4.1

Created with Sketch.
515 reviews
67%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range
$54.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Well, this was a disappointment. I waited more than a year to buy this on Black Friday when they were $27. I love pink/mauve-y shadows so thought this would become my everyday staple. Unfortunately, the quality just isn't there... And I say this as someone who loves UD singles! The colors all blend together into one muddy slick. Limit and Nooner were supposed to be my dream combo, but it looks like literal mud on my lids. The shades also don't last. Even with eyeshadow primer (the UD one), they are gone within a couple of hours. What's scary is that they even take my eyeliner with them. I usually wear Bobbi Brown gel liner, which is bullet proof in all other circumstances. But whenever I wear it with Naked 3, the liner comes clean off in about eight hours. Not even residue left -- my eyelids look as clean and makeup-free as after a shower. This is Bobbi Brown gel liner!! Overall, I have no idea how these manage to get such good reviews. Maybe Urban Decay uses worse quality to sell them for half-off. Who knows! All I know is I'm glad for Sephora's return policy. P.S. Since I'm already complaining, I also hate the packaging. It's so bulky! I also found that the shades pulled very warm on me, which made them less flattering. Overall, I'm disappointed with the concept of pre-made palettes, not just these particular shadows, and will be sticking to custom ones where I can choose the shadows based on color and quality.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen



3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I really like the mattes in this palette. They blend well and are just lovely, mauve, rosy colours that are great for daily wear. The shimmers, on the other hand, are not as great. The shade buzz, especially, has barely any pigment and takes a lot of packing on to get it to even show up a bit, and to top it off has poor lasting power. Some of the shimmers are more pigmented than others but overall the shimmers take more work.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Did not work with my skin tone. I wanted to like this as I loved it in the pan and on many photos online. I have dark tan skin with olive undertones, MAC NC42-45, NARS Syracuse, EsteeLauder Warmbronze, Fenty 300s range. The colors made me look like I have bruised eyes. It’s exactly the color of my shadows and dark circles that I cover up with concealer. This Was more cool, grey and purplish looking on me rather than neutral, pink and rosy. I was expecting a rosy, pink, and neutral pallete and this wasn’t it. The colors are too light and not enough warmth for my skin. I was deciding between this palette and TooFaced SweetPeach and I wished I chose Sweet Peach or at least another palette. I still think this palette is pretty and such a great value too. It just didn’t work out for me, not flattering. Perhaps for someone else.

About reviewer (240 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Tan, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Coarse

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is by far my favorite Naked palette. I would buy this again in a minute if I were to drop it or lose it. I think the colors are well pigmented and the formula performs like it should. I have no problem creating a lot of different eye looks, and I can either create a quick eye when I am in a hurry, or really get creative when I have the time. Dramatic or subtle, really easy to get what I want. I look better in warmer colors. This palette works for me. Love it. I have to use a primer, but I have to use a primer with any shadow. Oily lids.

About reviewer (496 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have the Naked 1 palette and I picked up the third one 2 years ago. I gravitate towards more rosey and reddish toned palettes as they really suit my wine red hair and light skin with neutral and silvery undertones. I decided to give the Naked line another chance as I felt the original one lacking. I'm late to the part with this review but thought I put this out here anyway. I usually wear a bit more bolder eye looks so what is subtle to me might not be for you. A WORD about the now discontinued original Naked palette. ----------- I've had the original Naked palette for 7 years now. It's propably expired but I don't know. I haven't used it for the longest time and I have only hit the pan on two of the lightest shades. This was the palette that made me go "hmmm" when the beauty gurus were raving about it at the beginning of this decade. I couldn't understand how they were looking past the flaws it had for the price it was sold. If this palette was launched now, they would have to do the James Charles and keep parroting instructions on how to use it. Instructions for Naked would be as follows: use fingers for better payoff, use only 2 shades, 3 at maximum, to avoid muddying them. Blend ever so gently and as little as possible to avoid fading the shade away or blending them into a mud. These are the kinda issues that could never fly now at the end of the said decade. I wrote this whole section just to say that I feel vindicated for reading so many reviews and comments from late-comers about these palettes that resonate with my experience. The hype surrounding the Naked palette, and Urban Decay for that matter, is a great example of the Emperor's New Clothes. If it's trendy then it becomes a status item rather than a cosmeti tool. A reason why I feel so strongly about this issue is that this particular palette made me believe that I'm bad at creating eye looks and it took me a long time to realize that maybe it's the palette that's off and not me and the criteria I have for a good quality product. The hype, whether good or bad, deserved or underserved, easily blinds us from the issues. In the end, we are consumers with a limited purchasing power and we really shouldn't "stan" these brands or make their products as part of our identity. ----------- NAKED 3 PROS At least they improved the packaging. The Naked 1 is a velvety nasty mess. Literally. The case of Naked 3's is sturdy yet the material itself feels cheap. The overall look, and the quality of the packaging. complements the shades. The mirror is nice and distortion-free. The brush is a meh. NAKED 3 CONS • A lot of fallout. Base needs to be protected or done after eyes. • Poor staying power even with their own primer, which I most of the time use succesfully with other shadows. • Poor payoff with brushes. More like a dust of color, which seems to be at the core of this line BUT there's a clear difference between a wash of color and not being able to discern one shade from another. • This palette seems to be one of those finger palettes. Swatches nicely with fingers or foam applicators but fails to get picked up by both natural and syntethic brushes. • Easy to overblend. Requires ever so light touch when blending otherwise you either blend the shade away or create e a big muddy mess. I haven't yet come accross another palette that blends to mud so easily if used more than 1 color. • Too many shimmers, which I find makes the muddying issue even more prevalent. Also, made the palette outdated quite quickly. • Boring, way too identical shades making the looks too similar. It has only two mattes and not a single pop of color. The colors are in groups of four. You're able to create a wearable and a decent eyelook by picking one color from each group. If you mix up shades from the same group they have a habit of turn into a mud. If you pick one color per group you'll get something wearable but there's not enough variety to create distinct looks. If you turn your palette to it's side so that the light doesn't hit the pans directly, you will get a better idea of the actual shade range, which is butt ugly looking. • I'm most dissapointed by the darkest shade in the palette called Blackheart. You really need to pack it on your lid to make the champagney shimmer show up on top of the blackish brown. This color also fades really fast and transfers easily. COMPARISON TO OTHER COMPARABLE PALETTES - these prices are local and meant to give an idea of the difference BH cosmetic's Glam - 19€ vs 54€ The shades of Naked 3 are creamy but so are the shade's in BH cosmetic's Glam reflection that I'm comparing this palette to. Glam is 60-70% cheaper depending your region. You get 3 more shades, 3x the mattes (6pcs), more distinct shade range, an equal staying power and maybe a bit less fall out. The staying power here is the key. It isn't that good with either of these palettes and that's my point. The Glam gives you hands down, pants up more bang for your buck while it has some issues that are not surprising for the price. Issues it shares with a product that is over 2 times more expensive. Jeffree Star Blood Sugar - 50€ vs 54€ Blood sugar is at the same price range. And while the colors it has are way more vivid I think this gives a great idea of what my issues are with Urban Decay and their palettes pretty much as a whole. You get 6 more shades, bigger pans, 7x the mattes (14pcs), and disctinct variety of looks from subtle to I'm here to eat your heart out. Almost no fallout at all and easy to blend. There's also less danger to overblend and I haven't created a muddy look, yet. And the staying, and staining, power is from another planet. Also, the packaging is leagues better. While other makers have up the quality, unfortunately, Urban Decay keeps puting out crappy pallettes as is evident with the Nude Cherry palette. Naked 3 is overhyped,overpriced and outdated.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairRed, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I’m absolutely in love with all the UD naked palettes. This one is particularly a favorite because it works well with my super cool toned skin. I’m really pink and these actually look like nude eyeshadow for once!! The shadows go on hyperpigmented and buttery smooth. You don’t need to use much. The brush included is actually perfect for the eyeshadows. They don’t crease, very little fallout, and they last all day without fading. I think they’re completely worth the money.

About reviewer (60 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love it- I'm a fan of neutral shades so I love the NAKED palettes. I currently own them all including Smokey and Heat, proving that I am willing to shell out the $ for such a great product. The diversity of these rosy colors make it easy to create different looks. I like to mix and match with my other NAKED palettes too. The cosistancy is smooth, pigminted and has great staying power- especially when paired with UD primer potions. The brush included in each palette is also very good. These shadows are worth every penny!

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This was my first ever eyeshadow palette and originally I was so excited to have it because there was a lot of hype around it! The packaging is gorgeous, the colors are great, but the formula isn't so great. I've had a lot of trouble trying to make this formulation work for me. The shimmers aren't very pigmented and in order to get better pay off you'll have to wet your eyeshadow brush, use an eyeshadow base (I used nyx's white eyeshadow base), or use glitter glue (I used the one by nyx). Regular old eyeshadow primer doesn't cut it. The best pay off I've had so far is with the eyeshadow base but even with all three methods, I find that my eyeshadow creases in a very ugly way an hour and a half to two hours after application. My favorite shades are Nooner, Factory, Darkside, and Blackheart with the last shade being very pigmented. Dust, Burnout, Buzz, and Liar are my least favorite and have the least pigmentation but with the above three methods you can coax some out. If I could go back in time, I would not purchase this and I don't recommend it either.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is my go to everyday palette. I literally always keep a back up Incase I ever lose or run out. The palette itself is so sturdy and beautiful. The shades are all gorgeous useable & so buttery & blendable. It has everything you need it has lots of transition shades & crease shades & kid shades. It has a range of finishes from mattes to satin to glitter/ foiled shades. I find dust & buzz apply better with a little Fix+ sprayed onto your brush. This is the first palette I’ve ever owned of which I will certainly use every single shade. Most palettes there’s always I few I dislike. The brush included is lovely though you will also need a fluffy blending brush for the crease. I have dropped this palette on my stone floor twice & it survived without any damage whatsoever I literally couldn’t believe it. I couldn’t ever be without this palette. Pro’s Beautiful sturdy packaging Stunning shades Fab range of finishes Can achieve many full looks Great value for money Great quality mirror Nice usable brush Great for everyday Con’s Absolutely addictive I will re purchase again & again

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I haven't really use this product on myself but I see family and friends wear it and they're always saying that they love it and that it was overall a good purchase. also it looks really good on them, this eyeshadow palette is for every type of skin color/type.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.