3.5

Created with Sketch.
59 reviews
58%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

The Iconic line of palettes (1, 2, 3, Smokey, Pro 1 and Pro 2) are nice in theory; they have the look of Urban Decay Naked and LORAC Pro palettes at a lower price, the brand is cruelty-free, affordable and these palettes in particular make handy all occasions collection of neutral, cool and warm staple 'basic' shades. The Iconic palettes contain great colour stories for beginners or for people who enjoy makeup but don't have a lot of time to get ready, as all of the shades are complimentary, so no guess work is needed. It's also handy for people who work in conservative settings or people who like bright lip shades and want to balance it out with softer eyeshadows. However this line of palettes all use Revolution's powdery older formula; I find that the deepest shadows don't apply as richly as they appear in the pans and are patchy, the cool and warm undertones in the shades don't show through clearly, and the shimmers are fairly mutwd and stick to the brush bristles. Plus most of the lightest shades end up looking the same once applied and blended - they just muddy together. Some of the light to medium neutral tones are fine, but just don't feel as nice to work with in comparison to Revolution's collaboration and Chocolate Bar eyeshadow formulas. I should have just waited and saved my money for expanding on my collection of the Urban Decay Naked palettes, as I've basically just thrown my money away trying to find alternatives at a lower cost. Revolution was the brand that taught me not to waste money on palette copies and that it's better & more cost-effective to save for the originals. I've since purged most of my Revolution eyeshadow palettes, as half of the shades in them all are just a muddy mess. Most of the palettes in their collaboration line have better quality than the usual releases for the brand, and the newer I ♥️ Revolution Chocolate Bar palettes (the ones with the shade names printed on the palette itself) also have really nice formulas too, so I'd recommend that you stick with those lines since the other ones are very inconsistent.

About reviewer (1458 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Coarse

EyesBlue



1.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Skin breakout alert!! I tried to save a few dollars by buying a knock off dupe, but I learned my lesson. I was left with raspy eyelids after a week’s use. Not worth the “deal”

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I had one makeup revolution palette , the urban decay 1 dupe . I had a severe allergy on my eyelids. It itched and burned my eyelids. I do not recommend.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGray


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This gave me allergy with itchy red eyes. Im sensitive tho, but if u are too, dont buy this.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Colors have nice pigment. The fallout is minimal. The price point makes it easier for me to buy other palettes.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I recently bought the 'Life on the dance floor' eye shadow palette. I also purchased The Balms 'BALM JOVI' palette the same day. I reach for the make up revolution one way more. I find they blend easier, the colours are beautiful and vibrant and I have a lot of shades and different eye looks to choose from. I think it is a great palette to have in my collection, and I highly recommend it. I paid €12 which is great. I will defo be going to purchase more palettes. The only drawback in the palette I have, is that there is no inner corner highlight. But i think the vibrancy and warm shades and shimmers more than make up for it. (Tip; use setting spray on your brush for the shimmers)

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

this eyeshadow palette caused me a severe eye allergy, I was in the middle of a concert and I had to run to the toilettes to take off my eye make up, suffered all night. Next morning eyes were red and swollen. Never buying this brand again.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I got Iconic 3 because I'm being a cheapskate and I heard so much raves about these palettes. Big mistake. First off, the colours swatch wonderfully with your fingers but translate to a muddy mess on lids. The light shades don't show up at all (with only the pink and copper glitter shades in the middle showing) or show up like a reddish brown (similar to a bruise). Fallout is terrible and they are the first and only eyeshadow so far to irritate my eyes (my eyes actually went red from using them). Even primer doesn't help and glitter falls within minutes(way more worse than UD naked). The shadow also disappears within the hour on my lids even with primer. I think the quality of ingredients here is too poor. I have no idea why all the reviews sang such high praises for them, however, you are better off spending more to get Naked 2 or just finding dupes for your favourite shades. (I find my Etude House singles to work much better)

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a very nice high-quality make up palette. I got the black/dark neutrals called ‘Smokey’. The colors are so versatile I can make a different eye look every day. I do use an eyeshadow primer, but the few times that I didn’t, the eyeshadow stayed on very nicely throughout the day. The shadows came enclosed with a very nice dual end eyeshadow brush, it had a puffy end and a flat end. And for seven dollars I’m more than impressed with these eye shadows and I intend to try more pallets from this line.

About reviewer (72 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I reacently bought this pallet to try out as it was raved a dupe of Naked pallet, I love the color tone rosy nude easy for everyday make up, combination of some matte and shimmering shadow that you just need a pallet to do make up, the color is pigmented easy to blend and long wear even though my lid is oilly it stayed put, not forget to mention you get a lot of product in the pallet, the packaging is abit cheapy but acceptable for price tag, I dont mind the package than quality of product itself.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us