4.0

Created with Sketch.
107 reviews
63%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

12 days ago

I have previously used Shu Uemura’s loose powder so I’m comparing the two. Packaging: I have a love-hate with these tubs because I don’t like the way a lot of powder falls out when I travel with it. But! With the NARS one, I can tap the powder back in easily. I have switched to compacts just to mitigate this, but ultimately still find tubs better because more powder can be picked up so it’s more efficient. Usage: I have dry skin but gets oily throughout the day also because I live in a humid country. This product is Super at controlling the oil. Shu’s is not as effective. On days when I think I can go without this, my face always ends up oily so this becomes a necessity for me all the time. I also use gel-based products so that my skin doesn’t get too dry in A/C spaces so this adds a lovely balance. Holy grail.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Before I begin commenting on this gorgeous powder, I want to add that I use this ONLY on my under eyes to set my concealer. Sometimes I do lightly dust it all over my face for a bright, natural finish with 0 microshimmer. I have been using this powder for over 1.5 years now! This powder is the MOST REFLECTIVE SETTING POWDER I'VE EVER SEEN/SWATCHED! It's INSANE how much light it reflects. And it lasts for HOURS (over 10)! I used to apply the Laura Mercier 'Secret Under Eye Brightening Powder' or 'Translucent powder', but both caused a very dry,cakey finish. So I wanted a real brightening powder solely for my under eye, because I don't like to use concealers under my eyes daily. This powder is fantastic in brightening them, doesn't cause caking...not to mention 0 creasing ALL DAY! **However I DON'T RECOMMEND this product if you are going to take ANY flash photos during the day/night. **PROs: - Really brightens the eyes/face without microshimmer/glitter & extra colour - Blurs the skin naturally - Prolongs your makeup... alot - Prevents caking & creasing - Less drying than the Laura Mercier translucent powder - Doesn't clog pores or cause acne **CONs: - NOT SUITABLE for flash photography or bright lights photography - May not be suitable for very dry or mature skin - Quite expensive for the amount of product you're getting

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I really like this! I have the pressed version and it diffuses my pores quite well.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Olive

HairBrown

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This has less acne causing ingredients than other powders. I pair this with nars sheer glow. Very natural and nice finish and it doesnt look like i am wearing powder or have that cakey look. I usually only wear this under the eyes, forehead and nose. I try not to go overboard or i do get a heavy feeling if i pile on layers of makeup, so i use a brush and lightly dust where i normally get oily. Also I dont take flash photography, ever. So i cant tell you how i feel about the flashback. This girl on youtube had shown a picture it looked pretty bad but maybe she put too much on? I dont care since im never taking pictures and i rarely ever go out at night (i have a newborn) this does have a weird smell, kind of like food...lol idk why but if you cant get pass that it has a smell this isnt for u! ive only tried this and the make up for ever one and that one smelled even more weird.also i did not like the mufe because it was more chalky on the skin. that one has talc and i use it to dust onto nars packaging after cleaning them to make it look matte again. Lol tip for you nars packaging lovers out there! Edit. Exchanged this for the velvet loose powder in beach. This started causing acne because of the algae!

About reviewer (391 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I was waiting forever for a certain powder to come back in stock & it never did so I picked this up @ sephora. Omg!! It works so well and my skin feels so soft & not powdery with it on. I have to be careful to put on a very thin layer because it does look white if I put on too much.

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'd say this product is a bit meh. It works okay and results in a matte finish BUT: - Strong chemical smell, I feel like my skin smells dirty after putting on - Pricey for what it offers and it really is - Difficult to adjust sometimes, white-powder flashback in photos

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a nice lightweight finely milled powder that I use mostly for setting my makeup in target areas. I find this jar less messy than MUFE (even w/ the mesh netting) and Macs loose powder that being said this jar is a lot smaller in comparison but still 'can' be messy.. I don't find I get the full cloud of 'puff' I get w/ other powders but I am careful not to dispense more than I need. Given its size, it defin not travel friendly as it's not made to joggle abt during travel- defin mess! As for reflecting particles in this powder, I don't see any but I do notice 'flashback' in flash photography YIKES!... go lighthanded if you know you're having photos taken. I like this powder best cuz it leaves a fab matte finish and is long wearing. I need very little product as it does cling to fine lines, so a small amt of product and a light thorough dusting to targeted areas is needed for me (plus a spritz of face mist). Therefore this powder will last me a long time as most loose powders do. Overall a very good product for its use, 1 lippie off for photo flashback- personal pet peeve!

About reviewer (248 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This one has a nice matte finish and really locks in your base. It's kinda hard to add more base afterwards so make sure you're happy with it before setting. I'd say it has about a 12-hour wear time. It is rather drying, so at the end of the day if you have dryness it will start to show crackles up close. It's works well on very oily skin and if anything a small amount of oil leaks through, but I think that creates a natural highlight/glow. I think dry skin folks would find this too heavy. I also noticed the corn chip smell as well! However it dissipates before you leave the house.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Cool

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is such a beautiful loose powder for setting my makeup, I can't believe I haven't written a review on it yet. I have dry skin, so I tend to be really picky with powders and while I do want to take down shine and make my foundation last longer, I want to avoid powdery chalkiness. My main gripe with powders is that they emphasize dryness and make my face look cakey. This powder is pretty forgiving on the skin and really blurs any imperfections you have on the skin. When I wear this, my face looks so impossibly smooth, and I look like I have NO pores. This makes your face look like smooth porcelain, and the first few times you wear this, you'll catch yourself in the mirror and stare at yourself! It doesn't have an uber flat matte finish, but it's not a luminizing powder by any means. It mattifies slightly while making you look glowing, if you can picture that.. it just makes your skin look healthy and lit-from-within. Out of all the powders I have, this also keeps my oils at bay for the longest. The longevity extending powers of this powder, along with its smoothing and perfecting properties, makes it perfect for events and photography. It's undetectable and I get zero flashback with this.

About reviewer (119 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

MY NUMBER ONE POWDER !!! This beats Laura Mercier and by terry and cover fx and everything else in my collection!! This is gorgeous. I'm in love it makes my skin look it's best and smoothies out my texture and pores beautifully and is matte but not flat at all !! It's got a slight tiny healthy glow but it's so so subtle and not fake looking at all, makes you look super healthy and lit from within but also matte and perfected at the same time. I can't even explain it. This is sooooo under rated I don't hear enough people talk about this. Best purchase I've made this year.

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown