well. Packaging - not my favourite and you have to tip the bottle to get the oil out. I wish they’d come out with a pump but this is a drug store brand so I guess I can’t really complain. The bottle is clear so it’s handy to see how much product you have left. Price - This retails for around £6.99 in Boots/Superdrug but can be found on 1/2 price most of the times. It can also be purchased from grocery stores so availability is plenty. I’m not necessarily a big fan of the cost if I’m being honest. I’d probably be happier if the normal retail price was £3 as it’s only 125ml. Overall, I’d repurchase! The oil does what it says and is widely available, mostly on offer.

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Dark, Warm

HairBrown, Kinky, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

In the interest of fairness, as I haven't used this since March when the weather was much colder, I just went into the bathroom (yes, I have this in my bathroom) to wash my face so I could tell you, accurately and correctly, how lovely this cleansing oil is. Verdict: Not overly oily, slightly floral scent, didn't need a lot of product, removed most cosmetics and sunscreen, rinsed cleanly, did a double cleanse with the foaming face wash of the same brand, nothing left behind on the shock-me-white hand towel used to dry face, no redness or undue tightness, no stinging or burning, I'm not itchy, my skin feels clean but I may need a dab of moisturizer, which is usual fare for me. See? I told you so.This is a lovely little cleansing oil. It doesn't cost much, you can find it anywhere, and it lasts forever plus ten days. So there you go. Seriously, I know people spend on more expensive products but I don't know why they bother. Cleansers are just washed down the drain so all the "extras" that can be added to them hardly matter. They can, however, irritate and upset your skin, or even interfere with other products..If you like the idea of double-cleansing - and/or use medication, treatments, elixirs, serums, masks, acids or retinoids - this might be a good choice for you as there aren't a lot of "extras" to interfere with their effectiveness or cause interactions. Does it play piano, do your shopping and make dinner for two? No, it's a cleansing oil. But using this (or something like it) can save you money for the spendier lovelies that actually stay on your face.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I was hoping to like this, but I did not. This oil cleanser did not move across my face freely, so I had to use a little more rubbing to apply & rinse. No, I do not agree with others that this rinsed cleanly. This cleanser did not irritate my skin nor eyes, but too much rubbing would eventually irritate me. I will not repurchase.

About reviewer (142 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a great product for a first cleanse and gets most of your makeup off ready to cleanse the skin with your second cleanser. It even removes tough waterproof mascara like Too Faced Better Than Sex Waterproof, my only issue is the smell as I really think it makes my flannels smell weird when it’s dried.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love this oil! I squirt a generous amount into my hand and then rub all over my dry face, and I can see and feel the makeup coming "loose". My face looks like a mess afterwards, so I use a wet wash cloth to wipe everything away and then I was my face like usual. If I was really being lazy I could stop after the wash cloth as this oil gets everything off. I have a tendancy to rub it too much into my eyes which causes them to go quite blurry, but that goes away by the time I am drying my face. Good price and takes a while to use up. Only issue is the packaging. Every time I take this away with me when I travel, I have to pop it in a plastic bag before putting it in my bath bag as it leaks pretty badly. Have repurchased many a time! And would definitely recommend!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Other

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

First ever cleansing oil for me, so I don’t have anything to compare it to. Does the job, I wouldn’t say it gets rid of 100% of the makeup on my face (also depends on how much I have on that day), but it does remove the majority of it. I follow up with a face wash and toner anyway so it’s not a major problem. The bottle recommends using 3-4(?) drops of it, I don’t know what size drops they mean but that is far from enough. A good teaspoon size amount seems to do the trick for me. I’ve had it for 3 weeks now and use it most nights and I still have around 85% of the bottle left. I like how light and gentle it is, doesn’t feel disgustingly greasy like I expected it to be-especially on my oily t-zone, but rather hydrating and nourishing. Has that unscented type of scent (you know which one). Great price. (€9.99 from Boots Ireland) I can always depend on Simple’s products not to irritate my ridiculously sensitive skin.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a great, affordable cleansing oil option that's easily available in Australia for those unable or unwilling to order in Asian cleansing oils. It uses plain, innocuous grapeseed oil and includes retinyl palmitate and vitamin E. Not that the latter 2 vitamins will really be of benefit in a makeup remover, but I won't complain about their existence. It has a thicker consistency, which I prefer, as it's less prone to running down my arms and neck than thinner cleansing oils and it removes my very thick Moo Goo zinc based spf and my full face of make up with ease and minimal tugging. It also DOES NOT sting my eyes, which a lot of cleansing oils tend to do. The packaging has room for improvement. While I appreciate that it comes in just 125ml, once you fall in love with this cleansing oil you'll want it to come in a bigger bottle. Also, on a recent overnight trip this leaked in my bag so despite the travel friendly size, this can potentially be a disaster to travel with. Proceed with caution.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have been using this product for a couple of weeks now and it is an excellent drugstore cleansing oil. I have previously used the Shu Uemura cleansing oil, MAC and Elemis. I stopped using the Shu Uemura cleansing oil as it contained mineral oil. The Simple cleansing oil is great for my skin type which is normal-dry and can be occasionally sensitive. This doesn't leave a residue and is great at removing excess makeup (I remove the majority with micellar water and use this afterwards). I highly recommend as it has caused no breakouts and is very effective at removing makeup.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Quite disappointed by this oil. In comparison to a lovely Biore one I bought from Japan, this one doesn't have the same feel. The oil is quite thick, has a bit of a strange smell and feels like I'm rubbing cooking oil on my face. Not a fan. It also fails to remove makeup properly. I once got it in my eye and it felt irritated for a few hours. I won't get it again. It also leaked when I took it out in a bag, so I wouldn't trust it as a travel oil.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown